Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

My favorite place

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Mostly the staff
Cons: Put bathtubs in some rooms. Room service could use a little help understanding orders.
Location: We mostly just hang around the hotel pool and beach. Go to the beach flea market.
The hotel is great. Only complaint is NO bathtubs unless you upgrade to a suite. The staff are wonderful. We have stayed there nine times. Stayed once at the Bavaro while the Macao was being remodeled. We love it at the Macao. You would think they would offer a room upgrade once in a while due to the fact we stay there every year. But, we still like it and can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

nice hotel on the beach - dirty beach with washups

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Clean and people always working and visable.
Cons: A smile at the front desk
Location: Market street on the property. Casino was in our hotel. We spent most of our time in the pool area.
good time at hotel, food,drinks all top notch. Only challenge was of the 5 Riu's on the property we were only allowed to use 2. The information prior did not indicate this. Beach was dirty with washups and difficult to enter water. Adult only concept was good for me and my wife. This was our 5th time at a Riu property and services were comparable . We did not go off property as it was our 2nd trip to the Punta Cana area and did the tourist things on our 1st visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First trip to DR

Posted Jul 19, 2015
The resort was excellent minus the room. Hotel is older but we will go back because the employees were awesome. I felt like we made friends. I visited other beautiful resort that just felt like vegas not and island resort. Take my word stay here and enjoy the people don't worry about room we only slept there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, Ca

Relaxing, Pleasant atmosphere

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Loved the rooms having balaconies. I could sit out in the evening and listen to the live music.
Location: There's a number of little shops nearby for shopping. Don't bother exchanging money to pesos as every place we went to accepted USD.
Just came back from 5 blissful nights. Got there Sunday evening, check-in was no problem. By the time i got settled it was around 10 pm. By then all of the restaurants were closed but room service was available. The room service menu is very limited but was decent enough. I stayed on the resort for the whole trip. I did want to go to Santo Domingo but I didn't realize it was so far away. There are tours but they are all day events and by the time I looked into them, I had a day left and didn't want to use a whole day. I'd recommend looking into the activities you want at the very start so you can balance activities with laying by the pool or beach. I did do the 2 hours snorkeling adventure which was fun. It was $40/per person. They take you out, you snorkel in one spot for 30-40 minutes. Then you go to this natural pool where a bunch of other boats congregate and basically have a big party. They provide rum and coke and some snacks. I thought the food available was really good. I felt that the variety was nice. I woulds recommend staying over a weekend. I was there a Sunday and left Friday. As the weekend on you could tell it really started to revved up. Thursday night they had a street festival with dancers and such. It just seemed to be a more party vibe as it got closer to the weekend. I'm sorry that I scheduled this they way I did. On my next trip, I'll play to stay at minimum 7 days just to fit in more stuff..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse,NY

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: We found it very difficult to communicate to all hotel staff. None of staff could speak English.
Location: Location excellent but we mostly remained on resort. Shuttle to various places such as nearby shopping malls was offered at no charge. Good perk.
Staff was very attentive and tried to be helpful but none of the staff could speak even reasonably good English. Food was very good at the buffet and specialty restaurants. Very clean rooms. Room service was included in package but there were only 3 choices on the menu for food and difficult to get service in evening. Sometimes they did not even answer the phone. Buffet was great in that you could fill your plate and a server would take it immediately to your own room if you requested. That was super if you are tired from partying and wanted to return to your room to relax. This service was not part of room service since you had to fill your own plate but was a very good benefit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smokers Heaven

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The staff was very good at their jobs, very friendly.
Cons: Designated smoking areas, that are enforced would be nice. The beach, in spots, looked like a large ash tray, or litter box.
If you are a smoker, this resort is for you. If you are a non-smoker, like me, DO NOT go here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Relaxing Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Awesome staff - very friendly - the food was great - the hotel was very clean and neat - there was a lot of seaweed at the beach, but they worked to get rid of it, very quickly. There are walkways between the other RIU Hotels. There were no surprise charges at the end of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mcallen, tx

View of the garden

Posted Jul 3, 2015
We had a wonderful time, the food was delicious, the shows were very entertaining. We spent alto of our time in the pool bar with Salvador the bartender, he was very nice and very talkative.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new castle de

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Good experience....minimum entertainment...excellent staff very friendly!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Nothing bad per se, just not as good as other hotels I have stayed for similar prices. Very little entertainment and food choices are not as robust as they appear to be.