Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just wonderful in every way

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Everything! Staff, lounge, that it's green.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind!
Location: Right in the center of old Quebec City. Close to everything.
Excellent stay. Some of the things we especially liked: the lounge - it's quiet and relaxing and really made the hotel feel like home, the tea and coffee and fruit at the lounge are also just lovely. The rooms are great -- just what you'd expect for the price . The breakfast is, in my view, an excellent deal: you get an enormous amount of food (especially huge tasty croissant and pastry) for 10 bucks. Finally, the staff are just perfect: always there to help, very friendly, but also appropriately low-key and down-to-earth. This is a no-stress, you will feel like you are home kind of a hotel. One last thing: you wouldn't know it from the outside, but this hotel is super green: minimal carbon footprint. (You can read about their solar panels and roof garden in the hotel description.) I loved this aspect. For example, they offer filtered water at the lounge and this was especially nice for me since I always carry around my stainless steel bottle; also they had minimal paper cups, but lots of real ceramic dishes, which was also awesome. I will be coming back and recommending it to everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great location, run by great staff!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
I had a great time at this hotel. It was able to accommodate all of my needs for a good price. Will definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Will definitely return

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Amazingly comfortable beds in a gorgeous hotel, ideally located to see the Old City. Excellent places to eat and many historic places to see and experience just steps away. Superb staff, too. The only downside is the lack of parking. Having to pay to park a block away wasn't the best, but there were so many positives, we would happily return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Curtis from Reno, NV

Very good hotel in excellent location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Location. Decor. Comfort and amenities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very centrally located. Walking distance to everything
I wasn't sure what to expect as this hotel was about mid pricepoint for what I could find in Quebec City. Very glad I chose this place. The location is excellent. In the upper old city within walking distance of just about everything you want to see there as well as dozens of restaurants, pubs, etc. The building is historic, a few hundred years old, which in Europe usually means a tiny room with a closet for a bathroom. Not the case here. Rooms are spacious and comfprtable with all amenities, including a refridgerator for storing the Canadian beer, pate, cheese and sausage we picked up at the market in town. It is also a green business, so had interesting roof gardens to look at from our balcony. Parking is not onsite but for a very reasonable nighly rate they give you a key to access the city hall parking lot a few blocks away. A great hotel at a great price and lots of ambience to boot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eileen from New Jersey

Great hotel in old Quebec

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Stayed 3 nights with my daughter (in her 20's). Had a wonderful stay; very comfortable and close to everything. The hotel was close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J from Baltimore

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is convenient to everything. Staff is polite and friendly. Rooms are comfortable. Library is useful. Restaurant very good. Strongly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kyle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great starting point for Quebec

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located in the center of Old Quebec City, you can conveniently stroll around sightseeing spots, museums, churches, shops and restaurants of all kinds. Cleanly renovated room makes you comfortable while stretching out after a walk. Clerks are all friendly and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SkiBindingGuy from Stowe, Vermont

One of the best stay's, ever — and I'm savvy.

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm a frequent international traveler who, for 30-years, has linked business and leisure travel. I sincerely found Hotel Du Vieux Quebec to be one of the best hotels that I have ever experienced. The entire hotel is spotless; the Quebecois culture of service is always astounding; one of the best unique amenities (of many) is the excellent breakfast that they hand-deliver to each room every morning — and, obviously, its location in the middle of Old Quebec is one of the best places on Earth. I found myself leaving with a huge smile and will return to this hotel as much as possible. :) :)