Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Good motel with very comfortable rooms

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable and spacious room, lovely lake views, fairly convenient town.
Earnslaw Lodge is a great place to stay when lloking for something mid-range in accomodation in Queenstown. The room was very spacious, had good facilities and fantastic views over the lake. I often struggle to sleep in hotels, but had no problem here. Unfortunately their breakfast service wasn't available during my stay, which wasn't an issue this time but might have been on another occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Great view.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Location and view and the very helpful staff.
Cons: Bathroom was a little old but not a big problem.
Location: We were able to walk to town.
We were made welcome by Linley and nothing was any trouble. The place maybe a little older but view and location made up for it. Room was really warm and basic breakfast very reasonable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Winsford, ngland

Nice motel but poor disabled access

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The lake views
Cons: Better disabled access, better WiFi, better television channels with subtitle facilities. Need to have lace curtains for better privacy.
Location: The motel was quite a way out of the centre of Queenstown. There is a good bus service, but if you wanted to eat out or go shopping, you needed a car.
The motel - to be fair - does have excellent views but it's design does not lend itself towards catering for disabled visitors. It was difficult for us with our mobility problems going up and down the stairs especially if we were carrying anything. The room had a walkway at the rear serving several other rooms, and there is a very real lack of privacy if you were changing and forgot people might walk past. The TV only had about 8 channels and there were no subtitling facilities available for those who could not hear. The WiFi was terrible. Despite its excessive cost, it was difficult to obtain any signal of suitable strength and we often could not access the Internet. In the absence of TV subtitles, we depended on the Internet for everyday news and it was highly frustrating when neither the iPad of laptop could connect properly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

no privacy

Posted Nov 11, 2014
people walk past yr bedroom to there room no privacy curtains. Owner stoped rugby on sky tv when we asked him he said he just got up so put it back to the beginning. Run down rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dunedin

Close to town but not comfy

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The sheets, pillow and blanket covers, they provided looks too old. Internet charges are too high. Though they mentioned 24 hours internet, but they only given 1 GB of internet. TV does not have sky dish, but most of the hotels in Queenstown, they provide free internet and sky dish facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Roverfrom WEllington

Great service from the manager.

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay, especially for last minute booking due to diverted flight. Found the room to be very tidy and clean, and the service exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Scenic Lake View Room with a wide balcony

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Truly enjoyed my 3 nites stay. Wonderful people in picturesque queenstown with so many activities to offer. Love the beautiful lake wakatipu view from our room. The room was clean and big enough for the 3 of us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good views, friendly staff

Posted Aug 13, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at Earnslaw Lodge, staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were spacious and clean. We had a great view of the lake and mountains! Only a short walk into the main streets of Queenstown and airport bus stops right at the front door. Very convenient and would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Queensland, AUS

Friendly and Comfortable

Posted Aug 10, 2014
This was our second stay at this hotel and it was as just as enjoyable. The owners are friendly and helpful, and the hotel had all the facilities we needed for our week long stay. The room was clean, comfortable and larger than we had expected, and the kitchenette very well apointed (especially the inclusion of the rice cooker and electric frypan). It is only a 5 minute walk to the town centre and a few minutes walk to the Remarkables ski bus stop. Plenty of car parking, great lake views - will happily stay here again next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Amazing view.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Clean room, friendly staff, amazing view. I would stay again, no question.