Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We will be back!!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
My husband and I met up with my two brothers and their wives for a week stay and it was wonderful. There were plenty of things to do, the facility was beautiful and was exceptionally clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly and unless you intend to have a bad time it isn't possible.
3 out of 5
by Jesse from California

Decent pool, nice beach access

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Bed was incredibly uncomfortable, air conditioning wasn't the best, restroom had no seperation from the rest of the hotel room and the ice maker on the floor did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with close access to beach

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Friendly staff, however they speaks/understands little to no English. As an ethnic guess it would have been nice if the hotel had a few flat irons/curling irons available for use upon request. TV remote control did not work even after replacement of batteries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, unbeatable service

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Everything, I already started looking into upcoming trips back to this hotel!!
Location: Great location. The beach is absolutely beautiful and there is a road with a few shops right next store. It's probably 20-30 minutes from the airport.
I cannot say enough nice things about the RIU Bavaro. This was my fourth time in the DR and the first time at the RIU Bavaro. From the moment we arrived, we were so impressed. Every hotel staff member went out of their way to make our stay special. The hotel is immaculately kept and constantly being cleaned. The beach is absolutely beautiful , along with all the hotel grounds. The staff truly makes you feel special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kim from boston

Very lovely resort

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The food, entertainment (both day and evening), cleanliness of room and public areas. The restaurant staff were always friendly and smiling.
Cons: There was a requirement that men wear long pants at dinner in the restaurants. The beds were not too comfortable with mediocre bedding.
Location: The location was fabulous. We didn't leave the resort.
We were celebrating my husbands birthday during this trip and the hotel staff was more than accomodating, including decorating our room with balloons and flowers as well as decorating our table at dinner that night. They even had a mariachi band singing Happy Birthday while bringing out a full cake with candles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Pleasurable Stay!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
I really enjoyed my stay at this luxurious resort. The food was great, the grounds were kept immaculate, my family enjoyed the pool and all the daily activities they had pool side, then nightly entertainment was great, and not to mention, unlimited alcohol anyway you wanted it. I don't have a single complaint about this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cheryl from Pennsylvania

Relaxing

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: We loved the Junior Suite with private pool; well worth the upgrade.
Cons: This resort needed more English-speaking staff.
Location: Great location. We weren't really interested in things to do nearby. Just wanted to relax at the beach.
This is a beautiful resort. I would highly recommend the Junior Suite with the private pool, never crowded, never noisy, unlike the community pool. The service was superior (maids, pool staff, servers, bartenders). Although there is quite the assortment of different foods every night, by the end of the trip, we were ready for a different flavor. There seemed to be a lack of English speaking staff. We were well taken care of, very pleased with what we got for our dollar and will recommend this resort to others. All the Riu's we have visited have been above par.
2 out of 5
by ANONYMOUS from EAST COAST

VIP - DEFINITELY NOT!!!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The staff at the RIU, the Montecrisco Buffet - it was the only thing consistently decent to eat at the resort.
Cons: DON'T SPRAY FOR BUGS WHILE PEOPLE ARE OUT WALKING AROUND THE RESORT, GAG! VIP AREA NEEDS TO BE IMPROVED FOR THE $$$ PEOPLE PAY! Hotel needs shuttle.
Location: Beautiful location and beaches, not much to do other than in resort and paying for taxi to go into Punta just too much money back and forth.
Vacationed here March 20th-27th. We NEEDED to get away from the miserable east coast winter! If you want to book at the RIU Palace Bavaro ESPECIALLY VIP and OCEANFRONT ROOM, PLEASE READ THIS! VIP ROOM/POOL/BEACH AREA: We paid quite a lot more money beforehand through Expedia to have a VIP + OCEANFRONT room, Mmmmmmm not so worth the extra money at all. The view was absolutely stunning and gorgeous, the beach speaks for itself and is just BEAUTIFUL! We should have paid for a REGULAR room/suite, enjoyed our full day at the pool and beach (like we did anyways) because the VIP section/service at the resort really kind of sucked. VIP was NOT anything special from what the other sections of RIU had to offer, actually it was WORSE! Yes it was quieter without having a bunch of screaming kids (VIP is 18 and older) but wait...The VIP section of the beach was NOT private so guess what! SCREAMING BABIES and KIDS from the other sections. You think you are paying for peace and quiet, but when you go to the beach, it's all the same. We love kids, don't get me wrong, we have grandchildren... just wanted a "quiet" peaceful and romantic time away from work, snow (and kids!). No drink service at the beach, no "special" lunch/BBQ's served like the other sections, I mean really??? We had to walk quite a good distance to Taino (the steakhouse) for lunch/snack/buffet which was at the family section pool. I mean come on... you would think the VI
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gregory from Fairhope, AL

Very nice hotel and close to the beach.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Great experience for our first time to the Dominican Republic. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Beaches were outstanding with beautiful water, palm trees close to the water and plentiful beach chairs to relax in. Food was good and the options were plentiful. We would definitely consider staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tato from Miami, FL

Beautiful Place to spend vacations time.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: People that work in that place, love what they do. Very kind!!!!
Cons: I had everything I expected to have.
I had the chance to compare with similar all inclusive complex and this is the best of the best. Great People, Great Installations, Great Food. Very clean everything you see, room amenities, swimming pools, beach, etc... A lot of activities.