Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great Adult Only Hotel near beach

Posted Sep 23, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jackson heights,NY

A dream vacation

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Very classic, the decorations, it is immaculate , and very good administration
Cons: The tv not too many good channel for peoples from the USA
Location: We'll the location close to the airport, and things near by don't know because we didn't go out, it was no need everything I needed was there
I arrived at the riu Macao on Monday 9/15/14 the front desk receptionist Darielis welcome us with a warm smile and a drink, it was about 1 pm and she already had the room ready for us. When we got to the room I wasn't happy because I though that I booked a ocean front and I got a back yard room I was upset and the bell boy called the front desk and manager advices him for us to go down and speak to him. I went down the next morning and spoke to Darielis by 1 pm our room was change with ocean front at no extra charge. Then when it was time for us to eat we went to el patio restaurant excellent place very good food there we met Radaneury and Elias, there we had breakfast and dinner they made sure that we had the best services anyone can us for we were treated like king and queens. We have being t many different resorts in punta Cana including the Hard Rock which is my number one and Riu Macao is my number two. I already told my family and friends about this resort and I will definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, great staff and entertainments

Posted Sep 10, 2014
This would be a great hotel to go to ONLY if you plan to relax..I loved the idea of an all adults only resort. It was nice and quiet-not noisy at all..staffs are great and helpful! The beach view is amazing. It is also very clean but there are some seaweed problems. There is nothing to do there past 10 at night. Majority of the adults were elders. Not a party hotel!!!!!! Rooms are very stuffy due to the humidity in punta cana. There was also a smell that was not appealing after the rooms were cleaned. If you ask me, I rather hang out in the resort rather than in my hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Terrible costumer service No a/c on suit ...

Posted Sep 4, 2014
The staff was rude. Front desk horror movie. The room no A/C after 3 time request to fix it.The beach not clean, 10:30pm call for room service after 6 or more time got two drinks I'v been traveling more than 15 times to this countries and never reviewed a place but Riu Macao was a joke!!!!! DO NOT GO TO Riu Macao !!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

no 5 star resort

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: average at best
Cons: food and room service selection
Location: everything within walking distance
heres what 5 star resorts have that this place doesn't------hot water in shower pen and pad in room tv guide to show what channels are on coasters for drinks a stocked refrigerator, not open bottles returned better food and better selections for room service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Beautiful!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Great place with beautiful landscape. Food was okay, drinks are strong. Two single ladies and we met lots of nice people that were staying there but the staff were a little to flirty. Loved the beach and lots of places to sit in sun or shade. Place dies down pretty early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Pleasure Trip

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Overall, it was an excellent trip. RIU lives up to its reputation for great hospitality and the excellent buffets... My only concern would be the water. Drink bottled water and do not brush your teeth with tap water... It will make for a bad evening, trust me (pepto bismol). The staff was great, drinks were great and always cold.. Great variety of food every day. There is something for everyone, even you picky eaters.. Bartenders excellent!!! I would like to see the pool stay open past 1800 hrs (6pm).. Beach service was excellent as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Fantastic hotel with beach and pools

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The pool bar.
Cons: The food--especially lunch and dinner.
Location: Beaches, horseback riding, cigar factory, chocolate and coffee farm, and more.
I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend, and our only complaint is the food. We did an excursion one of the days and got authentic Dominican food, which was great. And the Steakhouse restaurant had the best dinner. We also tried Italian, but it was not good at all. Breakfast was very good--it's hard to mess up breakfast. And they blended fresh fruit drinks for breakfast--phenomenal. The beach and the pools are the best. We spent most of our time at the pool bar during the days, met awesome people, had great drinks, and generally had a blast. Non-motorized sports were included, so we did some kayaking. The gym is easily accessible. The staff were amazing, especially the entertainment staff. I admire their personalities so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel, staff, pool, & beach

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The hotel grounds were pretty. Not top notch but nice. Pool/beach layout very smart, accessible, and lovely. Room was a bit plain but clean. Strange wettish residue on tiled room floor from cleaning agent. General dampness but guess to be expected in this climate - wet clothes never fully dried. Booze in the in-room mini bar watered down and gave my head and stomach probs, but it's included I suppose... Staff are simply wonderful. Genuine smiles, positive attitudes - I tipped as much as I could and wish I could've given more as I know it would've been received with much gratitude. Food was pretty good taste wise in my opinion, but I did get runny after about 5 days of it. Nothing too bad but I have a strong gut so not sure for those with more sensitive constitutions. Then again I've heard good issues are unavoidable wherever you go in Punta Cana for those not accustomed to it. That's disappointing. All in all I went there for beach, sun, and relaxation which I got. So I am happy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful View

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The resort was great and the staff was very friendly. Even though I got sick from the food on the resort, I still had a great time.