Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

great place for a vacation.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: great location, grounds were lovely, restaurant staff very friendly. our room was large and overlooked the beach and ocean. it was perfect.
Cons: wait staff in restaurants can be a little more attentive to their tables, especially during breakfast.
Location: location very convenient to airport (15 minutes). did not leave resort during our stay.
had a great time at the resort. plenty of places to relax either by the pool or beach. never had to wait for a table for dinner at any of the restaurants. sorry to see that guests would claim lounge chairs by placing a towel on the chair by the pool or beach first thing in the morning, so if you didn't follow suit, there were hardly any chairs left.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom milwaukee

Nice hotel/ food needs major improvement

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Well when you need a break from the resort there is a cool public beach that you can walk to by the castle....resturant, lounge live music at nite, DJ...Juanillo is the name! Good drinks..did not try the food. Now I like the hotel staff, service is slow far as trying to get something as simple as a bottle opener( took the next afternoon to get), WIFI is spotty at best. Room service food is gross...so plan your meal times bc there are big waiting times you can not get food unless you order room service. The place was beautiful! Work on your Spanish bc majority of the staff don't know English ...you are in their country
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hilton Head Island, SC

Very Mixed Review

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Beautiful grounds.
Cons: Rooms need a total re-do. Stained furniture - needed painting and new bath fixtures
Location: Nothing nearby except Juanillo Beach. Punta Espada golf very expensive. Not worth going to Marina - deserted. Cab rides are $3.00 w/in Cap Cana
First, I was very concerned with the poor reviews before arriving. We had a Jr. Suite - when I asked for an upgrade for a villa with a private pool, they quoted $1000 extra per night. The Jr. Suite was okay, but nothing about it had been upgraded. Bath fixtures were very old but everything worked. The room smelled very musty and there was no said coffee maker. The covered balcony was very large and view would have been nice, but huge palm covered the opening. Every morning there was a strange fuzz all over the floor - no idea where that came from. We had room number 3020. For the last four nights of our week, I asked again about that upgrade but now it was $350 extra per night, so we took it. In the day, it would have been outstanding, but again everything was original though slightly nicer than the other room. This villa, 2047 was a stand alone building with two bedrooms, big living/dining area and nice size private pool in the 'yard'. Housekeeping was efficient for the week. Visited the 'castle' building - thought it had a weird vibe - didn't see any other humans. anywhere. Did visit their rooftop bar before dinner at the Wok one evening - that was nice. Food for an all inclusive wasn't bad and we especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet and watching the black birds steal Splenda packets from the tables - crack for birds, I guess! Staff were all very friendly - please learn a little Spanish if you go, they really appreciate the effort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia,PA

The location is beautiful

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Architecture and location.
Cons: Food quality.
Location: Nice golf course nearby. Also, public beach from the castle side - take a walk and enjoy the view.
Overall we had tons of fun and enjoyed it a lot. Would I go back? probably yes, but only for the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Top Notch

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: I love the overall layout- no matter where you are you always have a gorgeous view and perhaps most important is that you never feel crowded.
Cons: I would encourage anyone who goes to know some basic phrases in Spanish as this is a spanish speaking country.
Location: We didn't leave the grounds on the trip but we did a cave expedition on the first trip and had a blast!
This was our second time staying at Sanctuary and it has confirmed to us that there will never be a need to go anywhere else. The grounds and buildings are immaculate (and even more gorgeous after recent reno), the staff is so friendly and accommodating, and the food is spectacular (something I was warned about with all inclusive is that the food may be sub par, absolutely not the case at Sanctuary). There are lots of activities throughout the day or if you would rather relax pools all over to choose from and of course the beach! There are so many exceptional people on the staff I suggest to keep an eye out for- Margarita is a darling and works at the pool & beach, Juan & Carlos tend bar at the main pool, Santos is a bellhop who went out of his way to return a sweater to me that was accidentally left behind at the Steakhouse, & Raul is a manager who's customer service is unmatched! I see many more trips to Sanctuary in the our future!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

People and Food at Sanctuary are Second to None

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Food and the people
Cons: Rooms need upgrading - had 3 rooms and each had different pieces of furniture missing.
Location: S-cape park is a must do! Golf is fabulous. Beach was awesome.
Management was changed and the resort reopened Dec 15, 2014. We arrived on the 20th fro 2 weeks; 7 family members took three rooms. We have visited the DR 7 times and stayed at 5 different resorts. First at Sanctuary. From porters, to servers to maid service personnel this resort ranks the highest we have ever experienced in the DR. The food was excellent. Only 4 restaurants and the buffet was rarely open for dinner but the food was top notch. Many thanks to Santos (porter), Carlos, Eddie. Larry, (servers) Canon & Rebecca (hostesses) Max (Mgr), Alexander (front desk). Lucy (maid)
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Not a 5 star hotel. Book elsewhere not worth the $

Posted Jan 3, 2015
The staff, service and food do not come close to 5 star expectations. Half the staff barely spoke English and I had to call 2 to 3 times for any service. The food was extremely low quality. They did not have fresh fruit juices and everything was over cooked. I normally don't leave reviews but I am WARNING anyone who considers this hotel to please book ELSEWHERE!!! I have traveled all over the world and have had 5 star treatment and would rate this place barely as a 2 star. If they weren't charging 5 star prices I wouldn't leave a bad review, because I would not be overpaying for poor service and food. Only positives are a beautiful location and hotel. Other then that don't do the all inclusive package and eat somewhere else. My boyfriend and I ended up leaving every night exploring other resorts and eating at other restaurants. Please save your money and do not book here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester, New York

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We had a good experience in the resort, the food, the services, and the room are generally great! However, the gym facility needs to be updated badly! It looks old, out of the service and lack of structure in the gym. That's the main concern. Otherwise, it will be much highly recommend hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Have old room and bad condition

Posted Dec 26, 2014
The old room and seem to have started to reform and didn't fisnish. No light in the room, remote controls without battery, the sanitary bowl with problems, the air conditioning does not work good and the terrace without lights.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Still needs renovation

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Let me start by saying that the property is beautiful. The beach and pools are great. Juanillo Beach is also a short 5 minute walk away and it's breathtaking. The service, overall, was very good. The staff was very friendly and eager to assist. We also befriended lots of nice people from all over the world while staying there. The bad...the room badly needs renovating. We stayed in an oceanfront jr suite. I'm sure the room was nice several years ago but it badly needs renovating. They had just finished a renovation before we arrived but it didn't include the rooms we were in. The lampshades had a thick layer of dust on them. The tub faucet and drain were not functional. There were no batteries in the remote. Our mini fridge was never restocked despite 3 requests by me. I'm not sure how well the shower floor was cleaned so I wore my flip flops in there whenever I showered. There was also no hot water for 2 days. In addition, the cushions on the couch smelled pretty bad. Also, the quality of the food left a bit to be desired. The filet I got at the steakhouse the first night was good and the Japanese restaurant was pretty good but that's about it. It would really be a nice 4 star resort if they would renovate all the rooms but lots of little things were wrong and they all really added up. We did complain about the condition of our room and were offered a villa but it was basically just more space. It didn't have an ocean view and didn't have wifi available.