Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds..but rooms are not.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The grounds was beautiful. The foods was good. The staff was very nice. The rooms that we stayed at we very dated. Handles was falling off...no hot water...and AC was not working. Rooms are not clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Orlando, FL

Nice resort. Great beach. Great staff. Food good.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Food a bit.
Location: Perfect
We loved it and would do it again. The overall condition of the place was good, it could get some minor improvements but it was still great. The location is perfect, beach right there, quiet, and secure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rodney from M

Excellente

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Wow! Everything was great about The Sanctuary. We are definitely going back to this location. The people and property were great!
3 out of 5
by Jim from Chicago

Nice Grounds but Disappointed

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The pool and beach were superb including the beach chairs. No reservations were needed at any of the restaurants and they were 95% full at the hotel.
Cons: Customer service from the staff was lacking. The swim up bar would be staffed by 6 people but only two people would make drinks. Lines lines lines.
Our initial room had a few broken items like the bottle opener, tv remote, and a hole in the wall in the bathroom. We called and complained but they were 95% full so we could not change rooms even though I offered to pay more, odd right? There is at least 5% of the rooms available and I will pay more for one. The next day the hotel manager moved us into a better condition room and we felt satisfied. Except for about 6 people the service was lackluster. Instead of "how can I help you?" It was more "what do you want?" A few other guests along with us felt that the guests in the suites and the villas got the better tables at the restaurants. If you don't care about service the grounds were great, the drinks were strong for all inclusive, and ask to stay in the castle. It's not far away, 2 minute walk, and it's much nicer and newer then the rest of the resort.
3 out of 5
by Booz

Next to the beach

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Staff doesn't have a service attitude. It was all included the food was great and drinks are just Ok. But the service is not good over all I'll give it 3.5 out of 5. Better to visit other hotels or country's.
2 out of 5
by Middle age MD from VA

Beautiful environment-poor hygiene & terrible food

Posted Apr 7, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rob from chicago

Sanctuary cap cana

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Went here with the wife and we couldn't have been happier. Place is great, gorgeous, food rocks! I recommend this place to all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Boston

Very Relaxing, beautiful Hotel!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Room, view and food quality
Cons: General Maintennace
Location: Not a lot nearby and cab's were expensive. Free shuttle to nearby casino was great
The hotel was beautiful and the food was excellent. This is the place to go is you want (or need) to relax surrounded by beautiful water and views. Not a lot of night life but if you want to relax, the place to go. We had a Beachfront, private pool suite in the Castle. Definately worth the extra. Free shuttle to nearby casino if you want to get out! Would come back. Definately not a place for children as there is nothing but the pool to keep them occupied.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a lot of work

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Dirty facility, very poor food quality, very limited food choices, snobby servers, very inconsistent housekeeping(always having to call for towels and wash cloths), rusty bathroom fixtures, very poor if nonexistent internet service, poor inconsistent restock of minibar. No beach so to speak of( very rocky). Entire beach filled with beach chairs, very crowded. All fixtures and woodwork in need of replacement. Pros: Well manicured property, very scenic, beautiful stone work throughout the property. Upgraded to junior ocean suite (per other reviews, most people are upgraded). The view was spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Hotel was beautiful and the swim out castle room was great! Service was just okay and could be improved.