Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Good bargain if you're not expecting much

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The room was minimal, at best, and we even paid for an upgrade. The pools were nice, the ocean was beautiful, and the food was descent. The staff was NOT accomodating in the least. Overall, you get what you pay for. The experience was fine for the money....just dont expect much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

LOVEEEDDDDD the staff!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Great hotel, we will go back! Only downfall was that no one really speaks English and the beds were uncomfortable... But other than that 5 Stars!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Curacao

Realxin'

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: the cleanness of the room & the friendly staff
Cons: Variety on the food
Location: we did not much neer by so I cannot tell. Ondething is for sure, the new road makes a big difference
From the arrival up to departure was good. WHen we arrived thee was coral who welcomed us. Eventhough it was a liitle bit busy, the staff did not losetheir cool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Terrible

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We showed up and were sent away because the hotel was "overbooked." We did NOT get to stay at the hotel we PAID for and did NOT get reimbursed. The employees didn't care that the trip we planned for was now ruined. Beware.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

bad servicie in coustomer service

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Is close to the beach
Cons: training the personal in customer service
Location: the location is nice
the first day in the hotel the air conditioner in the room no working for 2 day I call several time to customer service and they do noting the food was horrible the only good food you has to pay for that in overall very bad customer service they do care about the guest
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocean County, NJ

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The bungalows were nice and the room air-conditioning was cold
Cons: More dinner options would be nice. They say they have many restaurants but they only ones available seemed to be the ones you had to pay extra for.
The rooms were nice and relatively clean but I found that the other facilities were somewhat lacking. There were kayaks but they had no seats so they were pretty uncomfortable to use. The buffet had the same food everyday and it got pretty tiresome. There are other restaurants on site but for some reason we could not make any reservation since they said that they were booked up for the week. Not many people spoke English and I didn't find the staff overly friendly. Most wouldn't even look at you or smile in passing. Also, you had to be very careful about not drinking the water. We signed up for snorkeling and were told we would go to a wreck. We didn't . We went to a protected area and then were taken to a beach where we could snorkel but mostly so we could buy things from the people who were set up there. Four people in our group signed up for a fishing trip but they were only given 2 fishing poles and first had to catch their own bait.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from va

Nice hotel. Food not so great.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
People were great. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. But the food wasn't so good. Everything tasted the same at the Buffett. Couldn't get reservations at the other restaurants. If the food was better I would have given better review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from new youk

very nice views and out side activity, walking.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: the view the beach, the party.
Cons: the food was too bland, and reservations were needed early or you could not get one at the best restaurants.
Location: there was a wonderful fishing town which dated to 1669. It was a nice way to spend the day and the people were friendly and security was very good.
the staff were awesome. I got there and found my wallet had been stolen and my luagage was lost. the transportation waited for 2 hours while I did my claim, he made sure I was able to connect to my charge cards, and took me to get information on the closest place to the hotel for my credit card to send me a money gram. They were very supportive at a very stressful time which allowed me to relax and enjoy my vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylavania

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: People! The staff are awesome and the whole place is a big party and yet they have great quiet areas.
Cons: Updating their facilities such as TV channels, more choices in bars for the room and selection of food.....they tend to cater to Europeans.
Location: Just a gem! while everyone goes to Punta Cana, La Romana is a gem that's not well known!
This is our second time in 6 months and we are pleased with the stay at Wyndham. Staff are great, pleasant and we look forward in going back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, USA

Lovely stay at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Resort has Paddle Boarding, Wind Surfing, Kayaking, Catamaran Sailing, Boogy Boards, Archery, Trapeze as part of its All Inclusive offerings.
Cons: I would recommend visitors to bring their own snorkling gear. The resort sells them at the resort, but I don't think they lend out any.
Location: We booked a nice tour to Soana Island through an outside vendor, but not much else to do nearby. If purchasing Larimar stones, BARGAIN and COMPARE $
We had stayed between 6/11-18/2014 in a garden bungalow which was only a few feet away from the beach. The room was clean and perfectly situated since it was close to the beach and the main buffet and bar of the Dominicus Beach Resort. The bungalows are duplex style and share a wall with the other unit. The walls are a bit thin, so voices and noise can carry between the units. The only other downside of the bungalow was the loud music that can be heard starting 10am from the pool area/show arena/club and into the evening until midnight. The resort caters to many lively and young Europeans (20-40 years age group) which can be fun, but not as peaceful for other vacationers looking for a more peaceful stay. We liked the location of our bungalow so we did not ask for another room. The drinks were generous with the alcohol and the food satisfactory. It was nice to have 3 restaurant reservation options which we took advantage of for variety. The resort had a lot of bees flying around, especially near the soda fountains. I was stung by a bee while reclining on the beach. For those with bee allergies, this should be a concern and cause to bring any medications for bee allergies. There is free WIFI on the resort, but only in the main lobby area.