Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Steps from the beach

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: I loved the location, the food and the service.
Cons: The TV sounded like sparks were going to fly out when turned on & the only area for WiFi was by the front desk...for you ppl who can't disconnect :)
Location: Beach, parasailing, bars walking distance. You'll need cabs to get around for shopping/clubs.
Whala! was a great hotel to stay in. I went with my siblings for New Year's Eve and we had a blast! The staff members are all energetic and helpful. You will hear and see them singing and dancing to salsa and bachata. I recommend that you book your excursions separately because the hotel prices are more expensive than online offers and other hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by La Linda from Chicago

Location Location Location

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of Whala is it's saving grace. It's perfectly position near the beach...though not water front it is pretty darn close. It's also near some of my favorite restaurants in Bavaró and a major bus route so there's always somewhere else to go. My husband and I love that area and will likely do Whala again because it was affordable and covered the basics.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEED A REFUND.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: NOTHING.
Cons: EVERYTHING.
Location: OVER PRICE.
OFF AND ON IN OUR ROOM, NO WATER, ELECTRIC, ON TV AND NO CLEAR TO WATCH, CHARGE FOR THE SAFE, IT SHOULD BEEN FREE AND THE KEY GOT JAM OFF AND ON, ALL WAYS LOUD STAFF IN DINNING AREA SINGING. NOT FREINDLY. SINK IN THE ROOM NEVER GOT FIX. WATER LEAK ON THE SECOND FLOOR IN TWO PLACES ON THE FLOOR WE HAD TO WALK END IN THE MORNING TO GET DOWN STAIRS, THAT NEVER GOT FIX AND IT SMELL LIKE MOLD. YOU GET IT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel very close to the beach

Posted Apr 19, 2014
The hotel is very close to the beach & many restaurants
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Shockmp

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I will come back.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Good service. Nice beachand Nice stAff.I will come back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misrepresented on website!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
If you're looking for a resort with all the bells and whistles, this is not it. But If you're looking for a cultural experience you might enjoy this place. This resort is at the end of a street in a little town. It looks at first like it might not be a safe area, but it is. You can walk down the street to a cafe and small shopping area. There is also a small bar and pizza place and a small supermarket. You can use American money, but your change will be in pesos. You have to walk down the street to get to the beach too.....about 1 minute. The website makes it look like a small, quiet but well kept resort. One of the buildings is VERY nice, one is so so and the third is not great.....is smells of sewage. The food is the exact same for every lunch and dinner. There are some really good side dishes, but the meat is awful. The coffee is like sludge. There are no coffee makers in the rooms either. The breakfasts are good though. We found out that they are closing in May 2014 to remodel the entire resort....they're hoping to be a 4 star. The beach area is VERY small and not so clean. The staff is very friendly, but one of the guests had a plugged toilet and it never got fixed. This places has it's pros and cons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cesar a from new jersey

excellent

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: very comfortable
Cons: just try to correct drinking water who knows a little salt might shower water
Location: very safe
a wonderful experience with people who do feel tourists as part of the family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathie from Mission, BC Canada

Great deal

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The staff! The make the place.
Cons: A little more English speaking staff would have been a bonus for us as well as a few plainer food items for those really picky people like my husband
Location: Beach! 1/2 block away, restaurants close by (all though this is an all inclusive) corner market, public transit close by. Plenty of tour companies
Just came back and hated to leave. Staff were awesome Julio the greatest as was the front reception and our maid Claris was a sweetheart. Two beautiful pools, hotel is half a block from the beach. The entire staff are musically talented and keep you entertained with their singing and little dance steps. Food was good and Desserts! Magnificent. They are expanding and opening a little store which will be a big benefit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beefy from Tampa, FL

Get your monies worth

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Just came back and had a great time with family and friends. Hotel was about what I expected for what we paid. Renovations are going on and it looks like when those are finished this will be a 5 star resort. But as of right now it's about a 3. The buffet food was good. Only thing that let me down was fruit and a la carte restaurant. There were more older guests at the resort which makes it a good place to go if you aren't looking for a part scene and a lot of drunk people. Pasqual was an excellent bartender/worker who brought a lot of energy and excitement to the vacation