Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Brockville

Good location, decent hotel- B&B

Posted Mar 17, 2014
The hotel was in a good location to Old Quebec city, quiet area. The breakfast is very good, host is very accommodating and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by André from Cranbrook, CB

Convenience, close to la Gare du Palais

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, nearly across the street from la Gare du Palais (train station)
Cons: This bed & breakfast could use a "facelift" but is in the middle of a renovation that could fix this situation. It should look better this summer
Location: In addition to being located close to the train station, this bed & breakfast is conveniently located walking distance to the historic Vieux Québec
Although the building is old and was in the middle of a renovation, I think the owner did a good job making me feel comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CKMom from Whitby, ON

Nice, close to all shops

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The breakfast, location and proprietor!
Cons: The rooms and decor are dated but are being worked on.
Location: Walking distance to everything old Quebec City has to offer!
I'm not going to lie, booked this hotel in October but didn't read the reviews until about the week before our trip. I'm glad that we decided to disregard the reviews! True that the decor is dated, but the proprietor Gèrald is constantly working on the rooms. Contrary to the negative reviews about his demeanour we found him incredibly pleasant and accommodating. He even went out of his way to entertain our two small children. The breakfast included was sublime, fresh made crepès, croissants, fresh fruit, maple syrup, and home made strawberry and raspberry preserves. And the best coffee around! He was passionate about his home town and went into great detail of sites we should explore during our stay. Overall a great trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by virginia from Australia

Small B&B close to old town and station

Posted Jan 13, 2014
The host, Gerard, was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well furnished and the beds comfortable. There is no TV but for us this was a good change. A generous European breakfast was included. There are many cafes and restaurants nearby. We used public parking across the road which was $15 a day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in quebec

Posted Nov 1, 2013
A one man show. Just hope your stay is at the same time the owner is in a good mood
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MLD from kENT iSLAND, md

An Adventure

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The "man-in-charge" was a total trip. I was glad to have read previous reviews of his "brusqueness." He arranged for a tour bus to pick us up at the door and it was a WONDERFUL tour. We had to leave before the breakfast part so I don't have a comment about his cooking or what was prepared. Like Paris, this was a "walk up" and we were on the 2nd floor (no elevator) and luggage was a challenge as the steps were lengthy and steep. The building was loaded with character and charming. However, the walls were thin and I heard someone (below?) snoring ALL NIGHT.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in heart of Old Quebec.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Overall great stay! Good host, very helpful. Amazing breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Ottawa

Excellent little place

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location -- across the park from the train station. Nice walk to / from Old Quebec
Cons: Hairdryer!
Location: Well within walking distance of Old Quebec. Lots and lots of shops along the way as well as in Old Quebec itself.
I booked this hotel on a whim without reading these reviews. Glad I did...I really enjoyed my short stay. I arrived late, and checked out the next day. I would liked to have been there to see how the cafe was other than for breakfast. Speaking of which, I thought it was excellent. I am not a croissant fan, but this thing was HUGE! And Tasty! Under that was a crepe and some fresh fruit. I was given 2 types of jam, and some maple syrup. I don't drink coffee, and he had no honey for the tea, but the maple syrup worked just fine. As far as the room, it was comfortable (for one), although the furnishing showed a bit of wear. However, the bed was comfortable. My only "complaint" was the lack of a hair dryer. Oh well, I managed. The proprietor, I thought, was personable. Even though I arrived late, he took the time to highlight areas on the map where I should go. Since I only had the one day (not even that as my train to Montreal left that evening), he told me what I would NOT have time for. I thought that was fair. The hotel is very convenient to the train station. Literally across the park, and not far from Old Quebec. Be prepared...there is no elevator ... reminds me of the B&Bs in Europe...so pack light! Lots of steep, narrow stairs; however, the proprietor also carried my carry-on sized bag to my room for me. He even knocked on my door in the morning to remind me of breakfast...I was running a bit behind schedule.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Deb from New Jersey

Great spot in Lower Town Quebec City

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the Bed & Breakfast- so charming. Amazing breakfasts, owner is a hoot! Very helpful and quirky- he made our stay an event! Great location close to all the sites, and best of all away from the crowds of tourists in Upper Town. I highly recommend this place to those who can appreciate a unique, non-cookie cutter hotel experience. We would stay there again.