Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away from this place!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
I'm guessing they made a mistake when giving this hotel 3 stars it should of been-3. Run down with very uncomfortable beds and a disgusting smell. Outside horrible, inside worst.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

in Need of serious Capital improvements

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: $4,000,000 Capital improvement required
Location: Roads all under construction and entry into Hotel is 1-way only. Difficult to find
This place should be valued less than a run down motel. Place needs serious Capital improvement money - millions. Bed sheets, beds and TV's are 40+ years old. Stay away..... Not worth more than $25.00 a night
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Average to below average experience and conditions of facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Indiana

Welcome to the Black Forest Castle.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Price.
Cons: More outlets in room for electronic devices (laptop, cell phone, kindle, camera, etc,). Update TV.
Location: Current construction made it difficult to get in and out.
Odd d├ęcor. A little spooky and dark. A guy place. Might scare kids. Wife would not approve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gregfrom Iowa

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were clean very unique hotel if I was in the area I'd stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2014
The bathtub did not drain the shower water properly so by the end of a very short shower, the water was several inches deep. Rather gross to think what was clogging things up. Probably was a nice hotel at one time, but it has seen better days. The sheets on the bed had several stains which made me nervous. I was glad to leave.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2014
This is a very old but ornate hotel in need of updating. I'm sure it was awesome in it heyday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The most romantic night on my life

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Met the Love of my life and got to know him again in a beautiful setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rickfrom Virginia

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were pretty happy with our stay. The Lodge is getting rather long of tooth--been around for forty some years--and needs some updating, but it's former grandness is still evident. Our room was spacious and comfortable, like a living room and bedroom combined.