Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

Fabulous!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The staff/hotel ground.
Location: Beaches, hotels, restaurants and a town.
This hotel was fabulous! Phenomenal hotel staff, loved William, very friendly and concerned about your stay. They offer complimentary classes such as planting a tree or learning how to make Costa Rican tortillas. We did the tortilla class and they took us back to the living quarters of the hotel staff, show us where they live and eat before the class. I was amazed as to how detailed and clean their quarters were. Much cleaner than my own house LOL! And there are over 100 hotel staff that live there. The class was interesting and one of our favorite experiences of the trip. The hotel lies on the side of a jungle mountain that connects to two beaches. One beach has strong waves and currents for the adults, the other is mild, perfect for children. Both are spectacular. Both beaches have a lifeguard and 24 security. Area around the hotel if full of jungle wildlife that never pester the guests but are close enough to enjoy. I will definitely return to this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Anniversary escape

Posted Jul 1, 2014
We didn't know what to expect, we just wanted to get away from it all and wow! Hotel Arenas del Mar is a beautiful and wonderful place. I have never been around a more pleasant staff. They truly take pride in their job and their facility. The views are amazing...so many things to do! I plan to make several more visits to this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional staff!

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The staff, accommodations and grounds. If you are interested in natural abundance of the region do the 6 am bird watching and hanging bridges tours.
Cons: I found the Eco sensitive lightening to be a challenge but management is working to make improvements. The open dining room is uncomfortably warm.
Location: Ideally positioned with a nearly private beach backing into the rainforest, there's no need to go off prem, but all activities are convenient & avail.
Arenas del Mar is a lovely resort that honors their commitment to being ecologically responsibility without compromising comfort. While the rooms, grounds and facility are lovely, they are eclipsed by the unsurpassed hospitality of their superior staff. From the first interaction to the last, the staff of Arenas del Mar endeavored to meet our every need, going above and beyond to make sure our every need was met. If you enjoy being around warm, friendly, cheerful and helpful people, book a stay at the Arenas del Mar, you will never want to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Incredible Stay

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have never written a review before, but I feel it would be a shame not to give this resort the credit it deserves. From the minute we arrived we were treated with such genuine respect and a great "pura vida" attitude. We were a bit cranky after a 4 hour drive from monte verde, however, one look at the beautiful view from the beautiful property, and our moods were instantly transformed. Everyone is super nice and willing to help. We come from San Francisco, the mecca of restaurants on the west coast, and are very critical and particular about our dining experiences. The dinner we had was truly one of the best we've ever had. It was original, unique, fresh and just incredible. We had planned on going into town for other meals to add some diversity, but had no desire to give up an incredible (and so affordable) culinary experience. A big salute to the owner, management, and most especially to the staff for executing the vision of this wonderful resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DC Traveler from Washington, DC

Wow...really relaxing

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at Arenas del Mar. Fantastic, personal service. We really felt like the staff knew us and were very happy in their jobs (it felt genuine to us.) The location of the property cannot be beat. With its own little beach front and easy walking access to Manuel Antonio, it really has everything within easy reach. The restaurant was incredible with a skilled chef and wait staff that made the experiences really enjoyable. We come from a city with excellent restaurant and Arenas' would be right up there with the best. All in all a very positive experience. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel right on the beach

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Highly recommend this hotel! The staff were extremely attentive and knew your name. Dont recommend taking children here, its more of an adult hotel. I called it my Nirvana!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Derek from NY, USA

Amazing service and beautiful location

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service here truly sets this hotel apart. Everyone is very friendly and eager to help. The hotel itself is located on a beautiful secluded beach with easy access to Manuel Antonio park, but you don't even need to visit the park to see all the wildlife since its available at the park. We saw sloths, monkeys, birds, lizards, and more right at the hotel. Our AC broke in our room and ended up dripping water onto the bed, so they immediately upgraded us to a suite which was amazing. Great place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lacey from San Jose, CA

Amazing resort and exceeded all expectations

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: It would have been nice to have transportation to and from the airport included. The closest international airport is 3 hours away!
Location: The rainforest was awesome, the beach is literally footsteps away, Manuel Antonio is a cute little town! Quepos is not as appealing.
This was by far the most amazing resort and vacation I have ever taken! The resort staff was nothing short of helpful and accommodating with plans, hospitality, and services. The included breakfast was superb! The cuisine and chef were top notch. I was so impressed with the fact that the resort was right on the beach, but we could also appreciate the fact that we right in the middle of a rainforest! Best of both worlds! We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan from Colorado

Experience of a lifetime

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel’s employees truly take the personalized customer’s server experience to an entirely new level. We had a chance to meet the resort’s owner who was a phenomenal human being and treated the staff very well and held them to considerably high standards. Every employee seemed to be at the top of their service game and made every attempt to make our stay more enjoyable and personalized. I could write an entire book on how great the stay was but I am limited by time and space. Also, I would like to thanks Rodbin and Aresal for their service, personalized attention and humor… these guys rock! This place is truly the crown jewel of Central America.