Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom カナダ トロント

本当に氷なので注意!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
事前に環境を調べて行くのがおすすめ。 部屋にはベッドのみ。寒いので、寝袋で寝ます。もちろん部屋にトイレやお風呂はなく、共同です。お風呂は日本の露天風呂を期待してはいけません。お年寄りや身体の弱い人は耐えられるか心配です。 宿泊以外は最高なので、暗くなってから立ち寄り、氷のbarでお酒を飲んで帰るだけで満足できます。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Coolest Hotel I've Ever Stayed In...

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Definitely one of the best travel experiences I have ever had. The hotel itself is gorgeous and so unique. The staff is amazing and goes out of their way to make sure you have everything you want and need. They make staying in an ice fortress comfortable and fun. We enjoyed the snowshoeing trails behind the hotel, the hot tubs, the ice bar, ice carving activities, and just looking at all the beautiful and intricate decorations in the hotel. We ended up paying extra to upgrade to a decorated room with a fireplace and loved staying in our castle in the Nedland room. We felt like Lady and Lord Stark of Winterfell, which we loved even more. The whole experience was amazing and definitely something to cross off our bucket lists and to remember forever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Beautiful winter ice hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2015
I found the staff and the Beauty of the hotel amazing!!! But the down time from check in at 3pm and the hot tub time of 9 to be rather long. I feel they should increase Celsius room activities for guests in down time. Cards. Games puzzles. Otherwise I would say its a experience you should try
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
It was very cold, but a once in a lifetime experience worth having. Criticisms about not enough activities and the quality of the breakfast were unfounded. We checked in, had a tour, explored the hotel and then went into Old Quebec City for a walk and dinner. We came back to the hotel to an informational session and then coctails and socializing at the bar. Great fun. As far as the cold (the temperature was -5 the night I stayed), the sleeping bag kept me comfortable all night. I wore some underarmor, fuzzy socks and a scarf and I had a cosy night. With the right attitude and some adventuresome spirit, this is a fantastic trip - - the memories of which will last a lifetime.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathleenfrom Dallas

Go OnTour Instead of Spending Night

Posted Feb 22, 2015 
This was the shortest stay in a hotel. Three hours was all I could endure. I was not prepared for the freezing temps inside the hotel. I read previous reviews and description of hotel, but I don't think anyone said it is uncomfortably cold. Well it is, if you are not dressed in gear for -10. (Something I admit few Texans have.) Save your money and go on the tour. You will still get to see the beautiful hotel and get a good night sleep too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

One Night

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Themed rooms, bar and indoor ice slide
Cons: The warm building could have nicer facilities
Location: spend a night or two in old quebec.
The Hotel de Glace is an amazing one night experience but you must know what to expect and not to expect. It is a beautiful architectural masterpiece that had 40+ rooms, bars and a chapel. If you are spending the night, as we did be prepared for a cold but fun evening and it is likely that you will not get a great night sleep. I suggest booking a themed suite room since you will probably do this once in your life - it is worth a few bucks more for these rooms. At 9 PM the hotels closes to outside guests and the hot tubs and sauna's open. After leaving the hot tub area there is a "warm" building to change into your night time clothing. There are bathrooms and couches (quite a number of people wound up sleeping on them. The staff gives each guest a mandatory 1/2 hour information session on how to prepare to spend the night. Very useful information! We finally got to our rooms and into our sleeping bags around 11:30. Slept on and off until about 6 am when we decided it was TIME to go. A high percentage of guests book a backup room at the Sheraton about 1/2 mile away. This was a good idea. Got to take a warm shower and then sleep for a few more hours more. Spending the night at the Hotel de Glace was a unique experience and we were very happy to make it through the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

A once in a lifetimE experience

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Simply amazing, definitely needs to be on everyone's bucket list. If I could say one thing to the people on the fence, it's so beautiful and the overnight stay is so comfortable. Not the shivering nights sleep you would think. The special sleeping bags are like sleeping under the covers in your own home. My wife and I are so glad we went...amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ladera Ranch, CA

Very special hotel. be sure you have proper gear!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: sculptures, ice bar, layout and exploring
Cons: more warm areas and a bit more forceful up front "you need to be prepared" emails and maybe even a call to prep you for the cold factor!
Location: snowmobiling, snow shoes, lots of spa type places, Quebec city is a short drive away, some ski destinations nearby
first off we are from California and the temperature differential was 100 degrees from when we left to arrival in QC. the hotel is pretty great .essentially like a work of art that you can sleep in overnight. . however be sure you are prepared both mentally and physically (with proper clothing) review and follow the preparation guide the hotel should share with you. If you are up for a challenge then this is a great fun thing to do (we did it with our 3 kids ages 10-15) if you looking for a nice cozy stay then maybe look at a different place. Its pretty hard to describe how the temperature affects you but it was like 20 below when we got here and that is pretty darn cold. . even low single digits can wear on you. but if you bring the right equipment and frame of mind you should have a blast! I have had fun telling our story to friends and its a very memorable place to go so I would say why not!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the fun and experience BUT...

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: novelty
Cons: more activities
Location: GReat location near quebec
The website and staff are not clear on what one should expect. The hotel is more of a temporary theme park than a hotel. They run tours of the hotel (including all rooms) until 9:00pm every night. So, you can not go to your room until 9:00pm. The rooms do not have doors on them, a curtain gets pulled across the opening. They have limited activities or places to go on site, with no real restaurant. We ended up leaving the property and hanging out in Quebec until 9:00pm returning for a drink in their ice bar and a cozy nights sleep in a sleeping bag and a soak in the hut tub. It is the type of place that is worth a visit for the novelty. Do not expect any typical comforts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014