Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

high quality units, quiet and relaxing setting.

Posted Feb 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
I must say this was a great hotel experience. The facilities were top-notch; the hotel staff was friendly and helpful; and there is a decent bar on-site. - all of this within a one minute walk to one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. This is not an all-inclusive resort, which may be a turn off to some. It definitely caters to those who like to buy groceries and cook in the large room kitchens. If this isn't you, don't be discouraged. We found it easy to get food at the restaurants and cafes in the neighborhood. For example, there is a beach-front restaurant a short 3 minute walk away with some tasty and inexpensive lobster. The noise was totally non-existent. The quiet environment made it easy to enjoy our vacation. Only downside I recall - the wifi. The signal was non-existent on the room and weak on the balcony. Once we could connect, we experienced slow load times. Given that we were trying to get away, this wasn't so disappointing, but I know it may a deal-breaker for some. Overall, loved this place. Definitely would recommend staying here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for me...

Posted Jan 28, 2012
Pros: the breakfast
Cons: the bedding and lack of upkeep
Location: on the beach
When I first walked in to the office to sign in, it felt like I was in a car rental office. It was dingy. one desk with a computer and one guy behind it. very disappointing. We have a family of seven with 4 luggages. The security guard and the guy behind the desk brought our bags to our room. We didn't have that luxury when we left. We called and waited but nobody got our bags. I guess its not that type of hotel... They put us on the second floor. no elevator. walk up. we had a stroller and a baby. not easy. The grounds are nice. white buildings, clean pool. clean rooms. We had a 3 bedroom suite. Huge balcony overlooking the ocean. Full kitchen. We were not impressed with the furnishings. the sliding door lock was broken. The front desk guy came up and told us there was nothing he can do. I was afraid for my family's safety and he didn't have another room. So, we put down the hurricane shades. It solved the problem but the wind against them made a scary whistling sound all night. The bedding was very shabby. The toilet paper holder broke in my hand. The pillows were rock hard. After very little sleep, I awoke to a dog barking non-stop. The breakfast @ the hut by the pool was surprisingly good. The waitress was so sweet. We spent 1 night. I would not return to this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Great Value

Posted Dec 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
Rooms: large and comfortable... big enough for two couples (although we were there on our own for our 20th anniversary) Pool: nice enough with plenty of seating; kept very clean Bar/Restaurant: good food, although limited hours (they close at 5pm); the staff speak little English, but did try very hard to please Beach: well situated, but not cleaned of kelp regularly; the swimming area is small, but there are plenty of other beaches nearby Security: very good; there are guards posted at each entrance, and the beach itself felt very safe; we walked a good half hour up the beach at night to Jellyfish Restaurant, and never felt unsafe (each resort has its own armed guard on the beach) Local Food: good; there are two beach bar/restaurants 50 yards away; at the neighboring resort there is an EXCELLENT Thai place hidden amongst the palms (ask a local how to get there); we heard there was a nice Italian place in the same hidden place, but did not go; in town there is a Belgian restaurant which was ok; the sportsbar was good fun Transportation: we did not rent a car, but moved around the area by local bus (ask at the front desk)... $1 takes you to Bavaro in one direction (nightclubs, shopping, limited restaurants) or Palma Real in the other (upscale mall, Hard Rock Cafe); many people seem to use scooter "cabbies" but we did not try this Overall: for a quiet vacation, we would definately go again; we had been at an all-inclusive earlier in the summer with the kids, and with them it was the better option; there is a large and really friendly Canadian following at Stanza Mare, who come down for 5 months over the winter (ask them for the local secrets!)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

Would not return.

Posted Nov 15, 2011
Room was very rundown, cieling leaking, granite coming away from wall, not fully equiped with cooking or dishes inkitchen
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great for quick walk to beach and swimming pool!

Posted Aug 8, 2011
Although not an all inclusive spot, this hotel was good for its proximity to the beach, a nice swimming pool, very friendly and helpful staff. Free Wifi was provided by the hotel along with Tv channels in Spanish, English and the Italian channel. The room was set up condominium style (refrigerator provided, microwave, ironing board, 2 bathrooms, oven, sink and nice pool side view. However, having an all inclusive option with more ammenities on board would have been nice. Very comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Lakeewood, NJ

Great Off Season Vacation

Posted Jul 29, 2011
The Stanza Mare is a great place to vacation in the off season (July). My grown daughter and I planned a spur of the moment girl"s vacation just to relax and soak up the sun. It was wonderful.. Most days we were the only ones on the beach. The security guard met us each day at the bech with a big smile and wave, and would take our lounge chairs and snack table to the water's edge. Lots of water activity, tour boats leaving all day long, providing lots of interesting viewing. The water was beautiful crystal clear and warm. Spent lots of time just relaxing in the water. Restaurants on the beach nearby were fantastic. The penne pasta with seafood in vodka sauce was the best we've ever had. A great private family resort. Well maintained, lush landscaping, beautiful pool and great outdoor restaurant baar/grill. The apartment was nicely appointed, tile floors and lovely tiled bathrooms. Kitchen fully furnished to cook meals and eat in. We had a great time! The only thing one must know before planning a trip to Punta Cana is that Spanish is the native language, so if you do not speak the language, you will have a difficult time! I would definitely reccommend Stanza Mare rather than an all inclusive, as they were really crowded, the beaches were extremely small because of all the lounge chairs stacked row after row and side by side. Try this resort, I would stay here again if I decide to revisit! 2 girls from New Jersey