Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Great location!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
I enjoyed this resort, more quaint than some of the others in the area. I was looking for a quiet getaway and this was it. It's great for couples and families, I went with my sister for some r&r. There is a buffet that is decent and we tried the Mexican and Gourmet restaurants. The veggies and seafood are the way to go, can't say much for the chicken or steaks. The drinks were all super awesome and I worked my way through most of the drink menu. The room was clean and nice, the beds are very hard though. We couldn't get the ac to get the room below 76 degrees, but it wasn't unpleasant. It was dark and quiet at night after 10pm which I enjoyed. They do a good job keeping you stocked with bottles of water in the room. The water pressure was nice in the shower. I loved being able to see the ocean from my room. No issues getting a beach chair and the activities on the beach are fun. The pools seemed fine, I didn't bother as I had the ocean. In addition to the resort activities, there are people in the lobby everyday so you can sign up for excursions. We took the free shuttle to the mall which was fun. The free wifi is very hit or miss and I didnt pay for the premium so I'm not sure if it's better. Mostly I enjoyed being off the grid for a few days. Overall it was a great and affordable trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, wonderful place to relax

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: View from the room balcony, many bars to choose from, free wifi at theatre area, the beach was nice to swim at, very little weeds or sharp rocks etc.
Cons: More music variety, more benches to sit on along paths, less pressure by staff to purchase excursions, massages, etc.
Location: Quick drive to airport, lots of security at front gate and beach front. Did not leave resort during our stay. No further comment.
Beautiful beach, Cool lighting effects at night, upbeat entertainment staff, gorgeous landscape, nice layout, easy to navigate, peacocks, ducks, lizards and other creatures to spot and photograph.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago,IL

First International Vacation

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: It was very beautiful and very clean. Staff was very nice and professional.
Cons: Can't think of anything at the moment
Location: The resort should offer water sports/activities
It was wonderful! The weather was nice even though it was Winter. The food and the drinks were good. It is very clear how hard the staff work. LOVED IT!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

OLD HOTEL THAT NEEDS TO BE UPDATED

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: food, beds and dingy bathrooms
Location: the location was ok
The hotel was old, room especially bathroom was dingy! The food was aweful and the only meal worth eating was breakfast. The beds are extremely uncomfortable with those old hard, flat mattresses. I think that the price we paid of $190/night was a total rip-off. This old hotel should be priced at no more than $50/night!! I knew it 20 years ago as "Carabela" at which time was a great hotel. I wouldn't recommended to anyone!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort worth, TEXAS

Spring break vacation

Posted Mar 14, 2015
The resort is gorgeous and big. It was really a last minute trip and that was the cheapest therefore for their great price it was a beautiful resort. The staff were all friendly for the most part. The only thing we didn't like much was the food. The Mexican restaurant is far from actually tasting like mexican food. Overall, it was a good trip. The entertainment is funny.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great vacation.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Great stay at Vista Sol. Our room was right next to the beach with a view. The beach was a little windy but beautiful. Pools all relatively clean. The food is what you pay for- buffet was average and the a la carte restaurants were much better. Staff is not unfriendly but speaks very little English. Would definitely recommend the Golden Club rooms, the beach was nicer with more towels and a private bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kamloops, BC, CA

Friendliest Barkeep

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: The employees, the beach, the Italian and Gourmet a la cartes have the greatest menus.
Cons: Rooms need updating, music in cafeteria and at the smaller pool is terrible American muzak and should be Dominican music.
Location: Great location on Bavaro beach with lots of interesting excursions to take. Yanigua Spa/Los Haitises was an incredible experience.
I have now stayed at this resort twice; last November for 2 weeks and end of Feb this year for 2 weeks. Many of the staff remembered me and gave me great service, especially Doris from the bar by the small pool. She is an incredible employee; always friendly, wanting to help you with improving your Spanish, keeping you hydrated in the hot sun, interested in who you are, and so on and so on. Because of Doris and employees like her, I would definitely return to this resort again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

10 days of sun

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Food, cleanliness
Cons: Italian restaurant was horrible.
Location: Palma Real shopping mall
Excellent, comfortable hotel....Anny at the front desk was EXCELLENT as was Doris at the pool bar!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Hotel was ok they need improvement in services.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Cons: Better costumer services, better food and, a smile in their faces
Location: the location is great, and there are many thing to do. excursions, zip line, safari ect.....
I traveled many times, this was the first time I went to a hotel where I had to request a room change. there was a water leak in the bathroom which took two days and several complaints before it was done. I was sent to a room, as I opened the door it was an occupied room. I called the desk, all they said to me was "SORRY" and issued an other room. I was very upset at that because, I left the U.S. for relaxation not to be aggravated. their food was horrible. I hate to say I had the bathroom runs for two days after eating dinner in one of their restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing beach

Posted Mar 8, 2015
My husband and I just returned from the Dominican and we stayed at Vista Sol. I was nervous due to some of the reviews. The grounds are beautiful and extremely clean. The beds were honestly the hardest I've ever slept on and the shower water is very cold. We spoke to other people staying and they had the same exact complaints. The food was okay... Not a very big selection. If you want to eat at the restaurants then you better be in line by 8:45 Am everyday to get your reservation, otherwise you will be stuck eating at the buffet. Another downfall is that none of the workers spoke an ounce of English. They were all friendly though! Also, the wifi is horrible. There is one free spot in the theater but don't expect it to work. If you are looking for a cheap get away then this is for you.