Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful View

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The resort was great and the staff was very friendly. Even though I got sick from the food on the resort, I still had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This is a great place to stay. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. Brush up on your Spanish before you go to make communication easier. The bars pour generous drinks. You also have access to 2 adjacent all inclusive resorts in walking distance. Be sure to make dinner reservations the day you check in because space books up quick. Stay away from the room service especially late night. Overall a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Riu Palace Macao

Posted Aug 8, 2014
This hotel is part of the Riu Resort in Punta Cana. The resort consists of 5 different hotels: The big ones are Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, and Riu Palace Bavaro; the two smaller hotels are Riu Naiboa and Riu Bamboo. As part of our reservation at the Macao, we were able to utilize day restaurants and activities at Bamboo and Naiboa; the two other "Palace" hotels were only available to us for sight seeing. As listed for the Macao, it is an adults only hotel and it is very different when it comes to the amount of guests that are present throughout the day. We stopped by the Bamboo and instantly saw the difference it made; much more relaxing and less clutter at the Macao. The hotel provides daytime and nighttime activities every day. There is a special group of employees called the entertainment team who's sole purpose is to administer activities and get guests to participate. They are a lot of fun. As soon as they hear music play, it's like flipping a light switch; they all start dancing. My favorites was Johann! That dude is a character! One thing about the water sports that are available: if you plan on using a body board, you'll have to leave a $20 deposit per board. The deposit is returned once you return the boards. The staff are always there to help and provide you with whatever you need. Their main concern is your satisfaction and pleasant experience. Staff will not ask for tips but they treat you so well that you want to tip them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: service
Cons: Food
I enjoyed the hotel . It was very clean and the room looked just like the pictures. The rooms were spacious and the balcony was also very nice. The hotel lounges and restaurants were very near, clean and the staff was wonderful - very attentive. The food was ok. It was not very exiciting but there was a lot of it and the choices were ok . Its best to get there in the begginnig of meal time if you want something hot. All and all it was a wonderful beach and a nice getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Cabin, OK

Nice adult only resort

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Resort was nice. Buffet food was best we've had at any resort. Reservations required for restaurants was brutal. Nothing ever available for our group of 8. Can upgrade room to ocean view for around $150-175 per week, suite for $200 , which goes directly into pockets of manager. Not much view though through Palm trees. Variety of race and age. Overall nice place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

the service is spectacular, you are treated as a K

Posted Jul 14, 2014
everything is excellent, the only thing is that the food is not varied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the rooms were very good. Room nice and cold upon entering.
We had a great stay here. I would definitely come and stay at this property again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

Great vacation

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Cons: Outside had a terrible smell that probably came from their sewer system. That needs to be improved.
I stayed at the Riu for seven nights with my husband along with my sister and her husband who were celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary. We had an amazing time. The staff were great and the entertainment was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from merrimack, nh

Hospitable staff, clean property, entertaining

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Eating & drinking areas had perfect atmosphere
Location: Riu is part of a few other sister sites. Walking distance to other hotels and shopping on main strip. No car required
Luxurious resort. Felt like royalty the whole stay. Staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Food was super and entertainment was fantastic. The location was close to white , clean non-rocky beach. Perfect aqua blue water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Spacious, Clean, Great Food

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The food, pool, and beach
Cons: Night time entertainment
Location: Great location. They have a few little shops around the corner between the sister resorts that have reasonable priced souvenirs.
This adults only resort is very nice, clean, great food, decent drinks (strong), and relaxing. The night time entertainment could be better. Every night they had a live band playing music in the lobby but no night time shows; maybe one the whole week. There were lots of activities during the day to participate in. The beach is great! Always lounge chairs available at the pool and beach. Shade and sun options. The rooms are very nice - so cold that we turned the air off at night. They clean the rooms about 2-3 times a day so you always have fresh towels. It really is a nice resort and would recommend to anyone, but better for couples. We stayed here for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed.