Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great stay. The staff was top notch. Only downside was the in room wifi would go out a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place but don't go for the beach.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere and scenery
Cons: They do not have an ATM so bring lots of $5 bills.
Location: Cap Cana is a gated bubble and it's beautiful there. Punta Espada is a fabulous gold course and it's a $3 US cab ride from the Sanctuary.
Pools are great. Not a great beach resort but everything else was fantastic. People there were great. Great mojitos too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nc

first and last visit

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Landscaping was nice.
Cons: preety much everything
Location: location was good if you want solitude ,did not go on any excursions.
Hotel not very well maintained ,only 8 years old , not very hot water, restaurants ok. casa bella was the best breakfast and lunch, grill at the pool had good hamburgers. bed and linens were good .towels and wash cloths hard to come by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston and Mexico

They need to improve to deserve the 5 stars

Posted Jul 21, 2015
The hotel was good, the beach is not as good as the pictures, they need to put real photos, the people is very nice and the hotel is beautiful, they need to offer more sea food, I was expecting to eat more lobster and shrimp and that is very limited, the staff is great, very happy people, the spa is also good but the sauna wasn't working that good it took like an hour to start working as a sauna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Honeymoon was amazing!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Just about everything. The room (honeymoon suite in the castle) would leave you speechless. The food was overall very good most days/nights.
My wife and I had never been to the DR and Sanctuary was a place a few had suggested. Looking back, I wouldn't imagine going anywhere else. The staff was amazing, incredibly polite, friendly and accommodating. We went all inclusive and for the money, we couldn't have been happier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Wunderschönes Hotel in Standnähe mit hohem Komfort

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Vielzahl der unterschiedlichen Restaurants mit hoher Qualität
Waren 8 Tage All inclusive im Hotel , sehr schöner Standurlaub mit Möglichkeiten von verschiedenen Ausflügen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl

Excellent Hotek

Posted Jul 11, 2015
I love this hotel! We had the time of our life! The staff are great! They make you feel like home. The entertainers at the pool were very nice and fun. The place is beautiful, the food great! Highly recommend this place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice relaxing place

Posted Jul 8, 2015
This place is more intended for couples trying to relax, I love it!!!! The only complain that I have to mention is the A/C was set to 20 Celcius and I was not able to control my temperature
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: and at the end when we checked out the manager said there wasnt anything he could do and said we should have said something earlier
Cons: and at the end when we checked out the manager said there wasnt anything he could do and said we should have said something earlier
Location: and at the end when we checked out the manager said there wasnt anything he could do and said we should have said something earlier
The place is actually very nice, and for the most part i enjoyed the hotel. But I give it a one star due to this, when we first checked in the guy checking us in told us he had an offer for us. He said he can upgrade our room to this other part of the hotel called the castle and its nicer and we have our own private pool and only for alot of extra dollars. I said ok, why not, private pool sounds good. So we get to our room, and the castle is about 2 football fields walk away from the main hotel. So we get to the room and go to the back balcony and it turns out the pool is actually private to the whole castle not just my room, so the gentlemen lied. We accepted, I later find out that the room i had originally was 100 sq ft bigger than the room i was "upgraded" to, and all because of a pool that wasnt in fact private. We accept it, and that was our fault, that we accepeted it. We thought when we ck out we will bring these things up and they will comp us a couple nights. So then the 3rd night the room above us has a water leak and the water came down into our room and our light in our bathroom was leaking water for about 30 min non stop. All while we told all these complaints to our concierge. And our back patyo door wouldnt lock. And right across from the castle about 200 yards was a bar and they would play music until 3am all night and all we would hear is boom boom boom and every time we called and complained they said they would take care of it and never did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Beautiful grounds and great experience.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Grounds, service, rooms are spacious, amazing views!
Cons: Bar not closing so early by pool and more rafts for the pool. There were only 6 and people held onto theirs all day.
Location: Location was remote, but there is a gorgeous golf course next door and three other sister resorts on the grounds that you can visit as well.
We had an amazing time and the Sanctuary. I believe it is one of the best resorts to stay at, unless you can get on the Caribbean side for the beach. I believe we were there during the seaweed season, therefore we can't blame mother nature. Although, on the Caribbean side of the island the beaches were gorgeous! The food was about what you can expect for All inclusive, it was okay. The drinks were great and the staff was awesome! The pools are fun and activities are fun. Not too much, just right! My only complaint is the pool bar closes at 6:00 pm, but great time to transition to dinner or hang out at the love bar. This resort was away from everything and as I said on beautiful grounds. That is actually what we liked about it. Very safe area and secluded. We are not sure if we will return to Punta Canta, but we will definitely stay at a resort like this again!