Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excelente opción!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: las instalaciones, ubicación y servicio
Cons: ampliar los horarios del restaurante, cuando llegue no podía comer porque estaba fuera de horario.
Location: hay actividades incluidas en el paquete pero no vi gente asistiendo, no hay servicio de bebidas en la playa
el servicio en general estuvo muy bueno, el hotel se esmera por complacerte, ubicación excelente
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Nice place

Posted Mar 11, 2015
All including is a very good deal because is convenient
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Ricardo Rodriguez Gil, Hotel Management
Dear bunny: Thank you very much for your nice comments, we are happy to know that we exceed your expectations. We are hoping to having you here in a near future. Best regards, Ricardo Rodriguez Gil General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

hotel agradable de lunes en la tarde a jueves

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: el restaurant de mariscos y el latinoamericano.
Cons: que no dejen entrar tanta gente los fines de semana, creo que son tiempos compartidos
Location: los paseos que ofrece el hotel son buenos
los alimentos no son muy buenos, las personas que atienden ahí están de mal carácter(en los alimentos), los meseros siempre bien los restaurantes especiales como el de mariscos es muy bueno, en el latinoamericano nos atendió Luis y eso fue lo mejor, con sus sugerencias y el buen trato. la playa esta bien, la alberca se ensucia muy rápido, las bebidas son buenas, no hay meseros en la alberca, te tienes que parar tu por tus bebidas y botanas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Best vacations!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The food was delicious. I took a day at the SPA and loved it. Hammocks were my afternoon relaxation.
Cons: Free wifi in the rooms. The bed was stiff, although I do like a hard bed I was expecting something softer.
Location: There is a guy by the pier; he sells tours. I highly recommend you see him. I did four tours with them and enjoyed each and every single one of them.
Wow! Where do I begin? I had a great time at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Whenever I had a problem they took care of it in a very fast pace manner. Without a doubt I plan on returning here the next time I am in Costa Rica. I was able to eat at the two restaurants they have. I highly recommend them. The service and quality was exquisite. The food at the buffet was delicious as well. I stayed there seven nights and did not get bored with the food. You do have to be open to trying different and not common dishes. I had a blast during the nights. They have nightly entertainment for children and adults. I have never laughed so much. The majority of the show was in Spanish. The good thing is that I very fluent in Spanish. In fact if I lived in Costa Rica I would go there just to see the shows. My favorite was the fire show. If you have time I would recommend buying a tour from the guy at the pier. The volcano tour was spectacular. My only disappointment was the interior of the room. Having stayed in other DoubleTree facilities I have a certain expectation. The wall had a big crack, which the hotel decided to cover with a stick. The bed was stiff, however it does not bother me yet it was unexpected. From what I heard it depends on which building you are located you will get the quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
It's a nice place to stay. If you are an English speaker the guy who talks during the show has a terrible pronunciation!!! Good that I speak Spanish!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Ricardo Rodriguez Gil, Hotel Management
Receive a warm greeting. We would like to thank you for your feedback, we are working with the entertainment department to improve the pronunciation of our staff. We are looking forward to having you here in a near future. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Binghamton, NY

A good value for the cost.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The pier was beautiful, especially at sunset. The bar staff/support staff were very nice.
Cons: The towel service was a little annoying. I wish clean towels were available at anytime. The buffet food was so-so. Pools with tree debris.
Location: Nothing to see in Puntarenas. Get prices from the travel agency across street and the guy by the pier. DO ALL THE EXCURSIONS POSSIBLE-NO REGRETS.
We were unsure initially of the hotel quality. The buffet and snack bar were "eeehhh". Breakfast was the best meal at the buffet, followed by lunch, and then dinner. (the rice and beans were always good) The "special dinner" was much more enjoyable. To make the most of your time in Costa Rica I would recommend going across the street and booking a few excursions at a local travel agency. We had the most fun on our day trips. The food on the day trips was the best food we had in Costa Rica. Puntarenas is known as a dirty city and there is not a lot to explore in that city. That's why I'd recommend taking the day trips. Canopy aka zip line is amazing, probably some of the best in the world. We saw wild Tucans and monkeys in the trees. We did a day trip to the volcano that was awesome and also a trip to Tortuga island which was great. The beach at the double-tree is dark sand and the water is not clear like the Caribbean. I think that is fairly typical of most beaches in Costa Rica. The oceans are good for surfing and boogie boarding. The beach at Tortuga was white sand and clear water. There was a friendly wild pig on the beach that cozied up in the sand and wanted the people to scratch his belly. There were wild parrots and peacocks at Tortuga. Overall this hotel is adequate and a good value for the price. Costa Rica is overall very safe, EVERYWHERE takes U.S. dollars, and there are a lot of English speaking people. Nice Staff. Incredible experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Red Deer, AB

"Good" stay over-all

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: The staff make this place worth coming to.
Cons: The cleaning is less than stellar and much of the property needs some serious maintenance and painting.
We booked at this property in spite of the terrible reviews that we read. I stayed in building one, the the ground floor, facing the ocean. My room was perfect for me and had a door to a little terrace that I really loved. My friends stayed in building three and their entire are was noticeably newer and nicer. The food was good at the buffets and very good at the Seafood Restaurant. The staff were very nice and lots spoke English. The majority of guests are locals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to rest and to eat

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Food, drinks, the beach
Cons: The option for guest with one night stay to visit the speciality restaurants.
We went only for 1 night but we enjoyed a lot. The hotel is nice and the food is good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel bueno pero la playa es la peor

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Los espacios son buenos, cuarto amplio y la alberca esta muy bien
Cons: El trato del personal
Location: Las actividades son buenas pero les falta mucho como motos acuáticas por ejemplo
Los cocineros en el restaurante soy muy déspotas, en cuanto al otro personal bien, la playa es la peor que he visitado. Fue lo único que no me gusto de Costa Rica
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julianfrom TX, USA

Good service besides the Hotel Manager

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Besides hotel manager, all people with good service. Manager didn't show up when there was a discrepancy in the rate of late check out, he just "kick my wife and myself" from the hotel, really bad experience.