Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Portsmouth OH

Excellent Visit!

Posted Nov 20, 2014
The property was built in 2011-12 and everything looks great. The lobby is over the top in purples and pinks but not garish. The room was very nice, although we did not care for the see through bathroom for sinks/showers (toilet had a door). Every staff person we came in contact with was courteous if not very outgoing which is a huge plus on any vacation. We had read some mixed reviews about the food but our experience was very positive. The buffets had ample options and changed enough each day to provide new choices. The reservation restaurants were also very good and provided a nice option. Note that the steak house, Tiano, is open air and they strongly prefer nicer dress. We were uncomfortably hot for that evening's meal. The pool is large and beach access immediate. More than enough chairs throughout to sit out at any time during the day. Bar pool was lively and fun. Here is the one BIG negative...apparently RIU has some sort of partnership with Dreams Casinos as they have one in their Macau property and allow promotion on the other sites. Even though I walked out up $3 for the evening, they do an 8 ball jackpot (never heard of before) scam starting with free chips that is audacious in how it is a fix for the house. The rest of the "casino" resembles a conference room with a couple tables and slots. There are big goons at the door and every person working there is somewhere between unhappy and nasty. Truly to be avoided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oklahoma

Nice resort, not good snorkeling

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Our room was supposed to be an ocean view junior villa suite; if you cranked your neck and squinted really hard you could just make out a line of ocean in the distance so the Oceanview was not very good. The only other con was that the water was very choppy and if you went out to try to snorkel there were not any fish to see anyway so it wasn'treally worth fighting that chop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Russia

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Food, rooms, beach
Cons: hard to think of
We stayed at this hotel in October 2014. It was for the destination wedding - we really like it! Couldn't think of a better vacation and beach wedding :) The photographers for the wedding were superb! We liked the food, thanks for the chiefs! Excellent choice of fish, deserts, fruits! Thinking of coming again...
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Unprofessional and some lazy stuff

Posted Nov 2, 2014
We just came back from our 7 days vacation. First of all, if you ever been in hotels with 5 star you will be disappointed because this one doesn't look and doesn't feel like one. THE HOTEL We went in the same hotel in Mexico, so we knew what to expect. This one is done very poorly. You can see so many imperfection on your way to room. There is no A/C anywhere besides lobby and restaurants. Elevators are the worst. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and always clean. THE ROOM Every room is the same looking. We have upgraded to an ocean view and that was the best choice that we made. Room was spacious, and always kept clean by the cleaners. Internet sucks. We change two rooms and in both of them we had just one spot when we can have a decent wifi just for an emails and social apps. The best internet is by the pool and in the lobby. THE RESTAURANTS This was our biggest downside.Let begin with the stuff. When we first went to a restaurant Montecristo we was waiting to be seated while some of the stuff were just walking by us and didn't offer help or saying anything. We choose our table and was asking for a high chair and then waiting for almost 5 minutes to get it. Do I need to say that restaurant was almost closed so there wasn't so many people.We ended up taking the high chair by ourself every day while the stuff just looking at us and doesn't offer the help.It was so annoying watching what they are doing. Even for a water or coffee you need to wait while they are
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Amazing Service, Fabulous Hotel in Paradise!!

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Everything. The customer service was A+.
Cons: the beds were very hard and no first aid on site.
This is the 2nd time we have visited this Riu and loved it. We had zero complaints!! The food was always amazing. Our favorite restaurant was the steakhouse. Make reservations early as the seated dinners fill up fast. The employees at this resort are amazing. They are fun and happy and make you feel so welcome! We met so many people on the resort who have returned to this Riu time after time. I would recommend this place to anyone and we plan to go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Dining choices
Cons: All of th above
Location: Very nice location. No interesting activities near hotel
It appears Expedia wants me to revise my review a third time to obtain a satisfactory review. No hot water in room for three of the five days Insects in room Floors in room were not clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Staff friendly & helpful.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Many activities offered right at the hotel...dance lessons, aerobics, archery, nightly shows, swim up bar, yoga, & volleyball. Food was always available & edible. Bed and pillows comfortable. Asked for an extra pillow and was quickly delivered two extra pillows. Water in shower wasn't always warm? But honestly, that wasn't a big deal. Would stay here again! Beach and pool were both beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom raleigh, nc

Posted Oct 10, 2014
I loved this hotel and would highly recommend it!! The beach was amazing and the staff was very nice and helpful. The only thing is not all the restaurant are open during the week which kind of a left down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First trip to the Dominican

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Very relaxing and friendly staff.
Cons: Restaurant reservation process and all restaurants being open each night.
We stayed in the VIP suites and really enjoyed our stay. Close to the pool and beach. VIP bartender Pache was great! Only disappointment I had was that my husband and I went there for our 27th wedding anniversary but had to eat at the buffet the night of our anniversary because we were told there was no space available in any of the restaurants. We were there 6 days and the Japanese restaurant was only open 1 day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weding Anniversary

Posted Oct 7, 2014
It was great, the food was excellent" lots of choices, the room was always clean very clean, the drinks are great if u want u can always ask for more alcohol in ur drinks. Some people complain about the review about bot having enough food to choose from but is not true, there is more than enough to choose from. The beach is beatiful and super clean. No complain