Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Dirty and run down hostel

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly, although nobody was punching above their weight to deliver a good customer service.
Cons: Clean this place!!!!!
Location: Very central, the pick station to go to Coronet and Remarkables are 2 min walk away. All cafes and restaurants are nearby.
We had a private ensuite which was ok for the hostel, met our expectations. But the main reason we chose to stay in the hostel was because we wanted a full access to the kitchen so we can cook our own meals. And the kitchen was terrible. It was not cleaned properly, there were no even necessary utensils - an only can opener was broken for the entire week of our stay. We couldn't find pots and pans that had handles on them and all of them were permanently burnt. The hostel itself was also very dirty, it looked like they hardly ever clean the carpets in the hallway. They also did not clean our room for the entire week - I don't think that changing a rubbish bin liner counts as cleaning. The location is very central, which was another reason we chose this hostel, it's right in the centre of town and 2 mins walk to everywhere. But there are a lot of bars on that street and they are very noisy at night, does not matter which day of the week - Queenstown is a tourist town and people party every night. Overall, it was our worst hostel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane Aus

Central location

Posted May 2, 2015 on Wotif
Hostel was centrally located, felt safe, staff were helpful and facilities were good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

クイーンズタウンはとても美しい街でした

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
空港バスの発着場所から近いです。バックパッカーが多く利用するホテルです。個室にはテレビ、冷蔵庫があります。トイレ・シャワーは共用です。受付はフレンドリーです。すぐ近くに中堅のスーパーチェーン店Four Squareがあり便利です。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from New Mexico

Stay wherever, but queenstown is worth it

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
We were in a private ensuite (bathroom not shared in the hallway, rather in the room) at the end of the hallway, so disregard most of this if you're a backpacker. The room was nice with a king-sized bed, but the mattress was made of abutting twins. The room doors down the hallway shut rather loudly, so that might keep you up at night. On the same note, there's a dance club in the building next door, so depending on which side of the hallway you're on, that might keep you up... or you could just GO to the club and enjoy it yourself. Location is perfect for ALL Queenstown summer activities as you can either walk or catch a shuttle to wherever you're going. No comment on winter, though I'd imagine it's the same. They have a huge locker to leave your stuff in if you're checking in early/out late. The staff was all nice. There's a key deposit, but if you're a hosteler you already knew that. Enjoy Queenstown, it's awesome.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

You get what you pay for and this hotel is good

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Value
Cons: Heaps , but that puts up the cost
Location: Everything is nearby
It is a scruffy backpacker is very busy and noisy . But Central location, Clean bedding and bathroom. I cleaned the dirt ingrained light switches as a favour but the rest was acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
I slept there one night. It was okay. Staff were good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Female-only dorm became a mixed dorm

Posted Mar 7, 2015
This is the first I booked Base and I chose a female-only dorm. It was a terribly long queue at check-in, which is weird because i dont know why it took them so long to process the check-in. Other hostels I stayed at were fast. Then i went out and when i came back I saw a man in my room. Initially I thought I saw wrongly until he started talking. But it was late so I waited until the next morning to inform the reception guy at check out. When he checked the system, he said there was no guy's name. I reiterated that there was a man slept just next to my bed, and the reception guy said he will get the manager to contact me and refunded me the balance for a mixed dorm. Until today, I didn't receive any email or call on the explanation from Base. It is not the matter of the money, but how would a female dorm became a mixed dorm and there was no record in the system.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Base Queenstown

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Location great. Hotel attached to a disco/bar. Noise from thumping bass well into the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by YAP

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels