Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Apr 6, 2015
This is an old hotel in a great location. The first impression may put you off a bit as the place does need some new plaster and paint, and it's a little musty when you first enter your room. But the staff is very helpful, the place is clean, and it's in a great location near the ferry terminal. The room was small but very comfortable, and we had a private (sort of) balcony overlooking the main street in town. The room was very quiet, though we were there on Easter Friday and the bar below our room closed early, so I don't know if its normally that quiet. There is no elevator, and the stairs are a little tough to negotiate when laden with luggage. We had a great time and thought it was a nice departure from the mainstream hotels we've stayed in.
4 out of 5
by Alan Pitsonfrom Australia - VIC - Regional VIC

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Evening meal in dining room-delicious
Cons: Hotel looks tired
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Tired, Room was OK. ; Value: Could be better; Service: Friendly; Cleanliness: Faultless;
5 out of 5
by Chris Jenningsfrom Australia - VIC - Ballarat

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Breakfast included and hot spa
Location: Perfect, Wonderful
Facilities: Brand new, Home away from home; Value: Fantastic, Amazing; Service: Flawless, Phenomenal; Cleanliness: Gleaming, Immaculate, Beautiful;
2 out of 5
by JOHN FORTUNATO

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Cons: Hot water service run down and no care when told
Location: Central
Facilities: Run-down; Value: Rip-off; Service: Rude; Cleanliness: Lacking; Avoid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Old world charm

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Lovely old building that could do with a spruce up. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. It's also a convenient location in the centre of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Victoria

Hotel Location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Location and room especially having the balcony
Cons: Bigger television in rooms
Location: Great cafes and restaurants and the Blues Train is a great night out
Hotel was in a great location to attend the Blues Train. Great Breakfast and helpful staff
4 out of 5
by Peter Bamberyfrom Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location and 'old world' charm
Cons: What little noise that occurred did tend to carry through the hallways eg. talking, footsteps and closing doors
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Distinctive, good considering age; Value: Affordable; Service: Courteous; Cleanliness: Spick and span; no secure parking
5 out of 5
by Matthew Cainfrom Australia - VIC - Regional VIC

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was fantastic, choice of beers at the bar is sensational.
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Nice ; Value: Affordable; Service: Outstanding;
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

I won't reccomende

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Overall disappointed