Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Very relaxing place. Good service, nice beach. No night life. Food was average could have had more choices but was sufficient and was all inclusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amarillo texas

Sanctuary

Posted Jul 22, 2014
This place is probably the best place one could relax and take it easy!! It's not crowded and the personnel , food and amenities are excellent! When presidents from other countries stay there and relax that should say a lot!! Excellente!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Great resort, friendly staff, great food and service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from weslaco,texas

Disappointing

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: View, decoration, design and the staff.
Cons: Internet connection worse ever, all inclusive should be that, quality and variety of food .
Location: Location is beautiful and scape Park it's amazing.
First I am From the Dominican Republic, use to work in multiple hotels and every time that me and my family have the chance to go to DR we go to Punta Cana, and try different hotels, we have never been in Sanctuary Cap Cana before and let me tell you is a beautiful place, the staff try to really make better for you,and the rooms are very comfortable, but that's when the good thing stop. First an all included hotel does not charge for different wines, and doesn't charge more for different meats, also the steakhouse took about 1 hour and 45 minutes to prepare the meat and it was only until I when and complaint to the head waiter that they took care off us. The Beach ugliest beach I the DR , Bocachica beach is better full of algae , definitely not worthed. Food it's ok but the quality and variety not even close to what you can get in other hotels in Punta Cana , plus there is always a problem if you don't make it to the restaurant in time, other hotels in the area have always a choice for people that wake up late or can not make it to the place in time, on the other hand the minibar was never refueled until we call twice in the second night. The worst thing is the wifi, useless , expensive, we pay 60 dollars for 3 nights cause we where 4 people and 1 ticket can only be use with 3 equipments, even road hotels offer you complimentary wifi specially an "all inclusive hotel ".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly Staff Location Remoteness
Cons: Food Too expensive excursions, spa activities Beach cleanliness
Pros: Friendly Staff Location Remoteness Cons: Food Too expensive excursions, spa activities Beach cleanliness
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hialeah

Exelent staff, beautiful people!!!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Much more entertainments, every things: films, plays, library, more excursions to Dominican cities, in the end liveliness.
Cons: Sure there are some much things that could be improved.
Location: Rejuvenate the location.
The hotel per se is from 0 to 10 8 bored! The staff was very very beautiful people specially the Zip-Line's staff and waiters, every person who we contacted, very professional, very helpfulness! I would recommend the people who work there but not the installation and its activities except the swimming pool's activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Santuary place

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Quiet hotel, friendly staff. Rooms need attention (broken fixtures, damaged furniture). We had a beautiful honeymoon suite in the castle (3047). Room was very private. Room service was the worse. (Over an hour wait and cold food). They even microwaved the entire plate to make it seem fresh, how do I know? Even the lemons were hot. Entertainment staff was ok, nothing expectacular. Would not return to Punta Cana, but nothing to do with this property
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

25th Anniversary trip with family

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: I loved the views, the beautiful trees and flowers. The villas are wonderful.
Cons: Simple maintenance could be improved.
Location: Location is right on the beach. There isn't a lot to do, but we were there for the beach and relaxation.
My husband and I brought our daughters with us on this trip and I am so glad we were able to share this beautiful resort and experience with them. We picked this resort for the villas. We wanted the island feel rather than a hotel feel, our Monarch Villa was perfect. We loved the setting, the privacy, the space and the stunning view. It was exactly what we hoped for. I had lots of concerns on how we were all going to fit and sleep in this villa that only mentioned a king size bed. I couldn't tell from the pictures if there was a wall to offer some privacy or if we would all be in an open room with sofa beds. They apparently pushed the table to the side and squeezed in two twin roll a way beds as soon as you enter the villa. There is a door that goes to the next section of the villa that leads to an entry area where you can go to the huge walk in closet, the bathroom or the bedroom with the king size bed. So we did have separation and privacy. The TV is in a section of the wall between the main bedroom and living room. You can turn it to be seen from either area and you can close the side that isn't watching it so you don't see the back of the TV or look into the other room. This is also where the mini fridge is located. The bathroom is not air conditioned, it has a screen and lattice for the window in the shower and over the bathtub but no glass. The staff were very friendly, most spoke English. The beach and grounds are stunning. We loved it and would go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

This was not a great choice of a hotel!!!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing!!!!
Cons: Everything....
I chose this hotel because of the good ratings that I was able to read prior making my choice. To tell you the truth, this was a big disappointment. I've been in many resorts, and this was by far the worse resort. There is no AC in the Lobby, the room that I reserved wasn't provided at arrival, they sent us to go have lunch while they were working on making our room ready. We came back from lunch and they were still nothing ready. After they put us in our room, I realized that it wasn't what we've booked. I went and talked to the Supervisor about the issue and he told me that the room they gave us was better (or bigger) than the one we've booked. He did not even try to know a little bit more and what we wanted or needed. The point is that I wanted the Ocean View Room and we got something different, and to top this experience there was bugs and mosquitos coming from the selling and the floor. I was not thrilled about this experience at all !!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Special place great views

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Sanctuary cap cana is a beautiful resort. My boyfriend and I stayed in the castle swim up sweet and were extremely happy with the room. It is definitely worth the upgrade. The pools were amazing and drinks were delicious. We enjoyed all of the restaurants especially the steak house. The beach is small , but beautiful. There were always spots no matter when we got to the pool or beach. Make sure to go to blue marlin for lunch the view is amazingly beautiful. If you are looking for a party atmosphere or a kid friendly place, this really isint the best choice. Although there were few children there, it was mainly geared towards couples. Overall, the food, room, pool, and beach was gorgeous and one of the nicest places we have stayed in.