Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Hotel was beautiful and the beach was terrific. The room was nice but we had to have maintenance come 3 times to fix the shower as there was no hot water. Royal Service is a must! Food is good but won't be the best meal of your life. The pool side cabanas are great for afternoon naps and getting out of the sun but be prepared to play the towel game to claim your space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Getaway

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The location, the view, the atmosphere - contemporary, the staff
Cons: Have a DJ at the pool or some form of entertainment
Location: Boating, snorkeling, kayaking, all water sports
We were there with 5 other couples and the service was amazing. Gregario (sp?) especially was so welcoming every morning at breakfast and then AGAIN at dinner. He worked hard every day! We could be a little loud (12 people) but the staff was patient and attentive each day and everywhere we went on the premises the service was top notch. They even brought drinks to us on a tray to the pool and the beach and kept them coming at dinner without us asking. Wonderful staff!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Terrible customer service

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The location, beautiful beaches, nice pool and spas.
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE
The Wifi service is not as described. It has very poor signal. Also making a reservation at any of their 6 restaurants was the worse part. Their reservation system is out of place and does not really give you a reservation until the day of. The buffet menu was the same during our entire stay. The waiters/waitress have no manners and do not provide a service with a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Hotel and staff were great. He had an awesome time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful grounds, wonderful food selection

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly, accommodating staff. Food selection. Beachfront views.
Cons: Internet connection in rooms.
A beautiful five star resort. Typically, I do not stay at all inclusive resorts when visiting the Caribbean but the Palma Real has changed everything. Very courteous staff, excellent al la carte and buffet selections (I am a pescatarian), etc. My room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. I felt pampered. Be sure to tip all hotel staff generously as they work extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable. I highly recommend this place for newlyweds, families, young professionals. Not too much of a "young college kid" crowd which was great. Classy environment and wonderful experience overall. Check out the shows, they are worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Very disappointed

Posted Aug 31, 2014
We had four rooms booked. Non were ready at check in time. They told us they were doing remodeling so they moved the buffet to the theatre. Found out later, they were rebuilding from a recent fire! It looked atrocious. They also decided to tear down the one and only bridge crossing the pool while we were there. They close the pool bar at 5:00! The showers had mold in them and the rooms have a funky smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Perfect

Posted Aug 30, 2014
This is my second stay at Palma Real and it was just as amazing as the first stay! The staff is amazing. First time I went I did the Royal Service, second time I did not and I would recommend to just go all out and do the royal service! Already planning another vacation to this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stone Ridge, VA

Great Hotel, excellent food.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The service.
My best vacation ever.The staff was very friendly, the selection of the food was great, the 24 hrs open bar was the best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from romero

The pool war dirty and bad attention

Posted Aug 24, 2014
I dont like the attention and the pool was dirty. The food was great and the room.perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn,NY

Go Royal Service (with Butler) or Bust!

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: I loved the cleanliness and well kept grounds. There was always someone making sure everything was up to par.
Cons: Entertainment is lack luster. Luckliy I wasn't looking for that and just R&R. Also, the Casino was a bust.
Location: Didn't venture outside of resort as it is not always recommended.
This was my first time to DR and I went with my hubby's 40th birthday. After doing extensive research (I mean really extensive) on the Best Hotel in Punta Cana, Paradisus was the one! The Parardisus was very beautiful. As soon as we walked in we were whisked away to the Royal Service area where there were 2-3 Butlers at your service over looking a breathtaking view of the beach. Drinks and Food were served as we were introduced to our Butler (Faustino) and toured the grounds of our home away from home. Faustino (the Butler) was okay but I found that I needed to reach out to him more than I wanted - other than that he was Fantastic! Unfortunately there is not much Entertainment (in my opinion). The food was okay..No Home cooked Dominican food but more like Fast Food Dominican style. If you are looking for this you will not find it here. In general we had a great time and enjoyed the facilities and staff offered! Everyone is very friendly - No attitude detected our entire stay!