Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Nice surrounding but that stops there...

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Was promised a queen bed booked, but was informed 2 single beds when arrived. Then said they changed it but to a double bed for 2 adults and a child. Was given only 2 pillows and 2 towels but charged extra for the child. Service is not upto what is advertised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Nice hotel - A little too far out of town.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The staff were lovely.
Cons: The bathroom needs a revamp.
Location: Nothing really close by, about 15 mins to town in the car.
Going to Queenstown was a last minute decision, and unfortunately there were only two accommodation option available during the time I had free. The Swiss Bel is a lovely hotel, but too far away from town to walk anywhere. The hotel offers an hourly shuttle, but if you miss that, you're looking at about $30 to get a cab. The room was good, the beds were a little too soft & 'springy' to get a good night's sleep though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor experience

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Nice location
Cons: All the above
Location: Plenty to do
Room was not cleaned, beds not made properly, coffee ran out and not replenished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Great hotel with quality staff

Posted Feb 8, 2015
We ( family of 3 including 2 senior citizens) stayed at this hotel for 6 days. We loved the stay. I was initially skeptical about the booking since the reviews were not very pleasant but to my surprise everything turned out to be well. The staff was very helpful, rooms were clean and shuttle service was amazing. I would be looking forward to a change in the breakfast menu the next time I stay there Though. All in all we had a great time.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom southern lakes nz

West wing not ideal

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Well overdue for a fit out. Beds are like bananas. Taps leak. Tv so old you couldn't give it away
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

A branded hotel that has lost its glory

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Horrible experience - hotel rang me at 4.30 am as a wake call which i did not request. The room is below the expected standard of swiss-belresort chain of hotels. I wonder why they are still carrying such brand name.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no fan in the room, too hot to sleep. No lift hard

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: staff welcoming
Cons: cleanliness, air conditioning, lift
Location: close to wedding venue
Hard to carry suitcase up the stairs when you are aged
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA,

Very pleasant stay!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Very good service, quiet location, clean rooms, nice and friendly staffs, etc. The hotel staff changed the room for me at the first day and this met my best satisfaction! Another staff Janice gave me very helpful, detailed advises and directions for my following tours.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NZ

Cigarettes smoke in corridoor and dirty floor

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Standard small basic hotel
Cons: Responsiveness of staff when complaint made about cigarettes smoke in corridoor.
Location: Queenstown
There were cigarettes smoke in corridoor and dirty floor, that are not vacuumed
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NZ

Very disappointing

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Arrived after 4hr drive with toddlers. Reception pleasant, had to pay a $50 charge on top of advertised amount we didn't know would happen still day 5 later hasn't been released back to me. got to room the smell, style decor terrible, hole in the wall, beds very old, TV wouldn't work, no microwave for baby bottles, very dated dark smelly room. Asked for a refund as wasn't staying, to be told they would only refund us half. We had only walked into room touched nothing. Did refund half. We ended up driving all way home as they had kept and frozen any accommodation money we had. Very disappointing. Should be advertised as backpackers accommodation Or at least a attempt to bring it into this century would help. We were disappointed as all we wanted to do was get out of Queenstown and done nothing we had planned to do with our kids. Would only recommend to backpackers.