Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Rooms could have been a little nicer.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Had broken cabinets, missing shower door, broken bed frame. Staff was wonderful throughout which made the experience great! Everything was very clean inside rooms, bathrooms, and outside!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Cons: It almost felt like you were at a time share. Always being hit up to go see other properties and listen to presentation. We just wanted to relax.
Resort was nice and clean. Grounds were beautiful. Food was good. Service excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I had to call maintenance for multiple problems inside the hotel. First, we did not have hot water the first night; second, the refrigerator stopped working; third, the room was too hot; fourth, the light bulb was out. The last problem that I did not call for repair was the door knobs for the patio and the bathroom door were broken. The hotel needs a major renovation. The TV was old, the room was hot. We liked our housekeeping lady. She kept our room cleaned and maintained with water, soda drinks, shampoo, and soap. I just did not like that we were limited with towels to four. My overall review for the room is very poor. The facility is clean. The workers were always cleaning, maintaining the yard, the pool, etc. One down fall is that it was hard to communicate with the staff because of their inability to speak English. The food was great and it was a good idea to have international theme per night. The food servers were wonderful, the bar tenders were friendly. The have no complain about the beach. It was great, but the beach towels need to be replaced. The materials are old. One suggestion, location to exchange and get towels should be on all swimming pools. Our last day, we requested from the bell man to pick us up with the tram and we waited for 35 minutes, despite calling and reminded them. He even stated " I'll be over". We had 4 heavy luggage's, bag packs and it was hot. They never showed up, so my husband was very upset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Hotel on the beach. Best staff EVER!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Staff, Entertainment by pool and beach was good. Was a perfect size, not too big. You could walk to everything in a couple minutes.
Cons: Food. The food they had was good but some of the time it was slim pick'ins
Location: The resort is located near the center of town. We walked off the resort a couple of times to the casino, shopping and to have a drink at local bar.
We stay at what I would call a value hotel. We stayed for 2 week for about $1200 including airfare and transportation. So for the money we paid I would go back every year! The highlight of the vacation was the Tropical Princess's Amazing staff. We go to Dominican Republic at least twice a year and I have never met people more friendly, accommodating, and over the top helpful! Especially Junior ( a waiter at the buffet) What ever their doing at that resort they need to keep it up!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Not going back

Posted Jul 1, 2014
The lobby was a amazing..rooms not so much..beds were not comfy and the decor and tv was outdated. My tv constantly decided to no longer work and it took forever for staff to fix. Buffet was not good. All pork and dark meat and I don't eat either. .i was expecting Dominican food and there was not a lot of that. Room keys constantly malfunctioned.staff was friendly and helpful during dinner. Beach was beautiful minus the people trying to sell you something every 5 minutes. If you are looking for a weekend or week of relaxation don't come here..If you don't mind being bothered then this is the place for you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Have stayed there for 1 week. There are two hotels in one - caribe club princess and tropical princess. For an extra charge you can switch a room in tropical princess for a room in caribe club, which has a way better conditions!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Definitely the beach! Gardens and pools where ok.
Cons: A lot. More cleaning staff, more rules for wearing clothes on pool.
Location: If you like the beach, you are ok. If you are looking for good food or drinks, then look somewhere else.
Basic room, awful pillows, had to wait for bath towels, had to wait for beach towels, rude dinning room employees. Air conditioner not working properly stayed at 76; technician came and said it was repaired but it wasn't. Glassware everywhere as cleaning staff was nowhere to be found. Food ok for a cheap restaurant, but not for resort. A lot of local tourists made our stay even worse: people inside the pool wearing underwear, shorts, and even bras; children and parents screaming everywhere, men with more food than a plate can hold, often ending in the trash. A real nightmare. Consider spending a little more or ask about locals going on your same dates.
3 out of 5
by Sabrina from New Haven

All-Inclusive Downgrade

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Great transport around the large property. Plenty of seating on the beach.
Cons: Room amenities.
Location: Casino, 10 minutes away. Golfing, 5 minutes away. Shopping 15 minutes away.
I have traveled extensively in the Caribbean. I prefer an all-inclusive hotel because I had a wonderful first time experience 20 years ago in the Bahamas. From there I've ventured to Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Curacao and St. Martin just to name a few. Being a fan of Dominican food and culture I was sorely disappointed by the food buffet. Tasteless and dry is the only way to describe it. On the other hand, the people here are the warmest I've ever encountered. I loved the spirit and kindness of the Dominican and Haitian descent staff working on site. My room was on the first floor which gave me perfect access to the pools that were only steps away. The grade of alcoholic beverages were quite stellar. The on site stores also have enough of a variety of gifts that I did not feel the need to venture (I did however at the behest of one steward). I will definitely be coming back to DR but will have to find somewhere else to stay. Lovely island and lovely people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2014
This hotel has great amenities. Rooms are cleaned everyday with housekeepers that are friendly and efficient. Meals server at the Buffet is delicious and fresh. The overall staff of this resort welcomes you everyday and provide you with exceptional service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Fort Lauderdale

Pretty much what we expected for the price we paid

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Staff was amazing!! Food was okay, the Brazillian restaurant was far better than the other. The water did cut off while I was showing once but the cold turned back on quickly. Normally this would have been frustrating but it was really hot. Room ac isn't adjustable and we were pretty warm at night. But seriously, you get what you pay for. There is a bar every time you turn around. We were disappointed to learn there was no where to snorkel on site.