Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stacey from Michigan

Beautiul beach and grounds

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: We loved the beaches!!
Cons: Hotel and staff service.
Location: It was a nice drive to get to the hotel. Loved the area and thought it was clean.
The beach is amazing although very crowded and the grounds were nice and well kept. The rooms were nice and spacious but the air conditioner broke down twice. The rooms were clean for the most part but one day they left us no towels. The refrigerator was never replenished of pop that we drank and they only gave 2 bottles of water daily. They had a note on them that if you wanted more you would have to buy it from the gift shop. Most all-inclusive resorts supply and replenish pop and water whenever you use them, but not this resort which I thought was strange being all-inclusive. You could get purified water at any bar though. The food was pretty good and we loved the pizzeria. there was a large variety of food at the buffets. The bars could have used more staff because it took 10 minutes to get a drink sometimes. Be sure to bring your own large cups because the drink cups are very small, The pools were great and the entertainment was fun. They don't offer any snorkel equipment (which most all inclusives do) and there is a reef not far off the shore so be sure to bring your own or you can buy some outside the resort. We did most of our shopping outside the resort because it was cheaper and you can talk them down. It was safe just outside the resort but the locals are a little obnoxious trying to sell you their stuff. Overall we had a great time and we hated to leave. We would love to go back someday because it was relaxing and beautiful. Loved the beaches!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elias from USA, Maryland

VERY NICE Resort-IGNORE Negative Reviews -Enjoy

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: I loved everything about this hotel, affordable, nice staff,good food, and lots of activities. We want to go back and take the whole family.
Cons: There is nothing I could think about to improve this resort. We had a great time and we didn't want to leave.
Location: We went on a Demonicus Bus excursion, it was very nice, it was 1/2 day which was perfect for us, because we wanted to spend more time on the beach.
The Viva Wyndham experience was EXCELLENT. I read lots of reviews prior to our trip and I was scared and I thought this resort would be really bad. Many of the reviews I read said the staff was rude and other things about the room cleanliness. Let me tell you something, I could not validate any of these negative reviews, so if you booked a trip to this resort go and enjoy you are going to have lots of fun The staff at the Viva Wyndham was EXCELLENT, I did not meet any rude person, so that tells me something about the people who "Claimed" the staff was rude, perhaps they were rude to staff and the got the same treatment. I do admit that some of the reviews said it was hard to communicate, however we managed to do fine the staff spoke little English and they really go out of there way to get you involved in the various activities, they work really hard all day/night to please their guests. Food was wonderful at the buffet, a lot of food and many choices, so you will find something you will like. Highly recommend Viva Cafe, great place and good food. Their buffet food/presentation is way var much better than what you get in the USA. It is also true that this resort is mostly for Italians, French and European but honestly we LOVED that, it provided us an opportunity to experience these cultures. We also meet some Americans. Bottom line, IGNORE the negative review
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jodie

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel was located nicely, had very nice views and the rooms were clean
Cons: There isn't a lot of English spoken -hard to know what is going on or asking questions
Location: You can walk around the town, the beach, go on excursions and they do have activities on the resort. Need better communication on those activities
We had a very nice time at the resort. The scenery and weather were beautiful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oversold

Posted Mar 26, 2014
We were supposed to stay at the palace from 3/20-3/25, but never had a chance. They were oversold and moved us to another property. It was close to midnight and was a end to a very long day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Room 4 us

Posted Mar 26, 2014
We arrived excited 2 start our week vacation and the front desk could not even smile or say hello and then they told me they were sold out that there was an overbooking problem so we were sent to a different hotel. Enough said.
2 out of 5
by EL from Canada

Poor Service and Not for English Speakers

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Great beaches, stiff drinks
Cons: Service - it was so inconsistent and spotty. The staff behind the main desk were very rude, and did not speak English.
Location: Close to Saona Island which is lovely.
Firstly, the Viva Dominicus Palace and Beach are the same resort, you can freely go through both sites throughout your stay. Secondly, in my opinion this resort is not for North American's, there are very few people who speak any English, and it becomes very frustrating trying to get anything accomplished. Food - the food was okay. La Yuca was consistently poor (egg shells in eggs), but La Terraza and the pizzeria were consistently great. Went to 3 a la carte restaurants (max allowed), would recommend La Roca (as well their lunch buffet), but NOT Bambu. The pizzeria was by the far the best food on the resort. Service - the staff were not helpful. I read that previously and thought maybe people were being critical, no the staff were rude to English speakers. We called several times to arrange transport between the airport and hotel, sent emails, were given a price, and it did not show up. Upon arrival, we found out they blamed us even though we had communicated several times. Also we booked a jr suite that gave us use of the room safe for free but demanded we pay the fee despite us signing papers stating it was free. Checkout itself was a nightmare - only one person behind the counter the entire morning, and would serve others out of line. The only people who were good were the bartenders and maids. The beaches were great, lots of chairs, palms trees and activities for all. Overall, I did not trust the service anywhere - people were always trying to scam you
1 out of 5
by Denis from Canada

Don't waste you money here!

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Booked this hotel on December 28, 2013 through Expedia to travel on March 7, 2014. When we arrived at the resort they advised us that they had over booked and needed to move our entire group over to another hotel. That is not what we had paid for. We knew nothing about the hotel that we were going to and when being driven over there we asked the driver about it and he advised that it was not a nice resort at all compared to where we were supposed to be staying. Medfly to say we are not impressed and will never book through Expedia again. This happened to several others as well. Good for business, I think not. Sticking with Punta Cana side from now on if this is how they wish to promote the LaRomana side of the island.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE!

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: There is nothing to do around the area. The beach is very nice.
So we got to the hotel and they told us it was overbooked? The staff member (Carlos) told us that the hotel they would take us to had the same amount of pools, restaurants, ect. However, we get there and it is nothing like the resort we were supposed to stay at. It ended being a fine hotel that we stayed at, but we, like most Expedia vacationers spent hours looking at hotels that fit our needs and we were VERY upset with the service at the Viva. Furthermore, the staff member that took us to the other hotel told us we would get a free 5 night stay again at the Viva at any Viva in the world for up to a year. We spent over five hours of our vacation trying to get the certificate for the free stay. We called multiple times, had the front desk at our new hotel call, and we heard nothing. We finally had to have our shuttle service to the airport stop back at the Viva and talk to the guest services. Then another hour went by and we finally got out certificate, however, it is only for the Viva in Dominican Republic, and we really do not go back there. Multiple people we met at our new hotel had the same problem. The folder with the certificates was a few inches thick, so they do this a lot. HORRIBLE Service, and it makes me not ever want to go back there. So, know that we ended up staying at the Catalonia and it was very nice. Except, no one speaks English and the food was not so good. The drinks were very very good and the beach was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from oklahoma city, oklahoma

Beautiful beaches and location.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
The viva was more than we expected. The room was clean and comfortable, the beach had plenty of shade if needed and lots of complementary sports. The food was plentiful and there was always something you could find. The reservation restaurant rants were fabulous. As was the pizza restaurant. The servers were super friendly and couldn't do enough for you! Alexander in the pizza restaurant was by far the best server ever. As was Daniel at Atlantis restaurant. The bellhops Arnold and geraldo were very helpful and friendly. We were pleasantly surprised with all the hotel had to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from Fort Lee, NJ

Winter Getaway

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Love the energy of night show dancers. Great night entertainment . Could not stop dancing, drinking or eating.
Cons: Quality of drink mixers. Don't advertise free WIFI when you have to pay for it . Unable to make local free phone calls.Fix road from Highway to resort
Location: Take a trip to Isla Saona, Isla Catalina, La Romana or Santo Domingo.
Resort is located on a beautiful Landscape. The views to the ocean are amazing. Crystal blue waters on white sand, surrounded by palm trees and tropical exotic vegetation makes one feel like one is in Paradise. Plenty of activities and food . This is a fun place to vacation.