Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Excellent place. Great food, great people, clean, perfect place to de- stress for those who love tranquility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Beautiful villa with private beach- really!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Amazing service all around! People are truly devoted to good service and making everyone feel relaxed and happy! The only place we were asked repeatedly to come back and enjoy the experience all over again! Hotel is impressive and was not overcrowded which made it even more personable. As everyone is so nice we felt terrible not tipping for services and that humbled them even more and went out of their way to be even nicer ( and that is very hard as they are all so helpful at baseline). The pool staff knew everyone after a while and were courteous and friendly every morning while inviting us to yoga, water aerobics, volleyball etc. The overabundance of delicious and varied food is another definite pro when trying to select this hotel! Bottom line, please choose this hotel! My husband and I and our kids ( 16 and 12) absolutely loved our 5 days here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, property.
Cons: Slight odor in bathroom as if sewage system needed to be improved.
Location: Close to airport and activities
Beautiful location and property. Staff was outstanding. Food is better than average, but still very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Clair Shores MI

Amazing Couples Getaway

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: I loved the quiet feel and the activities, the ocean view was breathtaking. The food was good and drinks were strong. Can't ask for anything more!
Cons: They could play more "Dominican" music. I think they felt that because we were American they had to play top 40. I can hear that any time in America.
Location: We went on a few excursions. Las Ondas Cenote tour and the Sunshine Cruise. I highly recommend both and book with hotel if you want to avoid headaches
We had the most fantastic time and enjoyed this resort to the fullest. Here is a rundown of the resort: Resort: Beautiful, very well kept and clean Private Beach: It was beautiful, there was a ton of seaweed and they do clean it up but please remember this is part of nature and it happens, there is so much that its almost uncontrollable and I applaud them for working so hard to keep it up as they had. Food: In my opinion the food was good. The hibachi and steak house were my favorites. We stuck to those two because we loved them and knew they had good food. There are a total of 4 restaurants on the resort. They are HIbachi, regular steakhouse, blue marlin which is a seafood restaurant and an Italian place. We had heard so many bad things about the Italian place so I didn't feel up for trying it but don't let me discourage you. The made to order buffet style breakfast was phenomenal. I looked forward to my custom omelet and smoothie everyday. There was something for everyone I felt. Activities: they had live music or some event every single day happening at the Love bar and at 11pm there was a disco that they had opened which was so much fun. We were there every night partying. Adults Only: Let me recommend that you NOT bring kids to this resort. It is mostly honeymooners and couples and not an atmosphere for kids. If you take your kids, they will be miserable Staff: Amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, Ohio

Not All Inclusive

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location, post card perfect. Nearly all the staff were wonderful, unless you weren't tipping them!
Cons: Stop the shake down, serve better food, and teach your bartenders how to mix a drink my wife would like.
Location: Had a great time snorkeling.
The first thing I did after checking in was get in the pool and swim up to the bar and order a drink. It was served with a receipt that I had to sign, 0.00 balance, but a line for a tip. I asked to just run a tap and I'd tip when I get out. I was told I had to sign every time! This really got old, and I found I didn't tip out of spite. This tip "shake down" continued at every meal, every beer at a bar, room service, every drink delivered to the beach. I really got tired having to sign a receipt for everything. Please understand, I'm not a cheap tip miser, I normally tip very well with good service, but to be asked/shamed to tip for every drink at an all inclusive resort is insane. For this reason alone I will not go back. Additionally I found the food not to be up to par for a resort in this price range. I'd bet my last dollar that the fresh battered grouper filet I was served came out of a Mrs. Paul's box. Overall I found enough to eat, but I did lose weight while I was there! Normally I come back five pounds heavier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

1st All Inclusive

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Service, Service, Service
Cons: Set up a better selection of off property shopping excursions. Research and decide what you want to do before you arrive and stick to it!
Location: Exclusive location is off the beaten path, nothing is close minus the Punta Espada$ And Marina
Showed up 3 hrs early due to flight, allowed us to check in and put all our items in the 1 room that was ready. Went up to the Ocean Bar and hung out at the rooftop pool, Awsome!!!!! Tried most the restaurants and it is a hit or miss with what is ordered. Would have really liked a choice of local fairs from one of the eateries, try too hard to please worldly guests and lose in the preparation. Thought we had a trip confirmed for San Juan Shopping Center for 11 AM. Call was never made and we were told that the Diamond Tour was as good or better. 2 stores both overpriced with same items at both locations. Was very disappointed as we felt as if the tour was decided for us with kickbacks going to the resort as every item purchased questioned with what resort we was staying at! Saona Island Catamaran Tour is a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salem, Ohio

Scenery is breathtaking

Posted Apr 5, 2015
The scenery is absolutely breathtaking. The pool, architecture, & the landscape. The food & drinks were great & plentiful. We spent all day at the beach and they brought you drinks. Our glasses never went empty.The hits were great if you wanted out of the sun. The 5 restaurants were very good. It was very romantic. We will go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay Area

very cozy hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: PRETTY QUIET AND NOT TOO CROWDED AND CLEAN.
Cons: MAKE SURE THE BATHROOM WILL BE CLEANED AND FREE OF SMELL.
Location: THIS IS THE ONLY NEGATIVE PART OF THE HOTEL. IT IS REALLY FAR FROM EVERYTHING, INCLUDING SHOPPING PLACES, AND OTHER RESORTS NEARBY TO VISIT OR CHECK.
MAKE SURE TO CHECK YOUR STATEMENT UPON CHECKOUT, FOR THERE ARE SOME UNEXPECTED FIGURES THAT ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO BE THERE. BUT, THEY ARE NICE ENOUGH TO ADJUST THE FIGURES. YOU MUST KEEP ALL YOUR RECEIPTS (TIPS, PURCHASES ETC.) AS PROOF OF PAYMENTS, FOR THEY WILL ASK FOR IT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, ny

Perfect to celebrate your anniversary.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Our 2 year anniversary was fantastic! We had the best hotel, staff and beaches. Nancy Malone our house keeper was amazing! Edgar our concierge person made sure we would have everything we needed and wanted. The amenities were perfect, friendly people, relaxed lifestyle and the slow Dominican time was everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom barranquilla

the best...... the service, very kind people

Posted Apr 3, 2015
the best place fir vacations with the family, food was delicious, do you feel really good in sanctuary cap cana