Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs Updating

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: The inn needs updating in total and the lunch/dinner offerings either need to come way up in quality or way down in price.
This is our third time staying at Putney Inn. I felt it needed some updating. The bathrooms have pedestal sinks and, while pretty, don't offer a surface to put things while you're in the bathroom. There was odd lighting in places in the room that didn't make sense, but in the area adjacent to the bathroom where someone could get ready if someone else was in the bathroom, there was no lighting. The tub/shower "walls" appear to be fairly new but the tubs were old and quite worn; not really inviting to take a bath. The breakfasts were good but the dinners were way overpriced for what you get. I was particularly disappointed in the macaroni and cheese - we were in Vermont - known for cheese - and the sauce was thin at best and the top noodles were crusty because the sauce wouldn't stick - it had all sunk to the bottom. My husband was not impressed with the turkey dinner, either. We chose to eat elsewhere on our second night. We overheard that it is being bought by an outside entity in the next couple of weeks - hopefully they will update and bring it back to life.
3 out of 5
by jane from Chicago

Bed and Breakfast in Vermont

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The food served at the Inn was very good.
Cons: The rooms need lots of work...carpet, bedspreads, furniture, decor...very unpleasant and dated. Rooms had odor of mildew and mold.
Location: Inn was located right off the Interstate, so you had easy access to go to nearby towns and could travel in either direction.
Rooms were very dark, musty, and dated. The staff tried to help with problems with the internet connection, but it was not corrected by the end of the stay. We learned later that the Inn was undergoing "a facelift" starting in early November. The only saving grace was the breakfast served... it was very good. I would not recommend the place until the updates have been completed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by D & R from California

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely main building. Good food. Friendly staff. Motel portion is getting old. Very basic rooms and bathrooms. Good location off Route 91.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by UK Tourist from UK

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant on a foul evening in terms of weather. Restaurant was very good .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by kathy from putney

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel needs updating. food in the restaurant was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Tired, old and showing it

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked this hotel with the expectation of finding a charming, rustic Inn which was highly rated on this site and others. Instead, we found that rustic must mean an old Inn that is a run down motor lodge with dark, poorly maintained rooms, pathetic bathrooms, tacks sticking out of the carpet, holes in the blankets, cobwebs and dodgy cleaning. And to think we paid a premium to stay here, compared to the othre options which are chains but in my experience provide all the basics and more that you expect. On the plus side, all the staff are extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us, explaining that the Inn is set for a big update over the next 1+ years. Not happy about this stay at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Another Traveller from NY

VERY nice, but some things are getting worn out

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed overnight before picking up our daughter from Landmark College. Perfect location, great staff & accommodations, hearty breakfast, folksy atmosphere - - and quiet, even though it's right off the highway. My sole complaint is that the fabric cover of the bed's box spring was torn and hanging to the floor in places. The bed was very comfy (unlike many other places) - - just a bit old & in need of care. All in all, I'd stay again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran from NYC

A nice slice of Vermont charm!

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Its overall ambience and charm
Cons: Hmmm...can't think of anything!
Location: Brattleboro is the place to go to see and do things. Putney is great because Landmark College is just a 5-minute drive away.
We throughly enjoyed The Putney Inn. The staff was so welcoming! And our rooms were charming yet had all the modern conveniences, including WiFi and cable TV. We loved the country breakfast, which was included in the room rate, and the choices were not your typical, sparse continental breakfast but rather eggs, pancakes, bacon, oatmeal, other cereals, etc. We are definitely returning to the Putney Inn! (We also liked that Putney is a small town; for variety and additional attractions, Brattleboro is just a 15-minute drive away.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gene TG from Boston MA

disappointed - not an inn at all - but a motel

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Disappointed - not an inn at all - but a motel. Far away from everything (although close to the Putney School, where I was working). Nice dining, but huge near a major highway and could not eat on the porch because of the nooie from huge trucks. Room smelled moldy - changed us to a different room, but will not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful facility in beautiful setting

Posted Jun 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Upon arrival staff were very nice. Once in the room found it too cold. When leaving to meet relatives told staff of temperature concern. Upon return a space heater had been provided and the room was toasty. Breakfast was excellent and staff most accommodating. Would definitely stay there again.