Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to beach, great staff and great

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We have never done an all inclusive but this was magnificent. Everything was perfect-ansolutely above average. We loved the pool and the beach was great. The food was delicious and the staff excellent. We would definitely return. We met couples who had been coming to this resort for 12 years. I highly recommend the Riu Bravaro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Wonderful

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The pool was beautiful, and the staff very attentive
Cons: Room service was slow, and wasn't correct every time they did come.
Location: Our room was very close to the beach, and the shopping area to buy t-shirts and hats was very close and easily accessible.
We stayed in the adults only VIP villas, and it was amazing. The pool was beautiful, we were close to the beach, and we had no problem finding our way to the other RIU hotels. the staff was very attentive and helpful, the room was very comfortable, clean and the view from our balcony was amazing. It would have been nice to have an elevator in the villa. We were only on the third floor, but after a night of drinking and dancing and eating, the stairs seemed a lot. But that is the only thing I can think of to complain about, if you can even call it a complaint. I would have liked the refrigerator in the room to get cold enough to keep the beer cold. Room service would receive a 3 1/2. It seemed to take long, the order was never quite right, and one night they just never came. We only ordered snacks and beer and ice before dinner, but an hour and a half later we just gave up and went to dinner. Otherwise, our stay was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

New hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I went there during my son's winter break this February. The resort is relatively new and everything is in good condition. Has enough staff to keep the place clean. Has good buffet with good specialty restaurants which is not hard to reserve a table. Also good room service. Had to order early breakfast because our Santo Domingo tour would leave before yhe breakfast buffet opens. I guess the place is popular because the pool was just crowded and so was the beach. Beach traffic also came from the neighboring other RIU resorts.Resort has scheduled activities especially night shows. Had a good massage there too. The only thing that the place could have done better is that, for a 600+ room resort, they could have made their gym bigger with more equipment and machines. Other than that, my family loves the place. Staff very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Save your money.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
In a nutshell, staff was friendly but more accommodating if you can speak Spanish. Buffet... grilled chicken at lunch. Couldn't eat pastries (they looked yummy) due to diet. Everything else was meh. A-la- carte... stick with Krystal, and ONLY Krystal. Good luck finding a working refrigerator for the room. Don't count on air conditioner doing its job if it's hotter than 80 Fahrenheit. Jacuzzi on huge patio was saving grace to a rainy vacation. Pool... meh. Beach...I imagine it will look like the pictures if storms stay away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Great hotel I've stayed here a couple of times

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Food
Location: Excurshion
Had a great time like I alway do in this hotel shopping area close by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Please inform visitors do not drink the water!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
The resort was beautiful, the food reasonable, do not use room service unless you need to as the food was not good then. Disappointed as no one said anything about not drinking the water at the resort or Dominican Republic. They did provide bottled water daily, and did appreciate the daily refrigerator stocking. If I had not read tripadvisor I would have not known not to drink the water. Loved the beach, pools, & thanks for the free transportation to the shopping malls. Was disappointed as I was told to inform resort we were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and my birthday, which I did before our arrival & upon our arrival for possible upgrade. Nothing was done to help with our celebration. The food in the Sports Bar could be improved (would like to see fresh cooked food rather then cold packaged food to put in a microwave). Most employees were professional and did a fine job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice hotel ,elegant, friendly staff, and clean

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: The hotel had a kind of elegant feel, but still accept the occasional vacationer.
Location: Right on the beach
Our first all-inclusive vacation. The food was very good, the staff made every minute of our stay fantastic,and the pools were beautiful. There was seaweed on the beach a couple of days, but there was staff cleaning it up regularly. All around great vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Hotel is closed to beach area

Posted Feb 10, 2015
A lot of activities: yoga on the beach, aerobics on the beach and in the pool. Variety of national cousin on beach during lunch. Simple funny competiton games to involve a lot of people from different ages in the pool area. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is nice. The area is clean. Every night the new show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA, California

Total relaxation

Posted Feb 5, 2015
The only minus was that wifi was not working except the lobby area. Also, seaweeds at the beach even though it was being cleaned regularly. You can actually walk 5-10 minutes to the next hotel and it was much nicer-no see weeds. Overall we had great time. We reserved a villa suite and the pool for the VIP area was not crowded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Posted Feb 1, 2015
I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The place is nice, and for the most part the employees try their best about accommodating you. The food was not great, but what can you really expect when it's all-Inclusive. I have to say that if you want to be entertained, look for Jose at the swim-up bar. He is funny and keeps you entertained. We stayed poolside for most of our time, but the beach is nice too. So, here's the disappointing part for me. There was an employee at the Montecristo restaurant named Aracely that had such a bad attitude. It all started with a cappuccino...seemed like it was too much work to get a cappuccino because she got annoyed and sucked her teeth when I asked for one. Then after that, every time we went to that restaurant, we got served with a side of attitude from her. It totally wrecked my meals, and the rolling of the eyes was totally uncalled for. Her bad service and rudeness really put a damper on my vacation. Although I tried not to let this ruin my time there, it really did...it left a bad taste in my mouth :(