Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WA

Disappointing

Posted Jan 23, 2015
On first impression the room was ok if very dated but as our stay continued it got progressively worse. With old rooms little things need to be done right - they weren't. - Almost every other place has free wifi including the backpackers and I wrongly assumed they would too. They have it but it's expensive. - the hot plates in our room didn't work that good, There were no tongs and the exhaust fans just pushed any smoke straight back into your room. Which brings me to my next point. - if someone in another room cooks you can smell it everywhere on your floor. On our last night we came back to an overwhelming stench of cooked fish in our room. - there isn't enough parking for all rooms - we found this out late one night - the rooms are really thin and noisy. So much so that you can see a glow from the room next door in the bathroom. It appears that there is no wall behind the shower!! - they use shopping bags which are too small for the bin in the kitchen. It's minor but when you put anything In it the liner dropped making it hard to use while cooking. - the room was very stuffy and the windows had to be open everyday. Would not be good in winter!!! - the shower door squeaks painfully. Staff would have been aware as that's where we put our towels for laundering. - half way through our stay our do not disturb sign disappeared. I was too embarrassed to ask for another. The owners were nice, but that doesn't but that doesn't make up for all the little things
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

A very comfortable place to stay.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Parking is a bit restricted, but this is common in central Queenstown.
Location: Queenstown is the primary tourist destination in South Island with many attractions for visitors.
This accomodation is conveniently situated to Queenstown Centra. A fgound the proprietor and his wife most pleasant and helpful. They went out of their way to accomodate my party of four with excellent facilities The rooms are well maintained with good furnishings. We had a beautifil view of the lake. I would strongly recommend this to future Expedia users visiting Queenstown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Spacious and convenient room with incredible view

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The view, the spacious room and the owners
Location: Queenstown is the adrenaline capital of NZ! The gondola and luge rides at the top are great fun for everyone. Don't miss taking a Milford Sound Tour.
We had a wonderful stay at the Earnslaw Lodge in Queenstown. If you don't mind a 10-15 minute walk uphill back from the town center, this is a great place to stay. The owners go out of their way to be helpful, and the lodge has laundry facilities and breakfast available as an option. The room we had downstairs was very spacious, and all rooms had fantastic views looking south over the lake
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Good motel with very comfortable rooms

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable and spacious room, lovely lake views, fairly convenient town.
Earnslaw Lodge is a great place to stay when lloking for something mid-range in accomodation in Queenstown. The room was very spacious, had good facilities and fantastic views over the lake. I often struggle to sleep in hotels, but had no problem here. Unfortunately their breakfast service wasn't available during my stay, which wasn't an issue this time but might have been on another occasion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by Lynley, Hotel Management
Thanks Peter for the review sorry we where away but there was a contenentall breakfast avalibale just not a cooked breakfast. Next time you visit I am sure that there will be fully cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Great view.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Location and view and the very helpful staff.
Cons: Bathroom was a little old but not a big problem.
Location: We were able to walk to town.
We were made welcome by Linley and nothing was any trouble. The place maybe a little older but view and location made up for it. Room was really warm and basic breakfast very reasonable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Winsford, ngland

Nice motel but poor disabled access

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The lake views
Cons: Better disabled access, better WiFi, better television channels with subtitle facilities. Need to have lace curtains for better privacy.
Location: The motel was quite a way out of the centre of Queenstown. There is a good bus service, but if you wanted to eat out or go shopping, you needed a car.
The motel - to be fair - does have excellent views but it's design does not lend itself towards catering for disabled visitors. It was difficult for us with our mobility problems going up and down the stairs especially if we were carrying anything. The room had a walkway at the rear serving several other rooms, and there is a very real lack of privacy if you were changing and forgot people might walk past. The TV only had about 8 channels and there were no subtitling facilities available for those who could not hear. The WiFi was terrible. Despite its excessive cost, it was difficult to obtain any signal of suitable strength and we often could not access the Internet. In the absence of TV subtitles, we depended on the Internet for everyday news and it was highly frustrating when neither the iPad of laptop could connect properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by Lynley, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. When people make a booking if they let us know that they wish to book the disable room then it can be booked for them. The balconey that the gentleman is talking about is a long balconey used for a fire exit. With regards to taking cases down or up the stairs we are always offering to help carry A free allotment of wireless is supplied and then it can be purchased. If we know that people are having problems we call the supplier which is open from 8.00am till 8.30pm who can always sort out the problem. Hopefully if you come back to Queenstown we can help with your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

no privacy

Posted Nov 11, 2014
people walk past yr bedroom to there room no privacy curtains. Owner stoped rugby on sky tv when we asked him he said he just got up so put it back to the beginning. Run down rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本 大阪

フレンドリーなスタッフ

Posted Nov 4, 2014
3泊しましたが、街までは徒歩で10分ほどで便利(坂道ですが) レイクビューの部屋ではなかったのですが、レイクビューの部屋の窓からの景色は最高でしたのでそちらにすればよかったです。 部屋は清潔で、広さも十分。何よりスタッフの方が親切でした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com