Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Average to below average experience and conditions of facility.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Indiana

Welcome to the Black Forest Castle.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Price.
Cons: More outlets in room for electronic devices (laptop, cell phone, kindle, camera, etc,). Update TV.
Location: Current construction made it difficult to get in and out.
Odd d├ęcor. A little spooky and dark. A guy place. Might scare kids. Wife would not approve.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2014
The bathtub did not drain the shower water properly so by the end of a very short shower, the water was several inches deep. Rather gross to think what was clogging things up. Probably was a nice hotel at one time, but it has seen better days. The sheets on the bed had several stains which made me nervous. I was glad to leave.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2014
This is a very old but ornate hotel in need of updating. I'm sure it was awesome in it heyday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The most romantic night on my life

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Met the Love of my life and got to know him again in a beautiful setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

This hotel served our needs very well.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: It is unique. The art and furnishings were wonderful. Too bad someone made a hole in the painting in our hall.
Cons: Advertising
Location: We didn't di anything nearby, except go to Church. That was close.
We enjoyed dinner at the bar and also breakfast. Both meals were good. The room was clean and comfortable. The walls were a bit thin....we could hear the next door neighbors talking late at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be fooled by the pictures on Expedia

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Don't be fooled by the pictures on Expedia - this place doesn't look anything like that. The facility has not been maintained and looks very shabby inside and out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

In its time this was a great motel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: It was like being in Germany
Cons: Remodel the motel it would be great then
Location: traveling construction real bad around the motel
The morning clerk was not nice at all, if he worked for me he would not have a job. He would not tell us how much our bill was, he said for us to get ahold of expedia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

hotel review

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: very quiet and love the old world charm
Cons: nothing
Location: lots of restaurants
very pleasant and secluded hotel very big lots to look at inside
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Former higher end hotel needs a lot of maintenance

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: everything!
Location: grounds were not maintained, weeds growing in parking lot, dead trees and fallen branchs, no flowers, long grass, no identifiable entry, etc.....
In spite of advertising in room wi-fi, I moved to 3 different rooms to try to get a signal for internet. The front desk clerk suggested that I work in the lobby where the signal is good. The rooms were not updated, in need of repair and noisy. The front desk staff was unprofessional and not at all accommodating. Would not recommend to my worst enemy.