Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful Resort and Relaxing Vacation

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The staff was really kind and worked hard to make us have a wonderful experience.
Cons: The food
Location: We really enjoyed visiting the blue hole--a bit overpriced for what it is but workth it.
We had a couple of issues upon arrival with our room but management addressed these immediately. Afterwards, everything went smoothly and we really enjoyed our stay. August is rainy season and we were lucky we had beautiful weather. The only problem was that the rain brings seaweed and the beach in the area was full of it. It was a small price to pay for getting good weather. The food in the hotel is not incredible, but better than other all inclusive places. Overall, the place is secluded, beautiful and very relaxing. There are activities during the day but it is not too loud or disturbing if you do not want to partake. We drove to other hotels to see how they were and we were lucky we stayed at the Sanctuary. The other hotels had hundreds of people, partying, loud music, and they all shared a beach and there wasn't much privacy. It depends what type of vacation you are looking for. This hotel is recommended for a quieter vacation and more secluded. Go elsewhere if you want a spring break-like environment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice villas

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The staff at the restaurants and the pools.
Cons: Room service and house keeping needs major improvement.
Location: Blue lagoon.
Food was good quality and the restaurant staff was excellent. Very pleasing to deal with and extremely helpful. Room service was non existent. Put in a call for coffee and mini bar refill.....never came and the vacation is over. House keeping could improve vastly. Restaurant staff was one extreme, very helpful but forget room service. Absolutely no response. Beach was not usable. Excessive seaweeds issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

very close to the beach.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
it's a beautiful resort. the room service and house keeping needs improvement. the hotel staff is very friendly. overall my family enjoyed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan

A great getaway.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The pool, with beach entry and swim-up bar is magnificent. Very clean. Enough lounge chair at all times; no need to reserve them with a towel.
We booked a hotel and flight package and upgraded to the all-inclusive feature. It was a good value for the money. The quality of food and drink was excellent. Tasty meals and plenty of choices. Nice specialty restaurants to choose from. The Japanese teppanyaki is highly recommended. Staff is very friendly; they did everything to make you feel right at home.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The hotel has pretty grounds and never was crowded.
Cons: Rooms
Location: Juanillo Beach is walking distance and worth the trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beautiful place!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The resort was beautiful, clean, and very well kept. The few things that bothered me were that housekeeping seemed to come rather late in the day, and fresh bath towels were brought at a later time from when housekeeping was there. Also, the mini fridge in our room didn't seem to be working properly. We made 2 calls and someone did come look at it and got it working, but not well. Honestly, I think our room just needed a new fridge because it did not stay very cold. All in all, we had a wonderful and relaxing honeymoon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Over Rated

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Cons: Rooms and the food
Location: There is nothing near by.
The food quality was terrible. Other than breakfast the food was very bad. None of the restaurants served any decent food. The Staff was very nice. If you got the all inclusive you could stay drunk and not care about anything. Way over priced for the services like the spa ( More expensive than major spas in Los Angeles).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet getaway

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I just got back from our summer break from punta Cana. I was concerned with kids 5 & 7 but hotel and hotel staff was really good. Kids had a great time in pool and private beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great pools and beach close.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The food was great.
I enjoyed the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The pools were nice. I loved the food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Beautiful resort...but beauty is not enough!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The physical hotel is beautiful.
Cons: There needs to be more attention to detail. Sanctuary looks like a 5 star resorts, but lacks the 5 star customer experience.
Location: In a secluded area. Paid $$ to take a cab to the casino.
The Good: The Sanctuary is a very nice resort. The pools were clean, the grounds/gardens were kept nicely and the beach area was fine. There’s plenty activity at the main pool area and there’s also a swim up bar which is a nice feature. The food was acceptable and my favorite dish was the seafood paella served at the Blue Marlin. The best part of the trip were the workers who made our vacation enjoyable. Shout outs to: Menor, David, Margarita, Julio, Elio and Santos...there are others but cant remember all the names. The workers were always smiling and doing their best to make sure we were enjoying our visit. The Bad: I was very upset that the Sanctuary did not have my room available when I arrived. I was celebrating my birthday and was looking forward to starting my vacation at this location and was completely taken aback when I was told I did not have a room. This should have never happened!!! The hotel affiliated with Sanctuary, ALSOL was very nice, but ALSOL was not where I paid my money to stay. Although the managers tried their best to accommodate the mishap, overlooking my reservation left a very bad taste in my mouth for the rest of my birthday trip. I hope that Sanctuary works out their kinks. If they do…they can be a very successful destination for tourist….there is great potential there!