Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Nice beach, beautiful water! Lots of seating areas. Great dining staff! Very helpful/friendly!
Cons: Entertainment staff, children in the pool near the bar (should be adults only on that end of the pool). Beds/pillows in the room were uncomfortable.
Location: Another downside. There is nothing to do near this hotel. We almost didn't even feel safe leaving the hotel, so we did not.
Overall this is a very nice hotel. The staff is very friendly and eager to please you. There is always someplace you can go to get something to eat, and you will never sit without a drink in front of you, as there are waiters all over the place who are eager to serve you! Some down sides include the entertainment. We have stayed at Riu Palaces before and have enjoyed their entertainment staff. This was probably the worst entertainment crew of all the places we stayed. We never knew what was going on from day to day and when we finally saw something happening, we wondered why they didn't announce it at the pool like we have seen done in the past. The evening entertainment was ok, but we have also seen better. The pool was very nice, though on some days it was very crowded with the college crowd, which we are not all that interested in now as 30 somethings. One major downfall was the number of small children who would hang around the bar area in the pool because that is where their parents hung out. They would jump in the pool and splash around, which was very annoying when just trying to sit at the bar and relax. It was a huge pain having to get new drinks because ours now had pool water in them. I think the bar area should not allow children, there is plenty of other room in the pool away from the bar!! (That was probably my biggest complaint.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
1st international trip with the baby (19 months). Good hotel for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Punta Cana

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Food was excellent, specialty restaurants were ok, but The main one was best. Staff wonderful. Resort was beautiful and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Book it now!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Beautiful place, beautiful grounds. Everyone was so friendly and energetic, they made our stay so plesant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from philadelphia, pa

Very nice, great value

Posted Jun 24, 2014
We had a great stay at Riu Palace. The staff was accommodating and the facilities were well cared for. It was a great value for the money. Some of the other Riu's I've stayed in have been more "bare bones," but this one was great. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Chicago

Nice hotel, close to the beach, great food.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: It was clean and beautiful.
Cons: The entertainment and shows at night.
Location: Snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking.
The staff is very friendly, the waiters bring you drinks by the pool and beach area very often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elaine from Atlanta, GA

The palace makes you feel "royal"

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean and well taken care of. There were many options for eating, so we didn't get tired of the same place each day.
Cons: Nothing. We couldn't have been happier.
Location: There was much to do at the hotel, we did not do things nearby. We took a couple of excursions. Vans picked us up and drove us to the locations.
The hotel was next to the beach and was absolutely beautiful. The grounds, restaurants, pools, and rooms were wonderful, and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved our week there and hope to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise place!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
We had a wonderful time!!! I was impressed about the variety of the food and the service. I hope I can come back next year
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, near pool and beach

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Nice relaxing vacation, nice hotel, loved that the pool and beach were within walking distance, staff was great, drinks were great. Food could have been a tad bit better but it wasn't terrible, the steakhouse was pretty good. The only con would be the musty smell in the room, great place but the smell really sticks to you. Overall, it was worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from los angeles, ca

well worth it

Posted Jun 16, 2014
the hotel is clean and very nice ..i like the food selection better than macao which is where i stayed last year …the staff is friendly and the room service is omg fast ….definitely liked this resort out of all riu will return