Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great place to escape the snow!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Beautiful landscaping, huge beach, and plenty of activities to participate in, if you'd rather not just lay in a cabana all day and soak in the sun!
Cons: Room service wasn't great and the room we had was a little musty.
Location: We never left the resort as there was plenty to do there but heard that
We planned this vacation as a birthday gift and couldn't have know our area would have record breaking snow storms in the weeks leading up to it. Perhaps that's why we loved our time at this resort so much - or maybe it is really as welcoming and fun as we experienced it to be! We enjoyed the food, the various pools, the kids zone, the beach, and the evening activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

If you like a large facility, this is for you.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Food good, staff very friendly, beach nice.
Cons: Get small frig out of kitchen cabinet, makes so much heat with no where to go, can't keep anything above room temperature. Unless you like warm beer.
Location: N/A
Prefer smaller facility, must catch golf cart ride to get around or spend all time walking. nice place for kids, couples or groups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Good resort. Good food options. beware of the friendly breakfast with resort sales rep to sell timeshare. Waste of 2 hrs. Otherwise satisfied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lyndhurst, NJ

Beautiful, Relaxing, BUT STAFF NEEDS TRAINING

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Cons: Upon checking in I was asked for a credit card to place on file. They charged the card $500 without permission as a "hold". BEWARE NOT REQUIRED!
Overall experience was pleasant and relaxing. The hotel is big so be prepared to walk although they have frequent shuttles to take you from place to place. The walk from the reserve to the beach is about 10 min. Breakfast/Lunch buffet is decent at the reserve. The main hotel breakfast/lunch was horrible. Many different restaurants to pick from for dinner, our concierge at the reserve booked all reservations for us. His name was Ezequiel and he was awesome! Drink service by the pool at the reserve was great too! It was my fiances bday and the day we checked in they had our room decorated and gave her a cake, very nice! We had issues with checking in and booking a car to/from the airport. At check in I was asked for a credit card which is standard. They charged my card $500 without permission as a "hold". I went back the next day to have it removed and found that the staff had a bit of an attitude about it. It clearly states that your credit card doesn't need to be charged before you check out. My fiance booked a car through the hotel to take us to/from the airport. Pick up was easy. However we tried to confirm our ride home multiple times throughout the week and no one had a clue as to our reservation. We didn't have clear confirmation until the morning we left and this was after speaking with multiple people including Silvo Lantigua the manager who was very rude and argumentative. He promised private transportation to the airport but instead threw us in a cab
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Terrific hotel, everything is perfect apart staff quality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bolton, ON, Canada

Great hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Clean and quiet
Location: Not applicable.
Great hotel for R & R. Nice to walk along the beach without being hastled by vendors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: We ate at the Vento and La Palapya twice and they were fantastic
Cons: The only minor complaint was I wish that they would communicate better as to the entertainment in the resort.
Location: Location was fabulous.
We were two couples who stayed at The Reserve for 5 nights in January and we had a fabulous time. Everything was top shelf from the food to the facilities and the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

January getaway

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The staff, the rooms, the pools, the beach and the overall operation which made it easy to drink, eat, lounge around and be entertained.
Cons: The casino -- filled with nasty dealers who never cracked a smile, while groundskeepers, bartenders, maids and everyone else was a delight.
Location: Golf at Cocotel was "free" but the cart and club rental totaled $110. Too steep.
We stayed at the Reserve at Paradisus, where there was plenty of staff to minister to your every need. Drinks by the pool, drinks on the beach, and bars in every corner of the property, which is meticulously maintained. The buffets offer something for everyone, and the restaurants (which are tough to get reservations for at the exact time you prefer) were a mixed bag, ranging from mediocre to good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excelente facilities best The Beach

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Staff very helpful always accomodating our request. Defenetly will stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Best Time!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Peace and quiet, very clean and friendly people
Cons: The food needs to be improved and better specialty restaurants. All the food taste the same
Location: Not much to do in immediate area, did not look so safe
A very personal touch, you feel that you are their number one priority. Get the concierge package if you can, well worth the money for reserve spot on beach and at pool. All inclusive meals....ok(that's all I can say) they have a beautiful presentation but the food is just ok. Rooms are very clean, staff very friendly If you like to drink, you will love this resort they keep the drinks coming. Resort is very big but, the shuttle takes you everywhere around resort and they run often. Separate area for kids, I was with my adult children and barely noticed that there was small children there. Ask for Mindy, great concierge on check in she made dinner reservations for us. She also checked in on us throughout our stay. Don't use the transportation service "BLUE" that expedia is recommends. They are horrible, confusion at airport, late pick us up to fly back home. I had to get a cab to make the flight on time ( expedia did reimbursed me the cost).Better to take cab to and from airport about $35US dollars.