Ratings based on 870 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Very nice place to stay

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Everything was good. Had to pay for WiFi-only place in New Zealand we had to pay. This was the only negative though. Room service after late arrival was excellent. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

recommend Copthorne

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant room with great view, central location with easy walk to town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeton, NSW, Australia

Perfect Holiday Spot

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location and views and proximity to shops and tourism centres.
Location: Location was great been right on the water and close to town centre.
Hotel was easy walk to shops, restaurants and tourism outlets. Enjoyed my time at the hotel and Queenstown very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Margo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Big room with 2 double beds. Nice view. Friendly staff, a little bit out of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Robert, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback I will pass on to the staff your comments about them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Bristol, UK

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
Had a good rate. We were given a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Staff only to happy to help when asked. Enjoyable stay. Recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Robert, Hotel Management
Great thanks Steve for your feedback I will let the staff know, we appreciate your time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

fee for everything

Posted Mar 6, 2015
There was a nice view from the window. This is where the good part of our stay here begins and ends. Do you want to park your car? We've got fee for that. You want to use the internet? We've got a fee for that. You want to check out late? We've got a fee for that. Actually they've got so many fees they decided to bundle them all together into 'package' of fees to cover everything - except that it doesn't. The in-room wifi part of the package only covers 1 device. Gee, you mean 2 people have more than 1 device? We had no idea! Which is the sad truth; these guys have no idea. They even locked us out of our room minutes past the nominal checkout time because we needed more than one trip to load our car. Why would they do that? Did it not occur to someone that the only reason guests might need to access their room past the checkout time might be because they still have personal belongings in there? Doesn't it just result in them having no choice but to ask reception to let them back and reception having no choice but to do so (though probably only after paying the locked-out fee). Oh and by the way, we had actually bought their package that included late checkout so you can add incompetence to the list of problems. What a relief to check into the Bella Vista at Fox Glacier where the sign greeted us 'unlimited free wifi' - no more obnoxious popups announcing 'you have 5 minuted left'. No more Copthorne Hotel either!
4 out of 5
by Jen from New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The view from our room was stunning
Location: Tranquil, Close to everything, Good views
Value: Reasonable;
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2015
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, hope you enjoyed your break in Queenstown and glad you enjoyed the views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tuaranga, NZ

Hotel built for tour buses

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed, friendly staff
Cons: Cheer up the common areas
The Copthorne struck me very much as a hotel which does just enough to maintain it's lucrative tour bus contracts and not a great deal more. A grand lobby with friendly and attentive receptionists belies what is otherwise a decidedly average hotel. The lift opens out onto featureless (and windowless) corridors which begin to set the tone. Whilst clean and comfortable, the room was dated, and we had been put into a disabled room with a shower which was far too low for any average height person. The bubbles in the spa pool did not work, making it effectively a large bath sat in an uninspiring shed. The bed at least was very comfortable. I would imagine if that's all you're after in your room however it can be achieved at a better price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by cheol

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels