Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom milford ohio

Maybe 2 1/2 stars

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Update the rooms. Better food
Location: It is located in the middle of the beach, so you could walk pretty far
Roof in bathroom leaked day before we left. No other rooms avaible. We had to just live with it for one more night. Very dated..... Bad food. But very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Posted Feb 24, 2015
The Vista Sol is a great and idyllic resort. The garden that surrounds it is beautiful and very well maintained and even has some peacocks and ducks for the children to look at. Despite many reviews, we liked the food and food variety a lot. We only stayed away from salad, raw tomatoes, and of course tab water, and did not get sick. I even had the ice in most of my drinks. The staff at the reception could be friendlier, but impressed how many languages are spoken in all at the hotel which definitely outnumbered Americans when we went this February. There was always entertainment. The beach was wonderful, just, if you are not in the VIP section (9000 building blocks), you had to come early and get your chair or pay the staff a few dollars to reserve it for you. While everyone seemed a bit serious, all staff tried to accommodate our needs and was very helpful. Watch out for walks on the beach- Bavaro has quite a few sales people who don't give up very easily, but prices are nice and negotiable. There are three other restaurants- we tried the Caribbean one and loved it. We did not make reservations (forgot) and nevertheless have been welcomed to come in. Aside from these three restaurants the staff does not necessarily serve you. You must ask. We would come back at any time and can recommend it to anyone but maybe business folks- it's not modern enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice. Close to beach

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Night shows have to be better in order to attract tourists to stay at night and consume in the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Feb 22, 2015
We all had a wonderful time.the grounds are beautiful and the beach is gorgeous.the good was good and plentiful.the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.the only complaint I have was the shows at night.they were the worst I have ever seen.please do something to improve the quality of the shows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama, USA

Beautiful beach good beach side accommodations

Posted Feb 19, 2015
I think that the food was a bit disappointing all of the red meats were tough and chewy, the presentation was excellent however. The employees were wonderful and very caring and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kokomo, Indiana

Beautiful beach . . . but . . .

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Beach area and pools both have clean, warm water. Sun or shade spots available. Be sure to reserve your beach chairs early in the day.
Cons: A few more staff / entertainment employees that spoke and understand English.
Location: Eco Park was a wonderful outing - offers many activities for the entire family. 30 minutes from hotel. Shops down the beach were enjoyable.
Take the "don't drink the water" seriously . . . but don't drink the coconut milk, or enjoy the fresh fruits or vegetables either. A week of staying near the bathroom lessened my enjoyment considerably. As many other reviews indicated a very few staff had any skills in English communication at all - which made things much more difficult than we had imagined. The room condition was OK - there was definately a musty smell to the closed rooms, but it is in the tropics, so probably to be expected. The staff did a nice job cleaning and I felt safe at the resort. The guests were 90% non-American - which is a nice experience for a while, but again the language barrier made things difficult. We were pleased with the buffet choices, but finicky eaters would not have so many options. The upside . . . the beach and pools are beautiful as well as wonderful weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orlando, fl

Great staff, great fun, and good food

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Great getaway for fun, fun & sun, sun. Staff was very willing, great value for the cost
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Quiet and nice, very close to the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: It was nice and quiet, not crowded, not too many families with young children. Beach is clean, territory is taken care of, they also have nice birds,
Cons: Staff at the reception area was not very friendly, stuff at the restaurant does not speak or understand English, room was not cleaned well
Location: Few souvenir stores
We had a good experience there. I liked the beach, also they have several international TV channels. Internet (for $10 a day) worked very good. There was a scale in the room, the food selection was not very good, so the management takes good care of guests not getting extra pounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Clean, attractive, well managed
Cons: More baked items on the buffet, less greasy food. Pace the serving of food in the specialty restaurants when there's no need to rush.
Location: Easy to reach via direct flight from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
Overall a good experience, except that all nine of us had gastrointestinal distress related to the food. We were grateful for the generous supply of bottled water provided. Travelers should be advised to bring insect repellent as mosquitoes are common this time of year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
No shampoo. No kleenex in room. Bathroom had ceiling leak.