Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Nice hotel on a great beach.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The facilities (rooms, pools, workout facility, etc.) are great.
Cons: The dinner reservation system must be fixed. Remind staff that attitude is important for everyone to insure a good experience for their guests.
It's too bad the fantastic facilities and wonderful beach were diminished by a few staff members with a less than wonderful attitude. The dinner reservation system is terrible. We were told for the first few days that we would have dinner reservation confirmations under our room door by 4 PM. The confirmations either didn't appear at all or were very late which made for a difficult time in preparation to meet their ridiculous dress code requirements. It was obvious that many, if not all guests, were experiencing the same problems. It would also be a good idea to fully explain to guests the rules for the "royal" program and the areas that are off limits based on timeshare ownership, royal service, etc. We stayed in a room that was marked with a sign that read "Royal Service Guests Only" but on the first day on the beach we were "kicked" out of an area for royal service guests and couldn't even get a beach towel from the towel checkout that was apparently for royal service only. The royal service area on the beach was near empty of guests while there was a shortage of beach chairs and space in the non-royal service area. We were given bad information upon check-in as well as two additional times when we asked for clarification. Apparently some of the staff members don't understand the program either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, hotel & pool

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Located on a beautiful white sand beach with very friendly staff. This all inclusive is exceptional!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Nice Hotel, close to party resorts

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Hotel Staff was always overly nice and very fun to be around.
Segregated based on membership, which isn't clear upon booking. Upon arriving (much like time shares), they attempt to get you to purchase a very large priced membership to access the nicer parts of their resort. Definitely not clear and shady in my opinion. Reservations for Dinner always ran at least an hour late so we ended up eating at buffet 3x per day. Neighboring resorts play live music and party until 2-3 in the morning which makes it near impossible to sleep and especially difficult if you have kids. Pools were freezing for lack of a better word and hot tubs were non operational.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hartford, CT

Awesome

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Cannot ask for more. Excellent buffet @Naos. Tasty Mediterranean food @Vento. Unlimited food and drinks. Quality resorts and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Wonderful Place!

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: I thought it was beautifully designed.
Cons: The food could be stepped up a notch. They tried, but was just lacking a little.
Location: FABULOUS! The pool is right next to the beach, so the hotel location on the island is perfect.
The Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort is a beautiful place. The hotel atmosphere is chic sophisticated. The pool is right next to the beach, so the hotel location on the island is perfect. If you walk down the beach there are some local beach stores and tourist attractions, from hair braiding to pictures with monkeys/parrots and lots of water activities to choose from. This was a bonus when taking a break from pool time and we got more of a local feel. The hotel waiters and staff were wonderful, except for a few at the concierge desk…had a 'I'm on island time..' attitude, but just a few, not everyone. The morning, noon and night buffet at the Naos restaurant were great and had lots to choose from. The other restaurants were o.k. The setting of the restaurant Naos where the buffet is available is absolutely stunning! Better then any other place to sit and have a meal. The shows at night were top notch. Very entertaining. My family has never done an all inclusive vacation before, but it was worth it and we would do it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2014
This is our third time staying at this hotel over Christmas. The rooms are nice and spacious (although the room we were in could've used a slight refreshing), and the food in the restaurants is really good. They updated the buffet this year and there are more choices than ever. The staff is all very friendly and willing to help. The kids loved the giant pool and all of the beach activities. Our only issue this year was that the hotel was the most crowded we've ever seen it, and the times for some of our dinner reservations got changed, and one reservation was never made. They need to make the dinner reservation system more efficient. We will most likely be going back again because overall it was a really nice trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Disappointing hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Near the airport, large grounds, well-kept, beautiful structure.
Cons: The rooms - we had a king bed that was really two double beds pushed together, the water in our hotel room was lukewarm - all week.
Location: There was a little shopping plaza off the grounds of the hotel which had a lot of great stores.
My husband & I went here on our honeymoon & based on the ratings, price & comparison to other hotels in Punta Cana, I was expecting more. The pros: we were upgraded to the "Royal Service" for free which was great - this provided us with a butler and a semi-private (shared with other royal service guests) pool area, cabanas & additional restaurants although we were never told which were included in this upgrade versus what we would get if we hadn't. The benefits of the service was our own butler = booked our dinner reservations & reserved our cabana. I'm sure other people would take full advantage of having a butler but I just wanted to relax & be left alone with my new husband. Other pros: the grounds/hotel was large and beautiful, the room was a nice, lots of hotel staff around/available & they were all friendly, accommodating. The cons: I've been to many islands (Bermuda, Bahamas, Puerto Rico, Barbados, Jamaica, etc.) & had hoped the food & beach would be nicer in DR. The food was average - nothing horribly wrong with it but as an American, I found the quality to be lacking. The beach was also disappointing - a LOT of seaweed - which isn't the hotel's fault. But it was not a calm, serene beach. Lots of tourists, the sea was rough & a lot of people trying to solicit your money & time to participate in water activities. Only other negative was we didn't have hot water all week - just lukewarm. Even after complaining. Average vacation spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel and close to beach

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Nice and clean hotel for family vacation But It is hard to reservation restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atl. Ga.

Nice beach view from resort

Posted Dec 23, 2014
We loved being able to relax by the pool and the beach. We did not have to think about food or drinks since it was all inclusive. The food was good and always there when we wanted it. I would come back to this hotel! We had so much fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom t

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 20, 2014
The Royal Service at this hotel is excellent with reserved cabanas, special pools, and exclusive restaurant.