Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Wonderful Time!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Me and my 4 daughters and 1 yr grandson had a very good time at this resort. There were many pools to choose from and the beach was close by. Food was good and a nice variety each day at the buffet. The restaurants required a reservation. We liked having the option of taking the shuttle to the lobby as it was a little distance away. Walkin the resort shows pretty landscape throught and beautiful trees. Staff was awesome. The rooms were outdated and had one tv in the 2 bedroom family suite. Live shows each nite.Overall we would go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach! Friendly staff!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Our room had air condition issue as at first but they fixed it on second day. Beds not comfortable and got bitten up on my feet in bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Of the many hotels, this I liked most

Posted Oct 4, 2014
I have stayed at 4 different hotels in the past month while visiting Punta Cana. This hotel was the best overall for food, room quality, facilities, hotel staff, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Tolerable for 4 days

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Private pay restaurants, beach, staff was very nice
Cons: Room service, update rooms, improved food
Location: great location to airport to keep the price down in transportation, excursions were excellent
Got "upgraded" according to the staff but personally I think it was a downgrade. We never received towels even when we asked for towels. Everything in the room was always wet. The vent in the bathroom constantly dripped and it was located over the toilet so you got a shower while going to the bathroom. The shower never got warm water. The room was outdated and the bed was on wheels. The bathroom was missing tiles and the "mini fridge" was a 1'X1' rusty fridge that was never got filled even when asked. We got water and soda the last day we were there. The food at the buffet was edible but not recommended. Spend the $11 extra dollars/pp and eat at the private restaurants or the Brazilian restaurant that's included in the stay. The excursions were excellent but the transportation was poor. You have to leave about 2 hours prior to the excursion because you have to pick up other passengers at multiple other resorts making it almost a full day affair when you're only expecting a 2-4 hour excursion. It was manageable for a 4 day vacation but any longer and it would have been difficult to tolerate between the lack of room accommodations and food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

Bad tour to this hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
I driver by myself from Santo Domingo to the hotel, use Google search the hotel name, go there, go to the wrong place, Because of the real name should be caribe......I use one more hour to find the hotel, during this time, I call hotel, their English So Bad, can not give me Any useful suggestion, with the help of few driver, I arrive! hotel room is clean, but real not King bed, balcony, all ,just normal room, with Bad smell! Food is normal,drink is OK, beach not clean, a lot black plant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel overall. Few major room for improvement

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: I liked they had a train to take you back to the lobby so you didn't have to walk. I loved the drinks...they were really tasty. The staff is fantastic
Cons: The resort only gives you one towel per person per day. I fought them on this to the point where I kept getting discounted services.
Overall, loved the hotel and staff. They were beyond friendly and accommodating. Beautiful views, gorgeous everything. The rooms were old but clean but we were only there to sleep so didn't need 5 star accommodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ventura cabrera

Horrible

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Not was that i reseve, the service not was good, the hotel tha they put me was other than i think. Was a bad experience. I cant eat in the reataurant
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Princess Hotels Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Jose, Thank you for taking the opportunity to express your feedback about your stay at the Tropical Princess, we appreciated it. We deeply regret that you couldn’t enjoy to the fullest and we hope you understand that it was never our intention to disappoint you in anyway; we assure you that we will be taking your feedback into consideration as we believe that there is always room for improvement. Overall, we apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay and again thank you for expressing your comments. Sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice for the price

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: scenery
Cons: more security locks on doors. more air-conditioning the only air you got was in your room, better food,softer beds
Location: right on a beautiful beach and excursion to Samoa island and other pick you up from the lobby
Hotel Lobby is nice, however once i checked in I HATED my room! It was old and run down with a horrible smell! I couldn't bare staying in that room for a week. I immediately called the front desk and requested a room change and that i would like a more modern updated room. Manager gave me NO problem i was upgraded to a 2 bedroom family room and it was beautiful! Clean with no odor. I did have few problems with housekeeping and receiving face cloths i had to call and request them it took 2 days to get them and then after that never got clean ones. Security and house keeping did bust into my room a few times once in the middle of the night while i was in bed with a whole family with them. NOT COOL! The rooms aren't very secure there is no second lock (chain lock or hatch) We also were on the 1st floor with a balcony with a door in bedroom that led to the balcony which also didn't have a secure lock. Didn't feel very safe. The restaurants besides the main buffet and the 1 near the beach all required reservations and some had additional fees. The food was VERY mediocre was not impressed at all. The bartenders at the swim up bar we great! Most staff was friendly for the most part. The Royal reps trying to sell time shares were very annoying being that they stood right outside my room and i had to pass them daily. Resort over all was pretty and the beach is beautiful. Overall I would return considering the price just remember you get what you pay for!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niles IL

disappointing vacation

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: friendly stuff
Cons: need total renovation, painting and another things which every other hotel have with 3-4 stars
Location: location is on the beach so we didn't go out because we didn't go to look for another things
From arrival time to hotel problem started: first room assigned was 8x9 ft, without balcony with small window only and door (locked) I guess going to another, bigger room.I went to lobby asking for normal room with balcony and after some talks they did give me another one. This was normal size room with balcony , so after move we went to dinner. When we got back we found that AC is not working! It was late night and we were tired so we decided to turn on all the fans and went to sleep. Tomorrow morning I went again to lobby and cust. service give me another room in different building (it seems to me that they did now about AC problem but were waiting for my reaction) Now this room was OK. All I can say vacation started wrong way so I can't be happy about that! Food was OK, plenty of and variety in El Higuejo so we didn't go to another restorants. Stuff is very friendly and helpfull to some instance- as much as they can understand English. Few negative things: WI-FI is working strictly in lobby, no coffee maker in the room, no iron in the room so advice is take everything wrinkle free, and there is fee for safe, taking money ahead for whole stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Princess Hotels Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, We deeply appreciate the opportunity you took to express your opinions about the experience you had while at Tropical Princess and we assure you that we will be taking your feedback into consideration as we believe that there is always room for improvement. We appreciate the compliments towards our hotel and food; it is always good to learn that our clients were able to enjoy their vacations. In reference to the room, we truly regret about the conditions you encountered, however if this had been brought to our attention, we guarantee that this is something we would have solved within moments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and be able to provide you the most unforgettable vacations at our hotel. Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Princess Hotels Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, We deeply appreciate the opportunity you took to express your opinions about the experience you had while at Tropical Princess and we assure you that we will be taking your feedback into consideration as we believe that there is always room for improvement. We appreciate the compliments towards our hotel and food; it is always good to learn that our clients were able to enjoy their vacations. In reference to the room, we truly regret about the conditions you encountered, however if this had been brought to our attention, we guarantee that this is something we would have solved within moments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and be able to provide you the most unforgettable vacations at our hotel. Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colon

Very Very Nice.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Very nice and Beautiful. My experience was good very good. Hotles was nice and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Princess Hotels Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Zandra, Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about your stay here at Tropical Princess, we appreciated. It was very satisfying to know that you enjoyed all our services and that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort. Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa