Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice large room and on a very nice beach

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Nice view, right on the beach and the great staffs!
Cons: Better ventilation for the hotel room that can keep the moldy smell away.
Location: There is a very long stretch of beaches. Swimming with Dolphin, sailing, bookie boarding, and lots of swimming
Hotel is nice and right on the beach. The staffs are extremely nice and they make you feel welcome. The room is large and nicely decorated. We were staying on the third floor and the room still have moldy smell. Beside the moldy smell that bothered us in the room everything else were very good at this location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from pa

Great resort

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Cons: Entertainment
We have stayed at a number of Riu resorts and have never been disappointed,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yelina from Raleigh, NC

Great hotel with great location

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Everything especially the workers
Cons: The beds
Location: Great location..beautiful beaches..wonderful help and always felt safe
Overall a great experience..wonderful waiters/bartenders/animation. Hotel is gorgeous and is great for the price..unlimited alcohol..unlimited 24hr service. The bartenders at the pool bar are the best espcially Saul he makes a special drink and its delicious! Only complaint was a rude dominican guard at the very front entrance named Lao..because I was hispanic he thought I didnt really have a reservation there and caused a very unpleasent welcoming to such a grand hotel. Bed was a little too firm for my taste but the room was perfect!
3 out of 5
by Hank from Oakland County, Mjchigan

Older facility not worth the high cost.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the ocean and the condition of the beach.
Cons: See above. This resort is long in the tooth. Honestly, most could have been overlooked if the room view, from an elevated floor, was different.
2 years ago we went to the RIU in Costa Rica. That facility must have set the bar for us because we compare that resort with the Palace in Punta Cana and feel very disappointed. The view from the room's balcony was that of the roof deck over the stage building. In other words, there was no view. The finish on the jacuzzi tub was flaking off making it impossible to enjoy it. At the pool, the paint was flaking off and scum accumulated at one corner near the infinity pool. There was more but I'm not certain a bad review will have any influence in correcting the issues. Why waste the time. We feel especially disappointed because we talked another couple in joining us on this vacation assuring them the high dollar amount they spent would be worth it. I cannot say that was the case.
3 out of 5
by Julie

Pretty Property, But...

Posted Feb 22, 2014
No hot water at 5:30 p.m. Hard to communicate with staff. Massage therapist taking cell phone calls during my session. We witnessed some shady pool staff during day. No towels or sanitizer in gym. No hand soap or towels in restrooms at spa all week. No acceptance of Expedia coupons for spa. Lots of Mosquitos. $26 for a tube of sunscreen. $18 for bug spray. No volume control on TV. Alarm clock didnt keep time. However the property is beautiful. Friendly housekeeping staff. Very good food. Very good pool waiters Victor & Sena. The pool man, Sylvester, was very helpful with getting us towels and loungers. Ronny at the buffet was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Puerto Rico

Beautiful resort, great for all ages and families

Posted Feb 19, 2014
This was our first time to DR. My husband and I are used to the top-rate service of Mexico (everywhere you go), and this came in a very close second. All the hotel staff was great. No one even even hinted at wanting a tip, which made us want to tip everyone. They are genuine and sincere and extremely hard-working. DR has tourism down to a science, making getting into and out of the country very easy. The hotel was beautiful, and the pool and beach areas were beautiful, clean, and lively. There are palm trees everywhere so even on hot days, between the palm trees and pool umbrellas, you can find enough shade to be comfortable all day. We spent our days migrating to and from the beach and pool, leaving our stuff perched on lounge chairs all day. The food is plentiful, varied, and tasty. You have to make reservations for the "themed" restaurants, which was annoying. We only tried the Italian restaurant and thought the food at the buffet restaurant was much better-tasting. The hours of the restaurants are broad, so we never felt rushed to eat or like the food was going to run out. We compared the string of Riu hotels on the property and, while they seem nice, we liked the Palace the best because it was very nice and comfortable without feeling pretentious. We are fun people who like to be around others and this was a good mix of entertainment and relaxation. We also enjoyed the diversity of the other guests - they come from all over the world. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Very well kept
Cons: Some outdoor areas could use paint
Had one of the best Vac ever, Great Staff, lots to do.
3 out of 5
by MIKIE from PHILADELPHIA PA

hotel riu palace dominion republic

Posted Feb 12, 2014
DATE OF STAY 2/4/2014 TILL2/11/2014 ON THE FOURTH DAY MY WIFE FORGOT TO LOCK HER PURSE IN THE SAFE WHEN WE RETURNED TO OUR ROOM 220.00 DOLLARS WAS MISSING FROM IT ON THE FIFTH DAY AFTER DINNER AND UPON RETURNING TO OUR ROOM WE DISCOVERED A AWFUL SMELL MUCH LIKE RAW SEWAGE. I WENT TO THE FRONT DESK AND HAD THE MANAGER ON DUTY FOLLOW ME TO THE ROOM HE THEN SWITCHED US TO ANOTHER ROOM FOR THE NITE THE NEXT DAY SWITCHED US AGAIN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James

Loved everything about our stay, but.

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Cons: The bed.
I would only change one thing. The beds could be better. They need to have pillow top beds. The beds were king sized, but, they were two beds put together with a crack down the middle. The bed was also very hard. Besides that, the hotel was OUTSTANDING!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob from Ocean County, NJ

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: Old time charm
Cons: Microwaves in room