Ratings based on 609 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Beautiful hotel, nice experience

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: beautiful hotel, friendly staff, great space
Cons: check in speed (took almost an hour)
Location: scape park had many things to do. however the excursions are a little expensive.
I was pleased with almost everything at the hotel. Before I left, I saw many poor reviews on the food. I found the food to be good, lots of variety. The maid service was amazing. our room was cleaned and very well every day. The property was large and we were always walking around and enjoying the space. The only small negatives were 1: check-in time. It took almost an hour to get us checked in, which was a little long. They did provide drinks and items to eat in the lobby along with free wifi. They only other negative was the small beach front area. My boyfriend and I are very active and planned to run on the beach. The beach at the hotel is only about 350 meters long. However, if you walk past the sister property there is a public beach that is much longer, where we would run in the mornings. Overall, we had a great experience. It was very relaxing and very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Everything you'd want on a vacation and resort!!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Everything was as it was advertised if not better. The staff. The location. The view. Amazing. Only slight bad thing was the food, as a fellow chef every restaurant was meh in regards to food and service was about 4/5 for the most part. The best places to eat was casa Bella for breakfast and cappricio for dinner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wyndmoor, Pa

Wonderful relaxing vacation!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Everything beautiful outdoors. Pool is magnificent with swim up bar 5 steps from pool to beach. Extremely friendly service. Room clean & comfortable.
Cons: Some food good (especially breakfast) but overall food not that great. Have to call room service for ice in room. Poor service in BlueMarlin restauran
Location: Del Mar resort next door has beaitiful infinite pool. Water sports are farfrom the main location. Many excursions offered - snorkeling wasn't great.
This was our first experience at an all inclusive resort and our first real vacation in a number of years. With all the severe winter weather at home, for weeks I was dreaming the words warm, relax, sleep, read, swim, eat, drink, sun, breeze, and was not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful. The pools are visually spectacular and inviting. Each day we ate breakfast overlooking the pool and the sparkling turquoise ocean water and it was a lovely way to begin the day. We loved sitting at the main pool during the day and never lacked for anything. There are servers who will bring towels, drinks of any kind, take pictures, etc. There is enough activity to be interesting (daily water aerobics, dancing lessons, bar tending lessons, options to play volleyball & bocce) but you can avoid all and relax quietly if you prefer. There were staff who walked around with macaws and also with a capuchin monkey who loved to sit on people's head for photos. Our room was comfortable and very clean with a beautiful view. All the staff were extremely friendly and greeted us with smiles always. Not everything was perfect, but when when people are so nice, it's hard to get too upset about little things. We learned to slow down - nothing happens in a hurry at Sanctuary Cap Cana - but that was ok! All in all, we would very much recommend this resort as a very nice haven to escape the winter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Don't expect 5 star luxury

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Architecture and location. Smallish size. Nice pools. Availability of suites with private pools
Cons: The food, the promptness of the service when requests are made. DIFFERENT RESTAURANT TIERS ACCORDING to room price paid.
Location: Somewhat isolated like most of CAP Cana. Did a trip to the capital Santo Domingo, which was definitely not worth it. Maybe it was the Tour company.
Our stay, a mature couple, started off with lots of hiccups. No welcoming champagne for a honeymoon suite, no flowers that were requested, no umbrella for out private patio and pool. It took lots of visits to the concierge to get these issues fixed, but finally a manager took care of it. The atmosphere at the resort was very nice, the surroundings were pleasant, the layout and architecture were especially attractive. The biggest problem we had was with the food. Whether you had the cheapest room or one of the most expensive ones, you had the same all inclusive food whose quality was hit or miss from night to night. The house wine which was served in all the restaurants was below par for a 5 star resort. The concierge service did however do their best to improve our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NNS, Va

Gem among trinkets

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Perfect tropical get-away offering stunning settings nestled within this beautifully landscaped Punta Cana property is complimented by four excellent on-site restaurants, attentive staff and diverse social options...but just relaxing within the Sanctuary is more than enough. And if you are lucky enough to visit, you'll resist any notion of departing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sellersburg, IN

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The pools are beautiful! Everyone is very friendly.
Cons: The fitness center was very disappointing and need to be updated. The machines are old and several were not in working condition. Needs more stores!
Location: Excursions are really the only things to do other than go to the pool, beach, golf or eat. There is virtually NO SHOPPING which was very disappointing
It was a beautiful resort and everything was in walking distance. There were golf carts available if you didn't want to walk. The pools are gorgeous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I stayed there with my family and all of us liked it s lot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Resort With Lots to Offer

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Rooms were great with a nice walk in closet, view of the ocean, and a large bathroom. I loved the adult pool at the castle.
Cons: Some troubles with keeping our room fridge stocked, but no big deal.
Location: We were looking for a break from the hectic day to day life at home, so getting out wasn't a big priority.
Our stay at the Sanctuary provided everything we could ask for. The staff were great, and went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. Lots of pools, entertainment and great food choices. We enjoyed every minute of our time away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Very nice resort. Service just OK

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Staff, bars, swim up bar, pool, views
Cons: service time at restaurants
The resort is amazing. Breathtaking views and the facilities are all very nice. The beach area is very small, but it was fine for us. The pool(s) are all very nice and definitely kid friendly at the main pool. Our room was nice, but the view was just OK. We should have upgraded to a nicer view, but we were fine with it. The restaurants were all good...nothing spectacular but that's pretty much what we expected. While all of the staff were excellent, the service was just OK. It often took us a while to get seated for dinner and then it would take a while to get our order taken and for the food to come. I'm definitely not complaining because we had an amazing time and we were just there to relax, but it was a bit frustrating. The room service took a long time...we even fell asleep one night waiting for it to arrive! All in all I would recommend the resort and we would certainly go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kitchener, Ontario

Most gorgeous resort ever!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Very beautiful resort.
Cons: Service must be improved and staff better trained. Specially in the buffet. Had to ask for things way too many times.
Location: Not much around the resort.
Stayed in a villa on the beach. Gorgeous resort, but very poor service. Most of the staff did not understand English very well. Wifi in room basically non existent. Food was great though.