Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adl AUS

STAY AWAY BAD HOTEL SERVICE

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Its in queenstown
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE BIG TIME
Location: Other hotels you stay in
Called reception for help to operate the heater, lady said ok. Waited for 15mins and no one came to room. Called again and this time a guy(you know who you are) answered, yes coming right up. The room is only like 30 secs away from reception. Guest what waited, waited and waited for an hours. Just gave up on it and this is just our first of four nights in that hotel. Just ruined the whole staying in that hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Cheap but not cheerful.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The View, that's all.
Cons: The Buildings are in urgent need of repair. Did not have Electric Blankets in the middle of winter.......
We arrived at 3am in the morning. The person at the front desk seemed annoyed that we had arrived so late for some reason. Not very friendly at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Vic, Australia

Nice comfortable room with great view

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The view. Bed was good.
Cons: If three people are staying in a room make sure that there is sufficient coffee cups and glasses. Wi fi appeared to drop out or be abit slow.
Location: It is a way out of Queenstown. We had a hire car so this was no problem.
Room was as expected for a hotel room. Hotel staff were pleasant. Nice breakfast with a great view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: It is out of the center of town, so nice and relaxing. Restaurant had nice meals, and also offered a light meal at a good price.
Cons: The rooms were getting a bit tatty- could have done with a touch up - scuff marks on walls - but price was reasonable for that standard.
Location: There are some walking tracks close by - but plenty to do in Queenstown. Bus comes every half hour to reception and picks up anyone going into town.
I booked a last minute deal so got my room for $80 per night which was great - cheaper than getting a unit in the camping ground. Its not far out of town but as it was festival week not much parking in town so it was easy to hop on the bus which came to the hotel every half hour.
2 out of 5
by g from melbourne

good location

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: staff need more training, put some better mattress
Location: walks,shops
indian office staff has no smile on there face, I felt like I am asking favour for everything. other staff members were helpful. mattress quality is very poor, I did hurt my back .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hamoaboy from New Zealand

Amazing view and good value.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Views to die for from our room (which was roomy for a standard), restaurant and bar. Homely fireplace in the lounge. Great value for what we paid.
Cons: Desk and chair needed a refurbish, as frayed edges. Paint on balcony wall top was peeling. Cleaners need to vacuum daily.
Location: The amazing location on hill and the view of the Remarkables. The Bus link to Queenstown (only 10min) every 30mins. Fish n Chip shop and dairy nearby.
Stayed 6 nights with wife for her birthday and wow the views! Although we had a standard courtyard twin room we were fortunate to get one with a great view of the Remarkables and we were upstairs with own balcony (I phoned to request a nice view due to birthday). Bar and restaurant were reasonably good and they have dinner specials on Fri and Sat nights - we had the $10 Fish n Chips on Fri and were happy. Staff were all friendly like Hayden who went the extra mile for any query, and Monaj. Only quibble is that cleaners didn't vacuum room daily, possibly only twice for our duration, and forgot to empty our room waste paper bin twice. TV in room is freeview with in-house movie channel (pre-selected free movies but average picture quality) and sky is available in foyer and bar. Found wifi reasonably cheap and easy to access. Buses between hotel and Queenstown every 30mins ($4.50 one way or $6 return), very handy - we bought 7 day unlimited bus pass for $44 each, which got us to and from airport as well as to Arrowtown. They also have a spa pool that you can book but we didn't get time to use it. Fond memories now of our time in Queenstown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views, but not much else

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The lake views
Cons: Customer and food service
Location: Skyline gondola Town centre
The views from a lake view room we're awesome, unfortunately our double king bed was two single beds pushed together, even more frustrating was the fact that we paid more for the double king upgrade in our room. We spoke to the staff about it, and were told it was normal and everyday practice. The staff were unhelpful and difficult to distinguish as they all had different uniforms on. The shower in our room had no pressure and we certainly wouldn't recommend eating in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jackie from Boston

Outstanding views!

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to town - yet away from the tourist crowds, and friendly staff.
Cons: Laundry facilities, while "okay", could be upgraded.
Location: On a hill overlooking the lake, and bus to town center stops right outside the hotel main door.
Terrific location overlooking the lake and on the bus route to town. A clean, well-maintained small hotel, staffed by friendly and knowledgable staff who are happy to go the extra mile to please their guests. Our recent two-week stay in a deluxe lake view room was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucie from New Zealand

Great views over the lake

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Good sized rooms & well priced. Own balcony overlooking lake Wakatipu was fantastic.
Cons: Restaurant in need of a revamp
Location: Location good for the views, town is a short drive away
Very comfortable, private rooms. Hotel was very busy, but not noisy & staff were extremely helpful. Restaurant could use a revamp but had great value meals. No free wifi was a surprise