Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: service
Cons: Food
I enjoyed the hotel . It was very clean and the room looked just like the pictures. The rooms were spacious and the balcony was also very nice. The hotel lounges and restaurants were very near, clean and the staff was wonderful - very attentive. The food was ok. It was not very exiciting but there was a lot of it and the choices were ok . Its best to get there in the begginnig of meal time if you want something hot. All and all it was a wonderful beach and a nice getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Cabin, OK

Nice adult only resort

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Resort was nice. Buffet food was best we've had at any resort. Reservations required for restaurants was brutal. Nothing ever available for our group of 8. Can upgrade room to ocean view for around $150-175 per week, suite for $200 , which goes directly into pockets of manager. Not much view though through Palm trees. Variety of race and age. Overall nice place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

the service is spectacular, you are treated as a K

Posted Jul 14, 2014
everything is excellent, the only thing is that the food is not varied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the rooms were very good. Room nice and cold upon entering.
We had a great stay here. I would definitely come and stay at this property again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

Great vacation

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Cons: Outside had a terrible smell that probably came from their sewer system. That needs to be improved.
I stayed at the Riu for seven nights with my husband along with my sister and her husband who were celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary. We had an amazing time. The staff were great and the entertainment was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from merrimack, nh

Hospitable staff, clean property, entertaining

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Eating & drinking areas had perfect atmosphere
Location: Riu is part of a few other sister sites. Walking distance to other hotels and shopping on main strip. No car required
Luxurious resort. Felt like royalty the whole stay. Staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Food was super and entertainment was fantastic. The location was close to white , clean non-rocky beach. Perfect aqua blue water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Spacious, Clean, Great Food

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The food, pool, and beach
Cons: Night time entertainment
Location: Great location. They have a few little shops around the corner between the sister resorts that have reasonable priced souvenirs.
This adults only resort is very nice, clean, great food, decent drinks (strong), and relaxing. The night time entertainment could be better. Every night they had a live band playing music in the lobby but no night time shows; maybe one the whole week. There were lots of activities during the day to participate in. The beach is great! Always lounge chairs available at the pool and beach. Shade and sun options. The rooms are very nice - so cold that we turned the air off at night. They clean the rooms about 2-3 times a day so you always have fresh towels. It really is a nice resort and would recommend to anyone, but better for couples. We stayed here for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
This was my first time at an all inclusive hotel. The condition of the hotel was in excellent condition and very clean. Pool was close and the beach was close. Wonderful view of the ocean and outstanding Palm Trees. Furniture was comfortable. Food was excellent and had a great variety of different foods. Staff was wonderful and would highly recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northlake, Illinois

beautiful place on the beach, clean.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: location, staff, great place
Location: shops close by, spa close.
We arrived with a nice welcome, room great, clean. Food, drinks, all excellent. Beach very clean, staff very friendly and prompt to please. Buffet wonderful, variety of food unbelieveable- if you can't find something you like you should not be at an all inclusive.
4 out of 5
by Unsatisfied Vis from Boston

Night desk clerk nightmare

Posted Jun 16, 2014
My friends and I (11 of us) stayed there from June 12 through June 15. The beaches and pools are beautiful and the day staff were very courteous. The night staff and night life were unextraordinary, especially the night front desk clerk. As a group of successful thirty somethings, we had planned to enjoy all the resort had to offer, including the nightlife. It was, however, not what we thought it would be. All the pools and beaches, and the bars around them closed at 6pm. There was one bar open and everyone who was under 30 (black, white, latino, foreigners) were trying to enjoy their time. We -- all of the group are either black or latino/a -- however, were silenced by the night front clerk for talking above a dull whisper. Speaking of the night front clerk, he was rude, unprofessional, and uncooperative throughout the entire stay. You would think excellent customer service would be a top priority for the Riu and their staff; this, unfortunately, was not the case. I hope he now realizes that his actions, alone, have cost Riu future business from my friends and me. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone under 40 or single.