Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alan D from Falmouth, ME

A Truly Unfortunate Stay

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
My recent one night stay was a comedy of errors. At first blush, a lovely resort in a beautiful part of Punta Cana. All that follows actually happened: when I checked in I was informed that the restaurant was not open and I would need to take a taxi to a different hotel for any food (even for a cup of coffee in the morning). And trust me when I say this part of Cap Cana is pretty deserted. Once in my room, the toilet wasn't working,and I went to call for repair but the phone had no connecting cord so I had to walk the hundred yards back to the desk to report it. The repairman told me that he couldn't fix it until the morning (he never came prior to my checking out). I tried in vain to change rooms, apparently none available. To add insult to injury, I had no hot water for a shower in the morning, not even warm. Also no internet in the rooms. Lastly, when leaving my second floor room in a heavy rain, a guest walked out of his first floor room to summon the bellman because he had an inch of water flooding the floors throughout his room. I did inform the very nice concierge, who politely offered only that he hopes my next stay will be better. There won't be one; I have never had a worse hotel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruslan from Moscow, Russia

Ok

Posted Mar 29, 2013
Pros: It is all new and modern.
Cons: It is far from civilization.
Location: Cap Cana needs at least 15 years more to become a resort area.
The Hotel is nice, but Cap Cana area has no life, everything is far, the project seems to be dead. This hotel is ok only if you like to play golf, otherwise you should look for other option. The property is new, rooms are nice and big.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avce le vide dans l'hotel , d'apres moi ils vont f

Posted Mar 18, 2013
L'hotel etait occuper a probablement 1% , nous etions 12 dans un complexe de probablement 200 personnes , l'hotel etait vide , personnel 4 personne au total , probleme avec carte de chambre du jour 1 au depart tres deplaisant , ces un tres bel hotel , mais a l'abandon
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kate

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels
excellent and clean rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing

Posted Jun 27, 2012
Pros: We had an entire apartment with three bathrooms, three porches, and an outside personal jucuzzi.
Cons: The restaurant was expensive.
Location: Perfect and more
This place was beautiful and far beyond what we expected. Super good deal. Not so much for the partying kind but more so for one seeking peace and quite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Crystal from Maryland

Golden Bear Lodge

Posted May 28, 2012
Pros: The services of the staff was excellent.
Cons: The menu selection of the restaurant is limited and average. This type of hotel should have a more experience chef.
Location: The hotel is located in a private, secluded and intimate area; this was what we were looking for in a vacation...peace and quite.
The Golden Bear Lodge in Cap Cana is a wonderful & comfortable hotel. The location of the hotel is away from the popular & loud hotel zone; Cap Cana is located south of the airport. If you are looking for peace & quite, this is the place to go. Cap Cana is a private area. Golden Bear is not on the beach; golf resort. You will take the hotel shuttle to get to Juanillo Beach (5 minutes) which is beautiful and relaxing. You will need to take a shuttle to get to the marina and the other hotels and restaurants within the complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ricky from Puerto Rico

Nice property but not for every one.

Posted Feb 29, 2012
The Golden Bear Lodge is a nice hotel for a long or short stay. A little quiet for those looking for night life. The facilities are well kept and the employees are very professional. The only two things that need improvement are the bathrooms. The shower drainage is pretty much clogged. I have seen that in different rooms at the hotel ( have stayed at the GBL three times already), therefore I am positive that all rooms have the same problem. Breakfast is good but they do not keep up with the food. I was told that the kitchen is subcontracted to another company. Besides that the Golden Bear is a nice property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bourbonnais, IL

Pleasant stay at the Golden Bear Lodge in Cap Cana

Posted Feb 28, 2012 on Hotels
My wife and I just returned from a very pleasant week long stay in February, 2012, at the Golden Bear Lodge in Cap Cana. Our unit was very spacious, clean, and exceptionally well decorated. Even though our reservation indicated that breakfast was not included, we were informed at check-in that a buffet breakfast was included in the room rate. The staff was eager to please. On several occasions when the shuttle running among various locations at Cap Cana was running slowly, the staff volunteered to take us by golf cart to the golf course and the beach club. Nearby Punta Espada Golf Club is exceptional in every respect. We also used the nearby beautiful Caleton Beach Club where for a small daily fee you can enjoy the picturesque beach with chaise lounges, towels, fruit punch, and a daily skewer with fresh fruit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joseph from Miami, FL, USA

Quiet, secluded, can't beat the price.

Posted Jan 27, 2012
Pros: Breakfast, free Internet, staff was SUPER helpful!!!!
Cons: Very few people, which actually is a good thing.
Location: Remote hotel with view of ocean (not walking distance), no shopping or attractions nearby. Go here for sun & relax & quiet time.
Hotel is located in master-planned community that has all but stopped development. My hotel stay was in January 2011. Very few guests present. Breakfast was included (surprise!) Infinity edge pool overlooks closed golf course. Ocean view in the distance. Can't walk to beach. Breakfast had cooked to order selections, in very nice setting overlooking pool, golf course with ocean views; breakfast included in price. Dinner was good too, not included in room rate. Beers were cold! Free transport within Cap Cana resort (to beach club, golf, etc.) Very quiet hotel, don't expect crowds. Room was very large, huge balcony with table and chairs. Buildings have 3 floors two to four units per floor. Has elevator. Ground floor units are larger and have mini-plunge pool. Mini-kitchen with fridge in my room (mini-suite, the cheapest room). Bathroom huge, with shower, Jacuzzi tub, separate toilet area. Room had microwave, coffee pot, coffee, tea 1.5 L two bottles of water included, two burner stove, cable TV with US & local stations, FREE wired internet in room and FREE wireless in lobby. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, or to go to after golf, this is the place. But don't expect to see huge crowds, at least not at this hotel. No disco or dancing. Don't think spa was working. For the price, you can't complain.