Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paula from North Carolina

Nice Hotel - Tranquil Environment

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Lush tropical foliage and Spanish colonial architecture was a step back in time. Add the modern conveniences and you have the best of both worlds.
Cons: Room showed some signs of wear/tear that could be addressed; i.e. cracks in wall or a bent lampshade, but it did not diminish overall attractiveness.
Location: Stayed on the resort. Took no off-site excursions. Several water activities available onsite. Daily newsletter provided details for nightly activities
Chose this hotel for 30th wedding anniversary vacation although we had never been to Dominican Republic before. Returned home a week ago after a 5-day stay (Sat-Wed). 85 degrees (F) every day, but still a little cool for the private pool at our room. Public pools were very nice; only slightly crowded by mid-afternoon. The main beach area was clean and family-oriented. The two "public" beaches on the property perimeter were more secluded. On Sunday the music was a little loud for the traditional beach party, but not unbearable. Internet service is free in room, but you need an Internet cable (provided), which means you need a laptop. Noticed lots of people visiting the lobby for the free wifi there. It was a little slow for anything more than checking email (32/15KB down/up). Skype voice calls were okay. Hotel offered a billable WiFi service, but was not eager to risk it if it wasn't any better. With that said, we were there to relax and call the kids once a day...not surf the web. Hotel staff was very eager to please and prompt in addressing any concerns. One of the sliding doors in our room did not lock; maintenance responded quickly and corrected the problem. Robes were not in the room as advertised; housekeeping came straight away to deliver a set for us. Every desk clerk, hostess, server, and staff carried themselves with a pleasant disposition, greeting us regularly with a warm smile and gentle "Hola!" All these things made for a stress-free vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Dallas, TX

Amazing resort!!!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
This resort was absolutely amazing! We stayed in one of the monarch Oceanside villas! It was true perfection. Definitely spend the extra if you can for that- it's worth it!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only caution I have is this resort advertises as minimum age 18. That's not the case- there are kids and lots of them. However, it definitely didn't hurt our trip & most of the time they stick to one area. We will definitely be coming back & staying here next year!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, amazing staff, fun activities

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: grounds, room, staff, activities
We can truly say that everything was more beautiful than in the pictures. We loved our room which was an junior suite ocean view. Although didn't stay in the room much. This was by far one of the most beautiful places we have ever been to. However, what made our stay super enjoyable was the people and the choice of activities. I can only lay at the pool or beach having drinks and doing nothing else for about a day and then get bored. Therefore, all the activities offered were a plus for me. We participated in the stretching session, aqua aerobics, volleyball, Zumba, volleyball and bocci. Keyla, Ramon and Menor made sure to keep us very engaged in these activities. They are a lot of fun and super friendly. They always smiles on their faces! The guys at the pool bar were also great. Julio, Carlos, Juana, Margarita,etc. Everyone at the bar was always happy to serve you and were always fun to talk to and joke around with. They would sing and sometimes even dance while working which shows that they enjoy what they do. Other very friendly staff around the pool area were Carlos P., Juan Miguel (ice cream), Edward. Carlos P and Juan Miguel were a lot of fun to be around and made sure you didn't run out of drinks and that you didn't forget to stop by for ice cream. Overall, we enjoyed our stay not only because the place is a beautiful paradise but mainly because of the super friendly and caring staff that made sure we were always taken care of and were having the best time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from USA/Canada

Amazing X's 10!!!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Honeymoon Bliss. Simply spectacular in every way. Wish my Spanish was a bit better. Can get by with English though. Stayed in the Honeymoon suite in the "castle". Amazing. Private, sexy and perfect. Tip the maid and she" ll treat you like a king. Only small complaint was the temperature of our private pool. Minor detail, but who cares- we had our own private pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ramon and Angie from Indiana

Excellent resort!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
We were there 4/6 to 4/12/14 and had the best all inclusive vacation ever! The suites are beautiful, the service excellent, and the food incredible! We never had any waiting! The beach and pools are nice but we preferred our bed on the beach! If you want to relax and have a peaceful vacation this is the place to go! If you like crowds, loudness, and partying this resort is not for you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds..but rooms are not.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The grounds was beautiful. The foods was good. The staff was very nice. The rooms that we stayed at we very dated. Handles was falling off...no hot water...and AC was not working. Rooms are not clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Orlando, FL

Nice resort. Great beach. Great staff. Food good.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Food a bit.
Location: Perfect
We loved it and would do it again. The overall condition of the place was good, it could get some minor improvements but it was still great. The location is perfect, beach right there, quiet, and secure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rodney from M

Excellente

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Wow! Everything was great about The Sanctuary. We are definitely going back to this location. The people and property were great!
3 out of 5
by Jim from Chicago

Nice Grounds but Disappointed

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The pool and beach were superb including the beach chairs. No reservations were needed at any of the restaurants and they were 95% full at the hotel.
Cons: Customer service from the staff was lacking. The swim up bar would be staffed by 6 people but only two people would make drinks. Lines lines lines.
Our initial room had a few broken items like the bottle opener, tv remote, and a hole in the wall in the bathroom. We called and complained but they were 95% full so we could not change rooms even though I offered to pay more, odd right? There is at least 5% of the rooms available and I will pay more for one. The next day the hotel manager moved us into a better condition room and we felt satisfied. Except for about 6 people the service was lackluster. Instead of "how can I help you?" It was more "what do you want?" A few other guests along with us felt that the guests in the suites and the villas got the better tables at the restaurants. If you don't care about service the grounds were great, the drinks were strong for all inclusive, and ask to stay in the castle. It's not far away, 2 minute walk, and it's much nicer and newer then the rest of the resort.
3 out of 5
by Booz

Next to the beach

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Staff doesn't have a service attitude. It was all included the food was great and drinks are just Ok. But the service is not good over all I'll give it 3.5 out of 5. Better to visit other hotels or country's.