Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom yorkshire

Centre location but room was not clean.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Light bulbs out, water dripping from a light fitting on balcony, lots of complaints from other customers whilst we were there. Receptionist tried to be helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Good location, but filthy "hotel"

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything. Hotel clearly hasn't been updated in 30+ years, and staff do not seem to care about it. Highly recommend staying somewhere else
Location: Good location, near center of town
First of all, your "hotel" room will only be cleaned every other day. Also, the front desk is closed and the lobby is LOCKED after 8pm every day, so we were left outside locked out of the hotel until we could wake up one of our traveling partners to let us in. We were not properly informed of this either during the booking process, or when we checked in. This should be a 2 star at best, or more appropriately labeled a hostel with private bathrooms. I couldn't believe what we were paying for the amenities, or lack thereof, that we received. For the money, you could definitely find something much nicer and with more amenities, including a fully staffed lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Christchurch

Central location, but otherwise pretty average

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Its location
Cons: Quite a lot, see above
Location: Earnslaw, gondola, boat trips, bungy, heaps of great bars and restaraunts
Good location, just a 5 min walk to central queenstown. Very little off-street parking, and then you have to pay $10 per day if you get a spot. No free Wi-Fi. Rooms are ok, a bit old fashioned and in need of an upgrade, but clean and tidy. Reception was a bit disorganised, I was waiting 10 mins for receptionist to come to desk at one point. In the end I had to go and find her. Confusion over whether or not the deposit had been paid prior to our arrival. If you pay by credit card you will have to pay a 2% surcharge. I was charged twice for the Wi-Fi package I purchased. Price for room was average by queenstown standards but service was definitely below average. I would not stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great central location.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
We spent one night in this hotel before moving on to another hotel in Queenstown. It has a great central location and our apartment was spacious, but the furniture was very old and tired and the room didn't feel very secure- it could have also done with a more extensive clean. Be careful who you book with as there are the hotel apartments and also the timeshare apartments. I double checked that we had a hotel apartment and was assured by management, as it seems that any of the rooms with poor reviews on TripAdvisor are timeshare ones....
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Good location. That's about it!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs a major revamp
Location: Very central to the centre of Queenstown.
Room outdated, beds and pillows are of poor quality and uncomfortable. Room had no toilet paper and only 2 towels for a room accomodating 4 people. Had to make 2 visits to reception for this. Parking is terrible and have to pay extra for! Had a much nicer stay and better value elsewhere in Queenstown. Overpriced
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

A good value place to stay

Posted Dec 18, 2014
You can't beat The Lofts for location and convenience - right in the heart of Queenstown and close to all the things that make the town great. The room was on the top floor and we had a pretty nice view over the rooftops to the lake and mountains beyond. The whole place could do with a makeover however - it's looking a bit tired and out of date. But it was very clean, spacious and had everything we needed, including a pretty well-stocked kitchen. It probably fulfills a segment of the market that wants the convenience of being in the town, but not paying top dollar for the privilege. Overall, a pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to town. No driving necessary.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Proximity to restaurants and cafes.
Cons: Exttactor fan in ktchen to reduce stale cooking smell.
Location: Central, shops and cafes handy. Close to adventure facilities. Easy driving distance to wineries.
Central location. Quiet especially at night. Staff friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom japan kanazawa

Expediaのwebsiteと客室情報と違い最悪の部屋でした。

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: 全くなし。
Cons: 古くて、汚くて、設備も悪く、眺望も全くなく、日当たりも悪い木造の別館があることをwebsiteに載せてください。
アパートメント 3 ベッドルームに3泊しましたが、Expediaのwebsiteと客室情報と違い最悪の部屋でした。 新しい鉄筋コンクリート造りの5~6階建ての眺望の良い本館に50室くらいと狭い空き地に無理やり作ったような眺望も何もない古い木造の別館の5室の部屋があり、古い5室の1部屋に泊められました。 Expediaのwebsiteと客室情報はすべて新しい鉄筋コンクリート造りの5~6階建ての眺望の良い本館のものです。11月15日からの宿泊に8月8日に予約して「眺望のいい部屋」のリクエストをしているのに残念です。 50~60部屋あるうちのたった5部屋の木造の古い建物に入れられてとてもガッカリです。 「眺望のいい部屋」は我慢できますが、部屋の綺麗さや設備が、Expediaのwebsiteと客室情報の写真と全く違うので、同行者からも予約をした私が非難を受けました。ホテルにも抗議をしましたが鉄筋の本館は少し料金が高いことを言っていましたが、貴社のwebsiteでは何もわかりません。今後は木造の古い眺望も何もない部屋があることを紹介してください。 また、、Expediaのwebsiteと客室情報では「洗濯機 / 乾燥機」もあることになっていましたが、木造の建物にはなく、本館の共用の1台しかない有料のコインランドリ-と乾燥機をお金を払って使用しました。しかも木造の別館から本館へ入る玄関は20時にはしまってしまいとても不自由しました。 こんなExpediaのwebsiteの客室情報に載っていない木造の部屋に泊められるくらいなら、予約しなければ 良かったと後悔しています。Expediaのwebsiteと客室情報を見て予約したので、私たちのように感じる宿泊者が出ないように貴社のwebsiteを訂正してください。 本館との差額やコインランドリー代を返金してもらいたいくらいです。 私の感想に対する貴社のこのホテルの調査の結果や見解を聞きたいです。
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only good thing about this hotel was the location. It's right in the middle of downtown Queenstown and very convenient walking distance anywhere. However, I would never recommend staying here. The price looks great, but then they charge you exorbitant amounts for parking and wifi, which the woman condescendingly informed us is charged everywhere though our friends had free wifi at their hotel. Furthermore, the parking lot (which we paid for) was tiny, hard to negotiate and always full. The service is rubbish; we only came back to a clean room three of the six nights we were there. Additionally there were black spots (mold?) all in the corners and crevices of the bathroom. I don't even want to know what was being hidden by the attempt at repainting. Long story short, we will never return and do not recommend that you go there either.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lofts, great if location is priority

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, but maybe it was party central as we were kept awake until after 2am by other guests. I really felt the staff were indifferent to their guests in general. We did not get the friendliness and warmth that we received at other motels