Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We stayed. Drank at bar next door. Ate at Bennigans. Waitress was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Guest Service Rep, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. I am pleased your waitress was excellent in Bennigans. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards, Wendy
1 out of 5
by Sam from Wisconsin

Allowing hundreds of children.....

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Supervision
Location: Lots to do.
Allowing hundreds of children to roam the halls, slam doors ride elevators up and down totally unsupervised is stupid stupid stupid.....
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2014 by Guest Service Rep, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel and that there is ‘lots to do’ in the area. However, we apologize for the children roaming the halls and being unsupervised. We do all we can by providing security at night to make sure all is calm and quiet. But it is the responsibility of the parents and / or coaches for any sports teams that stay here to keep an eye on the children. Sam, once again I greatly apologize for the issues with the children. However, we hope you will visit us again soon to check out more of the opportunities available within The District. Respectfully, Wendy Holiday Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Did what I needed it to do.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: It had everything I needed except for breakfast.
Cons: Include breakfast.
Location: The Quad Cities is kind of a depressing place to be. It's very much like a ghost town with many unoccupied buildings.
There for work. Provided what I needed it to provide, except breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2014 by Guest Service Rep, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the 4-star review of your recent stay. I’m happy to hear that we had everything you needed. However, I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. Because we are a full-service hotel we do not offer a free breakfast. Instead we have Bennigan’s restaurant in-house which serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room-service. As for the unoccupied buildings, the District of Rock Island is in the process of renovating new store fronts and there are new businesses waiting to move into our downtown area once the renovations are completed. There are also new loft apartments and condos being built and are scheduled to be completed this year. Also, a new park and boat docks on the river were completed a month ago and will house the large community events hosted here in town. Two of our largest upcoming events will be Gumbo Ya Ya in June and Ya Maka My Weekend in August. Thank you again for providing feedback from your recent stay. We hope you will return to visit us again. Sincerely, Wendy Holiday Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Cons: Because there is not much in the area in regards to stores/shopping, I would recommend a market being opened on-site.
Location: There is not much to do, thats for sure. However, I did go to a restaurant called The Blue Cat which had good food.
I was in Rock Island for work. Based off of the other hotels I saw in the area, it appeared that I made the right choice with staying at the Holiday Inn. Overall, the hotel was OK. I was on the 5th floor, which to this day, I still don't know if it was a smoking floor. I had requested a non-smoking but in my opinion, the entire floor had a musty cigarette smell. The decor was pleasing and the room was comfortable. It appears that the hotel recently went through some renovations, which was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2014 by Guest Service Rep, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your 4 star review and the opportunity to respond to your feedback. Yes, our hotel is currently under renovations and we are happy you like the décor within the room and that it was comfortable. The downtown area will have 10 new businesses that are slated to arrive this summer. The downtown area of Rock Island is currently being revitalized and is bringing in new life into the city. Also, if you travel within about five minutes of the hotel (up the hill) we have several stores and fast-food eateries including a grocery store or two. Also, within 15 to 20 minutes of the hotel there are two different shopping malls. As for our location, within a two block radius of the hotel, there are actually over 20+ restaurants, art establishments, theaters and pubs. We thank you that you would recommend our hotel again and look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Wendy Holiday Inn Rock Island – Quad Cities
3 out of 5
by JoAnn from Illinois

Should have stayed somewhere else

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Very clean
Cons: The employees should park in the parking garage and leave the lot to the paying guests.
Location: It was in a depressed area of Rock Island and there was nothing to do nearby. I am sure it was once a very bustling area, but not anymore.
The hotel and my room were clean and the staff courteous. That being said, I would not stay at this hotel again. The little refrigerator buzzed, so I unplugged it -but did plug it in again before I left. I heard a dripping coming from the bathroom after I went to bed. When I went to investigate, there was no dripping from either the sink or tub faucets nor from the toilet. However, I did hear the drip in the tub area from either the drain or the wall. In the morning when I went to take a shower, the shower did not work. There was a knob to push in and try as I might to push it in, it did not move. But it did leave an imprint on my palm. When I informed the front desk clerk as I was checking out, their response was a very surprised, "It doesn't?". No offer of compensation of any kind. Also, the parking lot is very small and I had to park on the street. I was told I could park in one of the allotted spots in the garage across the street, but there were spots there either. The desk clerk told me their employees park in the hotel lot, even though they are not suppose to. I was there for a seminar. If I ever have to go back to Rock Island, I will not stay at Holiday Inn, nor do I recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2014 by Guest Service Rep, Hotel Management
Dear JoAnn, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We thank you for the 3-star review with our courteous staff and clean hotel and guest room. However, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Plans are being made to fix the shower issues. Your comments have been passed on to the departments for review. Our hotel is under renovations and expected to be completed later this year. We invite you back to try our hotel once the renovations are completed. Once again JoAnn, thank you for providing feedback. Sincerely, Hotel Management Holiday Inn – Rock Island
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Small Room

Posted Mar 11, 2014
We booked a king bed standard room and the room was very small. The hotel staff were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 3-star review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn our staff was friendly. However, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your guest room. Our guest rooms were recently renovated with more renovations to come this year. Once again, we thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We invite you back to try us again once the renovations are complete. Sincerely, Hotel Manager Holiday Inn – Rock Island
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frozen Lobby Front Desk Can't Be Seen by Staircase

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: The bed
Cons: Removing the staircase in the middle of the lobby and heating the lobby it was too cold.
Location: Wouldn't know the room didn't have a magazine like most hotels do I thought that was odd.
Upon entering the lobby it appears the hotel was just as cold as the temperature outside the staff wore gloves and fleece jackets to keep warm because it was so cold in the lobby. Everyone who entered to check-in would make the same commentaries. I have never been in a hotel that had such a cold lobby for their guests and staff. Then to walk into such an intrusive staircase that impedes on the security of the staff to see which guests come and go no additional seating is available because of the staircase which only leads to the conference rooms and pool. No additional security is in place for the tenants that lease who have a hair salon and an attorney's office who can come and go with their clients I did not feel same staying their. Even the Business Center which was near those businesses was locked with a key and guests needed to ask the front desk if they wanted to use the facility. I am asthmatic and carry a nebulizer with me and was coming back to the hotel and saw a maintenance employee smoking at the main doors. I shouldn't have to inhale smoke upon entering the hotel. We were given a room right next to the elevator it has no sound barrier and you could hear the elevator making a banging noise all day and all night. The Hotel is going through a renovation but it looks like they are not renovating the bathrooms the bathroom floors and bathtubs are still outdated. The front desk can't greet or help you when they can't see you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jere

Weekend getaway

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Room was clean beds where nice but smaller than qweene which made hard for two people to sleep in.it be nice if they had hot tub
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by A traveler, Hotel Management
Dear Annonymous, Thank you for the 5-star review of your stay with our hotel. We appreciate the review. Hotel Management Holiday Inn – Rock Island
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shelley from New York

lovely hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was on a long trip and this was the second stop. I was so happy with everything about this hotel. the room was quiet, clean and the bed was oh so soft. Nice to have a Bennington's right there in the hotel, great food, nice staff. Love the cookies at the front desk, I needed those at the end of the day. The hotel was really an easy place to get to from the airport and just a few minutes from my son in Davenport. You won't be sorry you book here, I'll be booking this hotel again next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by A traveler, Hotel Management
Dear Shelley, Thank you for the 5-star review of your recent stay with our hotel. We are pleased you were happy with everything about our hotel: the quiet room that was clean and the soft bed; the Bennigan’s in-house restaurant with the great food and the nice staff. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your return visit. Respectfully, Hotel Management Holiday Inn – Rock Island