Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by abigail from christchurch, nz

Easy access to town.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Close to town.
Cons: Very old rooms etc.
Fairly decent backpacker. Unfortunately they told us we had to change rooms after we had been at a wedding all day and got back at 3am and we had to be out at 10am the next day. They had no room for us to move into immediately either. Quite annoying and they didn't particularly care about putting us out, otherwise it would have been fine. I would never stay there again though and would advise if you can afford to, spend a bit more money and stay in one of the hundreds of other places in queenstown!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Frustratingly slow WiFi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alice from Dunedin

A great place to stay

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
My room was of a very good standard for back packer style accommodation.The attention to me and a couple of small issues I had with facilities in the room were dealt with promptly and efficiently ( better than some of my past experiences with big expensive hotels).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Theresa

Posted Apr 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff are willing to help. Facilities are basic so it met my expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alphakitty from Portland, OR

Good value lodge in Queenstown

Posted Jan 15, 2013
Pros: Good pizza, good value, close to town, friendly staff
Cons: Room odor, sort of messy kitchen
Location: 10 minute walk to main part of town
This was my first experience in a backpacker lodge and I thought the place was fine. There are multiple buildings and the one we stayed in had about 5 rooms and a common bathroom and kitchen. The bathroom was tidy, but pretty basic. I would recommend putting in a new shower head to save water! The ones in there were like a waterfall. The kitchen was okay, and the cleanliness kind of depends on who stays during the time you are there, it was a little messy when we were there. The beds were okay, but the room definitely had an old building odor, so we had to keep the windows open. The Hub, pizza/hang out spot is cool and reminded me of being back in college. Everything is pretty casual and there were a mix of folks while we were there ranging from teenagers to families, but more of the younger crowd. The location is decent, a small hill up from the main part of town, about 10 minutes, and a grocery store is a 5 min walk. The staff was very friendly and helped plan our outings. If you are okay with some partying (or looking to party) and can deal with some noise, this place is a great value for Queenstown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Matthew

Nestled away but still in the heart of Queenstown

Posted Jan 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pinewood Lodge is nestled away towards the hills of the skyline gondola but is so handy to all that Queenstown has to offer. Pinewood also has a lot to offer on site: wood fired pizza, bike hire, spa, laundry. Only negative for me was the creaking floor boards in the ajoining rooms - get those things screwed down and your guests will get a better sleep and in return give better reviews ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim & Maggie from Bristol, UK

Pinewood Lodge - Backpacker, Queenstown

Posted Apr 22, 2012
Pros: Decent en suite room and location.
Cons: Condition of kitchen and the condition of the cooking utensils and food preparation boards
Location: Easy to find and close to local shops and amenities.
We had an enjoyable stay and our room was adequate if rather small. the staff were helpful. Location in Queenstown is within easy walking of the town shops and amenities. Several small and one larger supermarket are within a few hundred metres. We did several activities and the staff were keen to advice and help with bookings. We enjoyed the conversation with other travellers in the kitchen/TV room. The only downside was that this room needed a good clean and some small sharp knives as those there were blunt and a tin opener that worked. I went to reception to ask for replacements and was given a knife, which proved to be be no sharper than those already there. They didn't have replacement/spare tin openers and a new one never appeared while we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hostel just 5 minutes out of town (walking)

Posted Nov 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hostel has very good price/quality ratio. Try to get one of the rooms that are located inside the two-story buildings, since they have their own kitchen, shower, toilet and backyard that you share with only those who stay in the same building (unlike the 1-story ones).