Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix az

Disapointed

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: The staff needs to learn to clean better
My room was not cleaned when I entered it.i dropped my bags and went to get something to eat when I returned to my room I noticed the toilet was dirty from the last occupant. I called the night desk and he said he would let his manager know in the morning.i felt that he should have offered to move me to another room. I cleaned the room as best I could and went to bed. Next morning the manager came into my room and I showed her what I had cleaned and what I had found in the morning. She could not reimburse the cost of the room as I booked though expedia .com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Diane, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Nancy, Allow me to take this opportunity to again apologize for the unacceptable state in which you found your guest room. You are justified in your upset regarding this matter and I have addressed the issue with our housekeeping staff. While we were unable to refund the amount that you paid to Expedia I am hoping that you found the bonus points on your Club Carlson account to be an acceptable alternative. It is our hope that when next you visit the area we will be given the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon, Ohio

Great area

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was great and staff was very friendly.
Location: We were very close to restaurants and stores
Room was ready early. Staff was very helpful. Hotel was clean. Nearby to freeway and businesses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by Diane, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Bob, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your kind words about our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to the area. Sincerely, DIane VanHouten Assistant General Manager, Country Inn & Suites Davenport, Iowa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vin

Quiet room; very restful

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Convenience to the route our car group was taking.
Cons: No, well kept hotel.
Hotel staff very helpful. Good cookies; breakfast above average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by Diane, Hotel Management
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words about our hotel. Please think of us when next you are in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from MN

Early Check In!

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Staff was helpful and professional.
We drove 6 hrs to attend a wedding and were so please when the hotel could check us in early so we could freshen up and change clothes before going to the church.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2014 by Diane, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We were thrilled to have had a room available for you when you arrived! It's always such a pleasure to be able to brighten someone's day, even with the little things! Thank you again! Diane, Country Inns & Suites Davenport, IA
2 out of 5
by Cind from Kansas City, MO

Major remodel going on throughout the hotel.

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Leaving (but honestly it was pretty bad)
Cons: Let people know when booking that your hotel is going through a remodel. I'd stayed somewhere else.
Loud, dusty, awful breakfast. Why do I need to add more to the four words that I first wrote? We didn't like your hotel, we should have been informed when booking that your hotel was going through a remodel. We would have stayed somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Diane, Hotel Management
Dear Cind from Kansas City, We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay and that you were not informed of our renovation at the time of booking. Our hope is that our new, expanded breakfast room will bring an even better start to your day when next you visit. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Diane VanHouten, Assistant General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok stay

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and the service from the staff was good. All in all is was an ok stay!
Cons: Pillows way too soft! Temperature in the room was not the greatest, had to keep adjust the temp, either way too cold or way too hot!
The staff was very pleasant but there was hardly any room for breakfast because they were doing some type of construction. The room was also ok, but a little hot in the living part of the suite. I also thought the pillows were way too soft, but it served the purpose for me. There also was no work out room, but they do provide you a free pass to the YMCA if you wanted to go out and go to the gym, didn't work for me though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2014 by Diane, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Country Inn & Suites, Davenport, IA. We apologize for any inconvenience that our renovation caused during your stay. We hope to complete the expansion of our new Breakfast Room within the next two weeks so that we may better meet your needs when next you visit. Thank you again! Diane VanHouten Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valerie from Des Moines

Pretty Good Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2014
The staff was wonderful and so was the free breakfast. For coffee lovers, coffee was available in the room and 3 types were available 24/7 in the lobby. The only two complaints I had were 1. Finding old french fries on the room floor with my feet on several occasions and 2. The window didn't close all of the way and both nights were windy so the curtains were moving and the wind was howling like a horror movie but I got used to it and was finally able to ignore it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

College visit brought us into town.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Checked in late at night and they were very accommodating to our tardiness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kendall from Iowa

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, nice location, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Only complaint is no hot tub
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Paul B from Utah

Comfortable Stay

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay at the hotel but the pool was closed due to construction.