Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynda from Haast

Great break away at Northshore

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: as above
Cons: Happy with it all
Location: Weren't there long enough to do any exploring nearby, did some shopping in town then spent a few hours along the waterfront.
Great accommodation, would certainly stay there again. Easy access to and fro by bus from the CBD, only been to Auckland a couple of times so was great. Neat wee cafe around the corner for breakfast, lunch, plenty of places for an evening meal or takeaways within a couple of minutes walk. Hardly any traffic noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erica from St. Paul, MN

Good price out of town

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Our day tour was cancelled & Lisa at the front desk helped us rebook a new tour that day from her computer. Very friendly and helpful staff!! Hotel is older, but clean. It's a distance from the town center and not easily accessible without a car.
Comment from
Jan 6, 2014
Thank you Erica for posting this great review! We pride ourselves on our friendly efficient staff and it's a pleasure for me to pass your feedback on to the team, especially Lisa. We are 4 km from the town centre so to make it easier to get to town we provide a free shuttle from 9am till 11am in the morning and from 5pm till 9pm in the afternoon. We hope to see you at the Goldridge Resort in the future. Best Regards, Penny Clark GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Murray from Cromwell

Getting Dated now, and R & M required.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Modernisation, and quite expensive for what the rooms are.
Location: What can you say, its Queenstown
Complex in superb location, with great views, but needs some T.L.C to bring back up to standard. Would definitely stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great view, but bring you own mattress

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: View!
Cons: Mattress!
A good and reasonable priced hotel. Gorgeous view, friendly and helpful staff. 5 min self-drive to Queenstown or hotel shuttle service available. One big minus point from me was the bed! They need to get a new mattress - I felt like sleeping in a bowl.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fi from Christchurch

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The views, and reasonably close the town.
Cons: make sure everything is working properly - ie the tv etc.
The views from the room were lovely, looking out over the lake. The room was adequate, but I did not consider it good value for money. Admittedly I stayed during peak times so was paying a premium (over Christmas and New Year), but I did not think it was not worth what we paid for it. The room only had Freeview TV, of which TV2 did not work at all - and it certainly didn't have all the normal Freeview channels available. Luckily we weren't there to watch tv! There was car parking close to the room, which was good. I had only one real problem, when we did a load of washing in the laundry only to find that the machine had covered several items of clothing in grease spots. I took the clothes to reception and the staff took them away to try to remove the stains and rewash. The clothes were a lot better when they were back, but did require further treatment when we got home to completely remove the stains. The hotel put an out of service notice on the machine, so at least no one else was affected. They also gave us a box of chocolates for the inconvenience. I would only stay there again, but only if I could get the room at a much cheaper rate, so most likely off peak times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chelsea from NSW Australia

Lovely view-uncomfortable bed and pillows

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: The view and friendly helpful staff
Cons: Update the mattress and get a few spare pillows of a better quality even if they come at price to use other than what is provided.
Location: The location suited us but using bus or hire car to get into town and surrounds was probably essential.
Located about 4km out of town, our room had magnificent views of the lake and Remarkable Mtns. There was a bus stop out front on the main road for easy access into town though we hired a car. Everything was to our satisfaction and more except for the bed and pillows. Our bed sagged in the middle and I tended to roll into my partner all night. I could feel lumps int he bed, perhaps springs protruding or something else but it was uncomfortable, so much, that I contemplated sleeping on the floor some nights. The lounge was too small to consider as an option for sleeping on. The pillows too were not comfortable for me but may suit many others.I asked for an alternative pillow and the staff eagerly provided their only spare one but it was worse. We didnt eat any meals there so cannot comment of those.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a nice stay for 3 nights at Golden Ridge. It was a bit further out from the town center than I expected, but otherwise really enjoyed the location Lovely view of the lake.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
A drive out of town, but nice setting. A very worn out room, but clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013