Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Amazing hotel for a romantic getaway!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We stayed at the Hotel Le Germain - Dominion to celebrate our 10th Anniversary and from the moment we arrived, we were impressed with the staff. Everyone had a smile on their face and was helpful with restaurant recommendations, maps, and pointing out attractions. We were there during a festival, and the staff went out of the way to let us know the details and best places to view the fireworks. The hotel rooms were very comfortable with luxury bathrooms stocked with spa products. It was fun getting a delicious handmade chocolate on our bed each night. We also loved the breakfast each morning and of course, the cappuccino! The hotel is in a great neighborhood by the Museum of Civilization and some top notch, gourmet restaurants. We loved Toast! and L'echaude for upscale dinners and nearby Restaurant Le Brigantin for a nice, bistro lunch. It is about a 5 minute walk to the main tourist area, and I was glad of that. It was nice to be so close to everything but not have a thousand tourists and shops right outside your windows. I would absolutely stay at this location again and am grateful for this spectacular trip. Thank you! Bonsoir!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Superb!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Everything: The room, the breakfast, everything!
Cons: No improvements necessary.
Location: The hotel is in the heart of the lower city, accessible to interesting things in all directions: touristy fun, the bike trail, the farmers market, all
We had a thoroughly comfortable and 'cared for' experience. The concierges, all of them, were knowledgeable, informed and delightful to work with. The hotel is a five to ten minute walk from historic touristy fun, great restaurants and cafes, the bike trail (and reasonable rentals), the farmers market, and the ferry. Be sure to take the ferry across the river for spectacular views of the city and to sample the chocolate at Favoris in Levis!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Boutique hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Philippe at the front desk was exceptional. He did everything possible to make my partner more comfortable given the issue with his back.
Cons: Honestly, this hotel is very well run. The best I can do in regard to coming up with a negative would be the lack of drawers in the room.
Location: Very well situated to the old town of Quebec. Great restaurants just outside of the hotel, and the area is just beautiful to walk around and shop.
My partner and I stayed here as the first part of a Canadian vacation where we planned on staying 3 nights in Quebec City and then 3 nights in Montreal. We arrived on Saturday and the check-in process was a breeze. Within 3 minutes of walking in the door, we already had our room key. The room decor has a very masculine vibe to it, which we really loved. Very modern, clean, and spacious. My one and only complaint would be that the room has virtually no storage space; we basically lived directly out of our suitcases. With the exception of the closet to hand things, anything folded, or any underwear, socks, etc., would all just have to stay unpacked. Two or three drawers would really complete the room and make it perfect. The bathroom is very well done with a large glass enclosed shower. Bed is also very comfortable and has a nice easy chair in the corner by the wall of windows. The highlight of the hotel is the wonderful staff. Breakfast is pretty good, but definitely basic with the same choices each morning of yogurt, granola, Croissant, some cheeses, cereal, etc. Room Service is actually supplied by a restaurant across the street from the hotel. Due to an issue with my partner throwing his back out on the first day, we had room service twice, and both times it was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ancaster, Ontario/Vancouver British Columbia

Great Hotel Experience!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Paying attention to the details. Free bicycles... we took advantage of them, and rode along the St. Lawrence River for 4 hours... lovely
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just outside of Old Quebec City...very convenient location
Just got back from a 3 day trip to Quebec City. The Hotel Le Germain was lovely. Knowledgable, friendly, easy going staff, great rooms (minimalistic approach which is what we like), but attention to the details that make the experience so much better. Wonderful breakfast! We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stylish hotel in old Quebec City

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The concierges were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. The breakfast buffet and outdoor patio were wonderful.
Location: The hotel is on a quiet street, but it easy walking to excellent restaurants, the Petit Champlain, Chateau Frontenac, and other tourist destinations.
We could easily walk to all of the ares of the city we wanted to see. Most restaurants were walking distance, although we took a taxi to and from one because it was raining. We had a great breakfast buffet at the hotel to start each day, explored on our own for lunches, and relied on the concierges for dinner suggestions, all of which were wonderful experiences. A stop for the hop on-hop off tour bus was just a block away. We enjoyed walking to the tourist destinations, like the Chateau Frontenac and the Plains of Abraham, and through many varied city neighborhoods.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfection

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Location: Located in beautiful Old Quebec
Second time we are staying at this hotel and it's perfect! Well located, beautiful modern style, free breakfast and free wireless, quiet rooms ..... perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was extremely helpful. The breakfasts were yummy and filling. Location was away from the more touristy sections, but close to attractions.
Location: Within walking distance of all major city attractions and excellent restaurants
Our entire experience was wonderful: beautiful room; close to phenomenal restaurants and all attractions, but was not near large crowds; delicious breakfasts outside on the terrace; kind and helpful staff; would return in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Lovely boutique hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location, decoration, efficiency.
Cons: Our room is on the 2nd floor and facing a parking lot, may do something to double the window so it won't get loud when there is a car moving around.
Location: Near old Quebec shopping, sightseeings, restaurants.
My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. It is quiet and intimate. The location is good and we can walk to everywhere in the old Quebec area. The free wifi and breakfast is a bonus! I would like to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best experience ever!!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Just one of the best services we have ever had!! Recommend this hotel !! Nothing was wrong and absolutely perfect place to relax and enjoy Quebec City!!
2 out of 5
by G from Montreal

Not good

Posted May 31, 2014
1 night stay in Quebec City. Decided to stay here because the outstanding auberge st-antoine was unavailable (where I normally stay). What a dissapointment! This hotel is in an old renovated building that is showing its age. The decor is modern but dark and drab. Wait during check in and check out were long. The rooms were ok but are starting to look tired. Breakfast (included) was good but the coffee was terrible (a self-serve espresso machine). Reception staff all appeared to be part-time students. Finally, we were woken up at 6am by the in room alarm clock set by the last guest (housekeeping are absolutely expected to turn these alarms off...). This hotel is not worth the price. I will not stay here again.