Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not much chpice

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Sleep number beds did not work and mattresses were awful. Staff was the most indifferent I have ever seen. Food was indifferent. Towels were good and there was water in the rooms and bathtubs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, me

Ok, nice location

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Our room had trash under the ottoman and between the bed and chair. The bed was a sleep number bed with no remote and I rose 3 inches up when the hubby layed down making my side hard and uncomfortable. Front desk person at check in wasn't very personable. I liked the location and the room was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

my visit

Posted Jun 9, 2015
I recently stayed at the Radisson in Madison, WI, and it was a wonderful experience. And, the room was under $100. So, I decided to book the Radisson in Davenport thinking I would have an equally great experience. The room was way over priced. The bathroom had a dirty used piece of soap on it, and a dirty sponge was left behind. I requested a king size bed, but we got 2 full size beds. The sleep number mattresses were very uncomfortable. I had to pay for parking in there own parking lot. And, they did not have a breakfast that was included, unlike the Madison location which had a free hot breakfast and fantastic complementary coffee. Would not stay here again, especially for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Kimberly , Hotel Management
Dear Courtney, We are very sorry to learn you did not find your visit enjoyable, and we apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort you experienced. I can assure you that your valuable comments have been shared with our entire team, including our Hotel General Manager. I hope that you will give us an opportunity to regain your confidence when your travel plans bring you back to the Quad Cities. Best Regards, Kimberly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plainfield, IL

Beautiful hotel...

Posted May 4, 2015
Nice hotel in Davenport Iowa, located just across the river.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2015 by Kimberly , Hotel Management
Dear Angie, Thank you for your review. I couldn't be happier that you had a great stay or that our location was ideal for your needs. I hope to see you again soon. Thanks again! Best Regards, Kimberly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nancy from Coralville, Iowa

Excellent place.

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
My second time to stay there. I originally reserved a twin because a friend was coming along; however, they did not make it. When I checked in the guy behind the desk asked me if I wanted to change it to a king, so I said yes! I had an amazing room looking out over the Mississippi and the casino. It is in walking distance to all kinds of places. I went to a show at the Redstone Room that night, which is only 1 block away. I also had an excellent eggs benedict for breakst the next morning. Staff was very friendly and helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, Thank you for your five star review! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay, and the service that our staff provided. I am fully aware that you have many choices in hotels, and we are happy you have continued to choose our location. We welcome the opportunity to continue serving you again in the near future. Thank you for selecting our hotel! Best Regards, Kimberly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was clean and comfortable, with a very, very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel gym is very sparse but everything that was in there was clean and worked well.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business! I am glad you found the service to be excellent as we work very hard to insure that every guest has a great experience. We look forward to serving you again in the near future! Best Regards, Kimberly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Clean hotel I will not be staying there again.

Posted Mar 5, 2015
my room stayed at 63° and they did nothing about it. So I left a day earlier. It was a bad experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2015 by Kim, Hotel Management
Dear Tiffany, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I would like to personally apologize that there were some service issues on the hotel side during your visit. I assure you, your experience was not to our usually very high standards, and I am truly sorry for any disappointment or frustration you experienced. I will address each of your comments directly, and I hope that you will reconsider returning in the future. Best Regards, Kimberly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay again..unless we had to.

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and we would stay there again if we had to, but it wouldn't be our first choice. PROS: The room was comfortable and spacious, very clean, and the breakfast buffet was worth the $13.00 to have your omelets made to order and fresh waffles and pancakes upon request, the customer service was great - gave us a late check out and brought us a pitcher of water upon request, they also provided 2 bottles of complimentary water - this was helpful since we couldn't make it to the market until the next morning. CONS: They charge $8 per day for parking, the lobby is very noisy and you can hear kids yelling in the lobby through our room door, on our last night our key wouldn't work and even with a replacement key...it still didn't work...so we had to spend our last morning leaving our door ajar while we left for breakfast to not get locked out, and the worst part of all...was the plumbing in bathroom - the toilet barely flushed and the sink started to bubble and fill with brown nasty water from who knows where...super gross and to top that off...it would take forever to drain. OVERALL: This hotel wouldn't be our first choice, but would stay there over a Motel 6 or a Holiday Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. I am truly sorry that your room key was not functioning properly and that the plumbing in your room was inadequate. I assure you, this experience is not up to our normal standards and we do not find this acceptable. I am addressing your comments with the appropriate team members to ensure that a similar situation does not occur again in the future. I hope that you will consider returning so we can recoup your confidence in us. Best Regards, Kimberly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wish we could have stayed longer.

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Our first time just passing thru Davenport and had a great time. I look forward to visiting in the summer.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had such a wonderful experience during your recent stay with us. Summer is a great time to visit Davenport, Iowa! Should you need a recommendation next time you stay, please ask our front desk and they would be happy to point you in the direction of some of Downtown Davenport’s truly unique experiences! We hope to see you soon! Best Regards, Kimberly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carla

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Dear Carla, Thank you for your five star review! We look forward to having you back as our guest again in the future! Best Regards, Kimberly