Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Excellent hotel for adults only.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and excellent food,
Cons: Unfortunately the evening entertainment was exactly the same as last year.
Location: Most of the trips were designed for younger people and involved choppy boat rides or bumpy Jeeps. The location however was very good.
Comfortable spotlessly clean rooms. Highly trained staff who were eager to please. Wide variety of food to satisfy every nationality. The evening entertainment let it down, it was an exact repeat of last year and we didn't like how some evenings they used guests as "entertainment" such as Karaoke or silly embarrassing games. Also the noise round the pool was sometimes unacceptable. Expedia service in respect of our departing airport transport was very poor. Even though we had prepaid for it and on arrival had completed a card with full flight details, the day before departure our rep Yocenia was unable to advise us of the pick up time. She kept us waiting in the foyer for over an hour, and a promise to phone us in our room at 6pm that evening was not honoured. It was left to us to phone the local number to find out the time of our taxi pick up. All extremely inefficient and time wasting on our last day in the Dominican Republic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arizona

Great experience!!

Posted Mar 15, 2015
We just returned from a 5 night stay and had a great time! The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The rooms were clean and the mini bar was always well stocked. The beds were a little more firm than we would've liked but we were so tired by the end of the day that we barely cared. The pool and the swim up bar were wonderful. Loved the lounge beds in the water. The food was pretty good, would have liked a little more variety. As far as restaurants we ate at the steakhouse, kabuki, and Krystal and they were decent. However, go by what the wait staff recommends that was always the best option on the menu. Our only complaint is that adults only meant middle aged to senior citizen. we are all around 30 and were some of the youngest people there but it was also nice to stay away from kids.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Nice adult only hotel right on beach

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Great breakfast and dinner options, if you do the a la carte restaurants. Lunch was pretty terrible. Same options almost on a daily basis. Bartenders don't know how to make simple drinks like manhattans and old fashioned'. Staff really nice. Bedrooms need to be renovated. Still old looking, uses a real key! Overall, a good experience but expected more from a RIU Palace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Phila., Pa USA

VERY NICE!

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Loved the pools, beach and especially the bar(beautiful)area.
Cons: You need a night light in the bathroom. The light now shines right into the bedroom. Also more convenient bathrooms on the first floor.
Location: We basically stayed in the area.
We really liked the the hotel. The staff was phenominal e.g always smiling and ready to help you with any questions you have. It was spotless and very well run.The entertainment was pretty good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall great stay!

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Food and pool areas were amazing! The ocean was too rough to enjoy. Only complaint was how dirty the bed sheets and room floors were! We enjoyed our stay but I think we will pick a different resort next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Great all-inclusive-adults only

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Cons: Get the casino back! Entertainment could be a little earlier-10pm too late for me.
Great weather, nearby shops without leaving beach area, food very good, drinks too! Beach not the best-seaweed. But poolside lots of fun. Several activities to participate-aerobics,horseshoes,bocci,volleyball,tennis,etc.Casino closed but shuttle available to another off site.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Terrible place

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Location: Nothing
Horrible experience! Its all inclusive and we had to pay for drinks at the nightclub. The Casino was closed throughout my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Palace Punta Cana not Palace Macao

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Food was great and the beach was nice and clean. The had people cleaning up everyday to make sure everything was in top shape on the beach.
Cons: Rooms. They smell musty and moldy. One of the pictures on the wall had mold growing inside.
When we initially walked in to Macao we were pleased. It looked modern and clean, however when we arrived at the front desk to check in we were told we were being "upgraded" (from an adults only resort to a family resort with kids) to the Palace Punta Cana and were whisked away down the road. Walking into the Palace Punta Cana it was very old European style fancy. We check in and found out the reason for our "upgrade" was because the other resort was overbooked. We went to our room (room 1133) to find that it was musty and moldy smelling, had no towels, and had a leak in the ceiling right in front of the shower. Also, the "king" bed was just 2 double beds pushed together. We called down to the front desk for towels and to tell them about the leak; waited for a little, but then went to dinner. Upon our return to the room we found a trash bin under the leak and 2 bath towels (no hand towels or face cloths). That was really everything we have to complain about (aside from people smoking EVERYWHERE). Luckily we only had to sleep in the moldy, musty room. The food and beach were awesome, drinks were great. Even the food at the buffet was great; plenty of options and all fresh and well cooked. We were able to try the Steak, Brazilian, and Japanese restaurants. They were all good, but we liked the Steak House best! They were also great about bringing drinks around the beach. We didn't wait more than 10 -15 minutes for a drink if we didn't feel like going up to the bar
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom IL

Switched

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Staff and food were wonderful.
Cons: Don't switch peoples' reservations
Location: Not too many activities going on anyplace in the facility.
We booked our stay at the Riu Macao but when we checked in, we were told that we were being moved to the Riu Palace instead. Palace was more like a hotel instead of a resort and we had booked the Macao because it was adults only. When I book a hotel I expect to stay at that hotel and not be made to switch at arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Awesome!

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Food great for all inclusive, utilize the ala carte. We loved them. Spent much of week at swim up bar pool. Not ideal beach for swimming, waves roll in pretty good, but beach was soft white sand. Nightly entertainment started close to 10 pm, we went to a couple, something to do nothing special. Overall facility was great, nice relaxing vacation