Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
2nd vist, very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Food was average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Beautiful resort!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Riu Palace Bavaro was very beautiful & clean! The staff made my family and I feel welcomed, somewhat home away from home. I'd definitely recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Puerto Rico

Posted Jul 15, 2015
We are frequent visitors to punta cana, we loved everything about the resort. Not too big, nor small just right. Great food, service, entertainment. Overall an extraordinary resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Fantastic resort

Posted Jul 11, 2015
My wife and I spent 3 nights at Riu Palace Bavaro over July 4th weekend. It was our wedding anniversary and they upgraded us to a beachfront suite. Everything about the resort was 1st class. The buffet restaurant had a huge variety of food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and was very enjoyable. We ate one night in the steak restaurant but the food there was sub-par. The grounds are immaculate and all the staff including waiters and waitresses were extremely friendly. The booze flowed freely and there was even liquor dispensers in our room as well as mixers and beer in our room's fridge. We spent days at the pool and the weather was hot and sunny. In the evening we enjoyed the shows they had in the outdoor theatre. It was a wonderful vacation and we would recommend this resort gladly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice Resort on the beach, Good Food, OK service

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: The overall feel of the hotel, the room and its amenities.
Cons: The food was good but it lacked a lot of bold flavor to it. The service could be improved, more attentiveness is needed.
Location: The location was on the beach so you can walk along the beach to other resorts and small shops.
I just got back from Punta Cana I went the week of July 5th 2015 Resort: Large complex linked to other RIU's nearby, the closest is RIU Naiboa. It is also located near some shops in a back street that unites almost all the RIU's and a night club. Bavaro has a Contemporary, Modern look to it (Architecturally) and uses bold colors to give it a more club/lounge look to it. The room I got fit 3 people, although the 3rd person slept on a fold out bed on the sofa. The beds were a bit hard and not as soft, but overall the room was spacious enough. The restroom, shower and bathroom had contemporary trim that was very nice. I enjoyed the shower the most, it had a large overhead shower head and there was great water pressure and the shower space was spacious. Food: Food was good. I ate mainly at the Montecristo buffet. Breakfast was probably my favorite time to eat, Lunch was ok (a lot of fish was part of the main courses there) there were only a few chicken plates and even fewer beef choices (maybe about 2-3). For dinner you can book several restaurants for the evening one day in advance. I booked at the steakhouse and ate the New York Strip which had ok flavor and the Lobster which was a massive lobster tail and it was ok in flavor. It wasn't served in a light butter sauce which I am accustomed to, but it was good. Service: Service was hit or miss, very few servers were friendly and attentive and made rounds to check up on you and get you drinks. So it was ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel. Nice pool. The beach no too good.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Food was great. Room was very clean a comfortable. Pools were very nice. Beach had too many algae.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eh....Would Not Go Back.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Expedia reviews.
Location: Scuba diving trip to the Catalina Islands was cancelled last minute so we went on the Saona Island Catamaran tour which was beautiful.
After reading great reviews of the hotel, I planned my trip five months in advance and ordered a king size bed in the VIP 18+ resort. Upon arriving, you are greeted with a delicious drink and the front desk people are wonderful. Upon walking into the room, we immediately noticed that the bathtub was dirty and the bed consisted of two separately made small beds pushed together. After calling the front desk they told us that we could switch to a king bed the next day in the same building. The next day we had a king but when we were talking to multiple other people staying in the resort they had the same exact problem. It felt like the resort ran out of kings and was hoping to get away with it. Now to the food. I am not a food snob AT ALL and the food here was well below average. With the exception of the buffet, you have to make reservations to all restaurants at LEAST two days in advance. We ate at the Steakhouse, Krystal, and Italian. The best was the steakhouse and we ended up going to the buffet after the other two because the food was that bad. The beaches were pretty with the exception of the massive amounts of seaweed. The pool bar drinks were strong but don't except service at the beach at all. Multiple pools but were small, so they got dirty/slimy fast. tl;dr: Maybe I was just spoiled at the Excellence last year but I would not go back. May be good for families with kids but not for couples/honeymooners that want the true at-your-service experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Clean Hotel Unfriendly Staff

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The front desk staff was very polite, however, the rest on the hotel staff was very rude and unpleasant. It felt as though you were asking them to do you a favor when ordering a drink...and we were tipping. The hotel was very clean and the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Several staff members did not understand even basic English and their uniforms were filthy. One of the guests broke a plate in the dining area and I actually heard one of the workers use profanities when she was heading to clean the mess. The food was mediocre but the Italian restaurant was ok. Reservations were required for the restaurants and the staff were very nasty when guests were trying to make reservations. One of the guests mistakenly went to the wrong restaurant for dinner and I thought they were going to be carried away in handcuffs. I witnesse two arguments between guest and the staff in the six days I was there. I've been to several all inclusive resorts and I would sacrifice some of the amenities for pleasant staff and a welcoming experience. You won't get that here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Customer Service

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The facility was very nice, and the staff that stocked and cleaned the room was wonderful.
Cons: RIU Palace Bavaro needs to provide some type of literature to give information about things to do.
Location: Many exciting excursions like a zip line in the rain forest, and a boat trip out to swim with sharks and stingrays.
Nice resort, but the staff at the front desk was not helpful, or knowledgeable about any excursions to take while on vacation. The resort advertised having a casino. When I got there the casino was closed, and had been for a while I was told. I was really looking forward to spending some time at the slot machines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

TROPICAL PARADISE

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING.........
Cons: the rooms were not ventilated enough.
RIU PALACE BAVARO......Tropical Paradise..... Hotel is immaculately kept. Palm trees blowing with the breeze, shrubs and ground beautifully kept. Hotel staff both genuine and friendly. They went out of there way to accommodate any need or concern. Special recognition to dining staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Everyday activities planned for all guests. We met people from around the world who were all enjoying themselves as much as we were. Entertainment staff and dancers were highly motivated and made sure the guests were included in all activities and their smile and demeanor was contagious. The drinks were amazing. Every day the drink of the day changed and more delicious then the day before. The food was amazing. Seafood, steak, pork, chicken and local dishes, as well as a menu suited for children. The staff at the desk went out of their way to resolve and assist any issues or questions you had. Our refrigerator was kept well stocked with soda, beer, water. Our room was kept clean and the staff made rounds to see if we needed any towels, blankets, etc. Activities on the island excursions especially to Samona Island was a memory I will never forget. We enjoyed the catamaran ride, speed boat ride, bathing in the tropical waters, starfish and island barbeque, as well as the entertainment of the staff and the dance lessons.