Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NY

could be improved

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: the beach the pool and the park
Cons: the food of course
The hotel is nice. but the food not so good need to improved- the restaurant services is not good you have to ask so many time for service it take soo long to serve you. i ask for coffe. the breakfast there is very poor not food only bread could have more variety - not like. beside the food the hotel is good I like it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice spring break with family

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: I liked the location of our building which was close to the beach and pool. The grounds were immaculate and most of the staff was friendly.
Cons: The rooms are a little dated and the mattresses are quite firm. The process to get reservations at the restaurants was too complicated.
Location: We did not leave the resort because my daughter wanted to stay in the pool all day. The water park looked nice but we did not experience that.
I was a little concerned about the resort after reading the reviews, but we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the T building on the tropical side. The room was spacious but the furniture was a little dated. Not a major concern because the room was clean and we did not spend much time in the room. Once we were at the pool, we were adjacent to the buffet, bar and restrooms, so it was nice to have everything in close proximity. The T building is close to the beach and a decent walk back to the main lobby...not a bad walk for us but more senior family members would most likely have a difficult time maneuvering through the property. The main lobby bar was quite energetic and the bar tenders were attentive and friendly. Dinner in the steakhouse was not very good. We really enjoyed the Italian restaurant which seemed to get the best reviews from other travelers. The service was horrible and it took 2 hours for our dinner to arrive. We were going with the flow and didn't make a big deal about it, but at least the food was excellent. Our concierge attendant forgot to make our reservations at the Japanese restaurant, so we missed out on that. Another assistant managed to squeeze us in but it was too late at that point. Overall, a great experience because my 4 year old daughter really enjoyed herself and that's what it was all about. Can't say that I would jump at the chance to go back unless they update the rooms. Check-in took 30 minutes and should be simplified as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great Pool/Beach - Poor Restaurants

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Pool/Beach. Italian and Mediteranean restaurants. My kids enjoyed the daily activities - especially the volleyball and archery lessons.
Cons: Restaurant situation needs to be fixed. More english speaking staff. More bars.
Location: We didnt find anything nearby - and we were warned not to wander outside the resort. Most excursions/clubs/churches etc are about 45 min away by taxi
Overall the experience was OK. The resort is an hour from the airport - one of the farthest "Punta Cana" resorts. Many staff do not speak english - so there is definitely a language barrier. We had 2 rooms: 1 did not have working air conditioning and 1 did not have a working toilet. A/C was never fixed, and the toilet took 2 days to fix (luckily we had another room!) The buffet food/experience was poor - hard to get seating, long food lines and bad food. They do have "A la carte" restaurants that have much better dinner food - but these restaurants require special reservations - and they only allow 2 per week. Getting reservations is very difficult and time consuming - and often subjects you to other "sales tactics" for time share units at the resort. It was very frustrating having to spend 30-60 minutes a day trying to get dinner reservations. I heard that some people were able to make dinner reservations before they arrived - but we didnt know about it until we checked in. The pool and beach were great. Not over crowded. Easy to find chairs. There were often lines at the bars, but not too long. We were excited about the water park, but my 4 kids found it to be fairly boring and we only spent about 2 hours there. We did not try the casino. We did have a good time because the weather was great and we spent our time at the pool/beach. But if I went back to PC, I think I would spend a little more and get a higher rated resort closer to PC.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom usa

Muy bonito y amplio.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: el parque de agua y lo bonito.
Cons: seleccionar mejor el personal del hotel.
Me encantó el hotel,superior limpio,bello entorno,buena comida,servicio de limpieza en habitaciones exelente pero existe la discriminación,falta de humanidad y la ambición es extrema,así que les recomiendo otros hoteles en punta cana con igualdad en confort y mejor personal de servicios en recepcion,bares y restaurantes(el personal del bar la pergola es de los peores).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed in our Spring break family trip.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Nicely landscaped, clean grounds and beach area.
Cons: Improve food taste, update rooms and décor
Location: Outback Safari Excursion was a great excursion.
Initial check in room for 2 junior suites, in bldg. K was in very poor condition, it was nothing as advertised on internet, bedding hard, uncomfortable, very bad smell. We had to move to 2 regular rooms that had same hard bedding, but at least did not smell, and seemed to be somewhat updated, however they refused to refund us difference in price and wouldn't even at least give us free safe in room to accommodate cheaper room. We then went to beach snack shop, as buffets were not open in afternoon, food was limited choice and fries tasted hours old, so initial impression, was what have we done, booking at this place? You must pay for wifi and can only have 1 user at a time. Food is very mediocre, however presentation was nice. Beautiful landscaped grounds and beach area, staff was friendly and good service. After room cleaned, clean towels and wash clothes were not left, so had to call and request several times. Lobby bar makes the best drinks. Outback Safari Excursion trip was wonderful, to meet the natives and experience the culture. We would not return to this hotel, due to unwillingness to work with us on price adjustments, due to poor quality of suite that we paid extra for.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

5th stay in Punta Cana

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The grounds and pools were kept very nice and the walk to anywhere on the resort wasn't bad considering the size of the resort.
Cons: More employees that understand English. Better alcohol, better beds(also queen or king not just double),more nights in reservation restaurants.
Location: There was not too much in our area but the waterpark and limited shopping.
Our biggest problem was the beds. They are extremely hard and old. We even doubled over the blankets we found in the closet and put under our sheets which helped a little. Our bathroom was not remodeled as our friends had been so metal was rusted including the ceiling and old shower fixture. We have stayed at 4 star resorts before and this one was similar to one of the others we had been at but not as good as another. We also like the resorts we have stayed at on Bavaro Beach better. Overall the public bathrooms and spaces were kept very clean. We also didn't like that we could only get in a reservation restaurant 2 nights for our 7 night stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Disgusting hotel, mis represented in every way!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Hassle changing reservations, hassle checking in, room was old and did not look even remotely close to the pictures! Shower was something I've never experienced before shooting straight out at my head and the apparatus falling out of the wall, tub wouldn't plug/broken. Sink faucet not even attached to counter. Bed harder than the ghetto tiled floors. Balcony doors missing handles on outside... Try not to get locked out. Plugs half falling out of wall and unable to use for personal hairdryer or cell phone chargers. Food, if you call it that was terrible at best. Drinks were very watered down. Customer service by the staff was aweful, felt like we were intruders stead if guests! Have stayed at two other resorts on the island and over 20 other on other islands this was by far THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montbrison

Bon sejour

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Personnel, nourriture et service agreable. Tres bon hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Never coming back again!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The food & drinks at the resort were terrible. The room looked like a cheap motel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything was great except for the rooms

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Pool was great, hotel grounds well kept, beach was nice, food was good and service at the restaurants and bars was wonderful!
Cons: The rooms need to be completely renovated and then maintained properly. When there is a problem with a room it needs to be fixed in a timely manner.
The hotel grounds were kept immaculately, beach was great, food was good, very nice large pool, the only problem that we had were the rooms. They are old and not very well maintained. I have never written a review before but decided that I would appreciate it if someone would let us know what to expect. We really are not complainers but we were quite disappointed with the rooms and time we wasted trying to find a comfortable one. The first room we had the tub did not drain and there was only 2twin beds, we wanted 1queen or king (we are married and still like each other!lol). They moved us to another room with 2 twin beds (We were told the one side of the resort only has twin beds). This room had big mosquitos ALL over the room on the ceiling-there was a nest on the balcony, that is where they were coming from. We asked 3 times for that to be taken care of and it was finally done 2days later right before we were being moved to another room!! Then 3rd room was an ocean view suite. The view was wonderful, but that tub drained even worse than the first one!!! It also smelled like someone spilled perfume somewhere so the entire room had a noxious odour. The maintenance of all of the rooms was poor and they just shuffled us around. Ironically we shared a shuttle with a couple on the way back to the airport that said the exact same thing!! If it weren't for the rooms being so poor, this resort was actually very good and the waterpark was great!.