Ratings based on 1,116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by of from fo

Disappointed

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Check in is too slow. The managers too unflxable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tami from North Carolina

Great hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The only problem was we had only cold water in the room and no water at all 1 day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from New York

Paradise with occasional annoying sales people

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: View, beach, pool, Gabi, night entertainment was good and you can bring kids. Rey in VIP lounge was outstanding and so sweet.
Cons: American restaurant awful, main pool area had rowdy teenagers (drinking age=18) so go private pool. Watersports and vacation sales people annoying.
Location: Cocotal golf course across street is outstanding and they give a decent rate with cart.
At first we struggled a little to find our ground transportation desk for Blue, which was a crowded bus which made two stops. I recommend instead to look into just grabbing a local cab at the airport. Once there, we negotiated the VIP experience with the front desk which I highly recommend. The weather everyday was perfect with occasional rain at night, which was not even disruptive. Our VIP semi-private pool with swim up bar and private "no reservation" restaurant were top notch. They did try to hassle us at the start with booking future events but I had to flat out tell them to stop and they did. The beach was the most amazing I have every seen, especially the VIP area, which had our own grill and beach bar. My teenagers loved the frozen lemonades and we had Presidente's from our beach waiter non-stop. Here is my advice. Bring lots of sunscreen, singles (no one wants to give you change for tips), waterproof camera, hat (burned scalps), cash (they charge a huge fee in bank) and upgrade when you get there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Punta Cana fun

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Loved everything and every minute of it.
Cons: Need a high end tequila in the Level lounge.
We stayed in the Level area. The staff was wonderful. Food in Gaby and the snack bar was great. Drinks were great. Evelyn at the pool was very attentive and brought drinks whenever you needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

pool, beach, bar, food, perfect.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Every night we had them set up our in room jacuzzi with oils, salts, bubbles. So when we got back to our room at night it was ready for us.
Cons: Casino needs an upgrade.
Location: We didn't leave the resort, But there are plenty of day excersions to go on for additional $.
Upgraded to the Level Adults only area. We had a great time. It was our second visit to the Melia. Planning on going back next year. Bring plenty of singles to leave tips.
2 out of 5
by Tonya from Maryland

Family vacation..did not upgrade to level

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Poor Customer service...had a better time in Cancun...I was harassed by time share reps constantly...breakfast buffet was ok, needed more variety...overall beautiful resort but customer service needs a lot of work!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kyle from Cincinnati Ohio

Great stay!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Beach,pool,food scenery,food and comfy beds. And staff
Cons: Better entertainment,but no biggie
Great resort. Fabulous staff,always looking to help. Especially the people in VIP Lounge and Dolce at Gabi pool. Grounds are impeccable,beds are comfortable and beach beautiful and not crowded. 2nd time there and would definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MS from NY, NY

Upgraded to LEVEL a MUST

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Cons: FOOD.. on all levels, at all restaurants.. Ease of making reservations.
Location: We rented a private catamaran that departed right in front of the beach, took us snorkeling and to the baths. It was enjoyable.
We upgraded when we checked it and received half the original price per night person for the upgrade. Once you upgrade, you wait an hour to be checked in, given the tour, given your bracelets and shown your room. The luggage arrived not too long after. Room was clean and in good condition. It is not 5 star hotel, but it was great service in the rooms, cleaned early, turndown timely and room service fairly prompt. Food was pretty much terrible all the time, that would be why we gave the OK rating. The only barely there highlight was the breakfast buffet, but even that was questionable more than once did someone in the group get running/watery uncooked eggs. The lunch buffet was mediocre to say the least, even the sit the down in the LEVEL area. Getting reservations for dinner at normal times for a large group was pretty much impossible. Even as a LEVEL guest, it was painful. The dinners were pretty much OK. The dinners as "sitdown restaurants" were buffet salad bar/ buffet appetizers. The only waiter service was for the entree, drinks and dessert. Most in the group, felt strongly the dinner buffet for appetizers was often the "highlight" of the meal. The food needs to be improved, on all LEVELS.The pool was great at LEVELS, but the sheer highlight of the hotel JULIO CESAR, he was the beach/pool waiter and he rocked! We were a group of 16 parties and he never disappointed throughout the day! He brighten every morning with a miami vice or mimosa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenda from North Carolina

My Time at the Melia

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: It was right on the beach and the pool was very nice.
Cons: The food at the buffet could have ore of a variety.
Location: The location was very nice as it was on the beach and shopping was located across the street from the resort.
The grounds were beautiful and the room was nice. The food could have been better and the drinks were watered down. The power went out twice. Unfortunately we were there when spring vacation was going on so a lot of unruly teens and college kids were there and they hogged the swim up bar and were loud. Thank goodness I was not located near the pool or it would have been unbearable. Overall my stay was most enjoyable because I spent my days on the beach away from the kids.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: the facilities are comfortable and very nice
Cons: Respect the customer and comply with what they offer in the package.And no take advantage because everything is already paid
for my wife and I they awarded us a room 2 twin beds We had to pay for a taxi back to the airport by paying $ 35 dollars and had paid $28 to the Blue company Some employees total desinformation.