Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Old Town

Posted Jul 3, 2015
We had a wonderful experience. The hotel is charming, but modern. The staff is very helpful. The room is large and very clean. The location is close to all the sites in Old Town. The only difficulty is finding the hotel. It is on a small side street which is not marked on the main road. We would definitely recommend Le Germain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

The hotel alone is almost worth the trip

Posted Jun 30, 2015
This was of our first trip to Quebec, highly anticipated. We were not disappointed. We chose Le Germain in large part because of the reviews on Expedia and elsewhere. By no means do I always find online reviews helpful and/or accurate. But the reviewers were right on about this hotel. We did consider the Frontenac because of its reputation but decided against it because of the cost. Once in Quebec we did visit the Frontenac but found the crowds offputting. Because the Frontenac is so large and famous there is a constant stream of people through it. Le Germain, by contrast, is quiet, warm and intimate and one always has the sense of being the object of personal attention. That suited our needs perfectly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy and Chic

Posted Jun 30, 2015
A perfect stay, great location, wonderful staff, superb room and amenities, excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Ridge, TN

What a lovely boutique hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Every personal interaction that we had with the staff was very friendly and courteous.
Location: The location is very convenient and within walking distance to many restaurants and the downtown farmer's marche (local wine, cheese, and fruits).
From the staff to the room, Hotel Le Germain is terrific. Our room was clean, nicely sized, and well furnished. We had a wonderful time in Quebec and much of it was due to the great suggestions by Veronique about what to do, where to go, and where to eat. Her helpful suggestions were superb and much appreciated especially her recommendation about eating dinner at Toast! And the location of the hotel in the lower part of the city is very convenient (within easy walking distance) to both the cruise ship terminal, train station, and the Quebec City Farmer's Marche. Our stay at this hotel was perfect. We wish that our schedule would have permitted a longer stay. Two days was not enough. We'll be returning to Quebec and staying at Hotel Le Germain again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

RECENT STAY WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: LOCATION. FRONT DESK IS VERY HELPFUL, MANAGEMENT NOT SO.
Cons: RESPONSE TO COMPLAINTS.
EVEN AFTER TWO COMPLAINTS, RM TEMP WAS 77 DEGREES FARENHEIT. UNCOMFORTABLE AS WE KEEP OUR HOME AT 72. NO ONE EVER CAME TO CHECK RM AND NO ONE EVER APOLOGIZED OTHER THAN FRONT DESK. VERY DISAPPOINTING IN LIGHT OF OUR SEVERAL FINE STAYS THERE. WE HAD FORMERLY RECOMMENDED TO FRIENDS, TWO OF WHICH WERE THERE RECENTLY. I CONTINUE TO RECOMMEND ON THE ASSUMPTION THAT THIS EXPERIENCE WAS AN OUTLIER.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, Fl

Charming.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Can't think of anything they need to improve.
Location: Walking distance to Quartier Petit Champlain, Chateau Frontenac, St Lawrence River and many great restaurants.
We stayed a couple of days and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful hotel. Very well located. Walking distance to the best areas to visit and great restaurants. Hotel room was beautiful and very clean. Hotel staff was very helpful and charming. Would recommend 100%.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from METZ

un séjour plein de charme

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: La disponibilité et l'efficacité du personnel. Le confort de la chambre et le calme.
Cons: aucun
Location: le quartier du vieux port est le plus pittoresque de Québec
Nous avons été très bien accueilli dans cet hotel très agréable. Bon emplacement pour un séjour de quelques jours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Surpassed expectations

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Location excellent, the amenities were top-notch, the staff friendly and the ambience - a mix of traditional and contemporary - was delightful.
Cons: Hard to find fault with anything.
Location: Old Quebec, the river front, museum, galleries and too many restaurants to count, all readily at hand.
The Germain is everything a boutique hotel should be. It is quiet and comfortable with well-designed rooms and welcoming common areas. Our stay was positive in every respect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Best hotel staff ever!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
This hotel is excellent: location, accommodations, public areas, breakfast, etc. But the stand-out element is the staff - warm, responsive, extremely helpful. They make you feel like you're staying with good friends. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Felt like home

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Friendly staff, all the amenities needed. We were greeted well, staff was professional and courteous. Nice rooms with a lot of attention to details.