Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Cons: There is a bit of road noise.
We stayed for two nights during the inaugural cold and rainy Queenstown Marathon event. The apartment was small, comfortable and perfectly formed, with everything we needed, including a lovely view, a decent size bathtub and a gas fire place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Great hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2014
The staff was very welcoming. They were very helpful in booking a trip to Milford Sounds. The view was beautiful and only minutes away from the town center. The bed was the MOST COMFORTABLE BED we stayed in. Only complaints were the spa pool is only open until 7:45 and the BBQ was 20$ for two hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

awesome

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: service awesome, clean the best
awesome stay only thing is waiting for hot water to come through for shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Perth, Western Australia

Great views, only a 10min walk from village

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Views, facilities, fireplace, kitchenette, laundrette
Cons: Provide cleaning services every 3rd day if staying for the week or provide better supplies to keep the apartment clean (a decent cleaning cloth or 2)
Location: Ski slopes are nearby, great walking trails along the lake, main village, ice arena
We spent a week in Queenstown in Sep 2014. When searching for accommodation, I had the following criteria: 1. Kitchenette (to prep baby bottles/food) 2. Fireplace 3. Lake views 4. Good quality facilities Pounamu ticked all the boxes - the facilities are in good condition, as is the furniture and kitchen equipment. A small laundry is also shared with the unit next door, and is stocked with washing liquid. The apartment was clean and the views of the lake were spectacular. The staff upon checkin were polite, but then we didn't hear from or see anyone for the rest of the week. A few things to note: The apartments overlook the main road between Queenstown & Frankton (airport is there). This means that there's traffic 24/7. In winter, the double glazed windows might help, but in summer, it's going to be noisy if you open them up. The bed in the master bedroom is very bouncy, so it's quite easy to disturb your partners sleep at night. The rooms are. NOT. SERVICED. AT. ALL. I remember reading that there is no daily service, but I assumed that if you stay for a full week, that it would get serviced every 3rd day or so. Most other places do this. Especially if you're paying the equivalent of a 4.5 star hotel price for the week. But alas, this was not to be. Now personally, we're not a messy family, so I wouldn't mind so much if they at least provided more than one small blue Chux cloth to keep the whole apartment clean. A lovely place too stay but be aware of the points above.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Beautiful property, views, and experience.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Modern design with updated everything. Super clean and comfortable. Great staff--helpful with stay and with booking activities.
Location: Ski! Heliski! Eat at the Cow Restaurant and Fergbuger.
The Pounamu Apartments are the perfect place to stay in Queenstown. The apartments are modern, elegant, and well-kept--immaculate. The beds are super comfortable and there's even a faux-fur blanket for getting super snuggly. The bathrooms are super clean and the showers/tubs are stone tiled which is super clean. I stayed in a studio facing the back, but for the full experience, book a one bedroom or better facing the lake and mountains (although I did have a mountain view). The views are exquisite from the larger apartments. Even in the studio, there is a fridge and sink, and I took advantage of the complimentary coffee, tea, and milk. Of course, when staying in Queenstown, it is all about exploring the town itself. It is only a 10 minute walk into town and it costs about $9 NZ to take a cab (get a Prius cab). The staff is very knowledgeable about the things to do in town and around the area. I had them list all of the best places to eat, and they were right on. I also had the staff help me book ski transport. Their concierge-like services help make the most out of your Queenstown experience. I had the most wonderful experience at Pounamu. I will be back. Tips: 1. Remember to book the hot tub. While this is less social than just keeping it open to all, you guarantee your spot and a pleasant soak. 2. Walk to town, then cab back if you have to. 3. Let Pounamu call cabs to the airport. They get a special rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice room

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Staff very helpful, rooms modern and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, New Zealand

Great place to stay in Queenstown

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Stayed 4 nights for a ski trip as a couple. Booked studio room no view but on arrival offered a corner room with a part view of the lake. Nice touch which was appreciated. Room got quite hot during the day as sun facing but there is an AC. Windows are insulating as could barely hear the traffic outside. Studio Room is small but ok as we didn't expect any different from the photos. There is everything you need incld washer/dryer. Bed was comfy. There is enough storage in cup board to store gear in room and a private locker as well downstairs. Lovely staff full of helpful tips and happy to advise. Beautiful walk to town next to lake-frankton trail. Studio is 10 minutes walk from centre or 9$ cab ride to shops and restaurants . About. $40 from and to airport. Bus stop to ski field and local bus 11, outside apartments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place by the lake

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Very lovely and helpful hotel staff. Pleasant room and very comfortable bed. Room had everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Perfect way to holiday in Queenstown

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Everything
If you are looking for a touch of luxury with breathtaking views you can't go past Pounamu Apartments Queenstown. We booked the one Bedroom Premier Apartment and had everything we could possibly require for our five night stay. We absolutely loved our apartment. The staff were also amazing and only to happy to help with any of our requests and offered great tips for activities in Queenstown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gisborne; NZ

Luxury pure!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
An incredible place; everything is top. The haven't cut any corners in the building, design and fit out, from the beds, baths and furniture down to the glasses and cutlery. Good heating (we went in Winter for some skiing); Great views over the lake and the Remarkables.