Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice facility and staff

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The grounds, pools and facility were all very nice.
Cons: Food in specialty restaurant's
Location: Excursions not that great
Facility and beach were very nice and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The food in the specialty restaurant's left a lot to be desired, but in general the buffet was quite good and enjoyed dinning there. the entertainment was pretty week but not bad. Do not place a call on the hotel phone!!! I had to call Verizon twice to get cell international roaming turned on and the 2 calls from the hotel cost me $74.00!!!! That was ridiculous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Almost perfect!!!!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Everything was just perfect. Just GO!
Cons: Your gardeners could plant some colorful flowers next to the rectangular grey water fountains on the main grounds. The shows should be earlier.
Location: The Outback Country Safari was half a day which was long enough (5 hours). I really loved it. We enjoyed the school visit. Donations are accepted.
We were celebrating out 31year anniversary which turned out to be absolutely beautiful. Top quality was the food. There were variety, flavorful and tons of dishes. Only item my Argentine husband missed was churros dessert found at most resorts. This is our 5th visit to different hotels in D.R. I appreciated the spectacular cleanliness. I usually carry my own pillowcase but I felt secure enough not to use it. The front desk had a constant staff of about 5 employees happily greeting everyone instantly with no waiting. Anthony helped us with a non-working hairdryer which was replaced within the hour. Anthony's warm personality made you feel like family. Oh and you never had to scramble for a beach chair with shade. The room had a new towel sculpture everyday with flowers and leaves. Stunning art work. GO you won't regret it. No I'm not related to anyone there. Just a native New Yorker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Louis, MO

Loved this place!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Location: We stayed for 6 nights and never left the resort. There was definitely plenty to do! We did do a 2.5 hour snorkel trip which was wonderful!
My boyfriend and I decided to stay at the Riu Palace Bavaro after reading the excellent reviews posted- and it did not disappoint! We had the best week there and couldn't have asked for better service or accommodations. Our room was always clean and the resort itself is kept in pristine condition. We really enjoyed the food and felt the staff was always willing to accommodate its guests. Everyone was incredibly nice and friendly. We also never had trouble getting dinner reservations or a spot on the beach/pool. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PR

Worst service ever

Posted Apr 15, 2015
We were there for our honeymoon and we were so dissapointed. We've been to Punta Cana before and we were expecting the same amazing service we had experienced before, instead we got a we don't care attitude from the staff, not even wanting to really be excellent. The service was not even mediocre it was just plain horrible. We won't be going there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom SJO

Better than expected

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Food and grounds
Cons: Better hotel shop, not only expensive but service was awful.
Location: Arena grande beach
Check in and check out was swift. Housekeeping was diligent and attended all requests. Buffet was good meanwhile reservation restaurants were just ok. Cheap booze served in pool area and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Beach: white sand, wide open and shadow but quite a bit of of seaweeds Food: OK, changed very day Staff: OK, not that friendly and a little bit slow activities: there is no night life activities, quiet place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was great!

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Clean and very relaxing.
Very relaxing. The food was very good. The staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Perfect Babymoon

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The resort was the perfect size. The restaurants and pool area wasn't too close but it wasn't too far either. It was walking distance.
Location: The resort was about 20 mins from the airport.
Riu Palace Bavaro was perfect for our baby moon. It was mostly an adults only resort, which was exactly what we were looking for. The resort itself seemed fairly new and the staff was very accommodating. The pool area was very relaxing as well as a place to join in on some activities. The price of our stay was quite up there, but we only booked a week in advance. But I feel like we got what we paid for, which was a 5 star resort with new, clean rooms, good food and a picture perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Condes, Chile

Nice place, great beach.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
We stay for 5 nights. The hotel is nice with a lot of restaurants with different style of food. Great Beach near the pool with a lot of palmera shade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty beach near by

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Good shows in the evening they have But one of restaurants food quality is poor. Buffet is excellent I had visited ten different places in Caribbean. This hotel we will be back next time.