Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Anniversary escape

Posted Jul 1, 2014
We didn't know what to expect, we just wanted to get away from it all and wow! Hotel Arenas del Mar is a beautiful and wonderful place. I have never been around a more pleasant staff. They truly take pride in their job and their facility. The views are amazing...so many things to do! I plan to make several more visits to this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional staff!

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The staff, accommodations and grounds. If you are interested in natural abundance of the region do the 6 am bird watching and hanging bridges tours.
Cons: I found the Eco sensitive lightening to be a challenge but management is working to make improvements. The open dining room is uncomfortably warm.
Location: Ideally positioned with a nearly private beach backing into the rainforest, there's no need to go off prem, but all activities are convenient & avail.
Arenas del Mar is a lovely resort that honors their commitment to being ecologically responsibility without compromising comfort. While the rooms, grounds and facility are lovely, they are eclipsed by the unsurpassed hospitality of their superior staff. From the first interaction to the last, the staff of Arenas del Mar endeavored to meet our every need, going above and beyond to make sure our every need was met. If you enjoy being around warm, friendly, cheerful and helpful people, book a stay at the Arenas del Mar, you will never want to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel right on the beach

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Highly recommend this hotel! The staff were extremely attentive and knew your name. Dont recommend taking children here, its more of an adult hotel. I called it my Nirvana!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Derek from NY, USA

Amazing service and beautiful location

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service here truly sets this hotel apart. Everyone is very friendly and eager to help. The hotel itself is located on a beautiful secluded beach with easy access to Manuel Antonio park, but you don't even need to visit the park to see all the wildlife since its available at the park. We saw sloths, monkeys, birds, lizards, and more right at the hotel. Our AC broke in our room and ended up dripping water onto the bed, so they immediately upgraded us to a suite which was amazing. Great place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lacey from San Jose, CA

Amazing resort and exceeded all expectations

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: It would have been nice to have transportation to and from the airport included. The closest international airport is 3 hours away!
Location: The rainforest was awesome, the beach is literally footsteps away, Manuel Antonio is a cute little town! Quepos is not as appealing.
This was by far the most amazing resort and vacation I have ever taken! The resort staff was nothing short of helpful and accommodating with plans, hospitality, and services. The included breakfast was superb! The cuisine and chef were top notch. I was so impressed with the fact that the resort was right on the beach, but we could also appreciate the fact that we right in the middle of a rainforest! Best of both worlds! We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan from Colorado

Experience of a lifetime

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel’s employees truly take the personalized customer’s server experience to an entirely new level. We had a chance to meet the resort’s owner who was a phenomenal human being and treated the staff very well and held them to considerably high standards. Every employee seemed to be at the top of their service game and made every attempt to make our stay more enjoyable and personalized. I could write an entire book on how great the stay was but I am limited by time and space. Also, I would like to thanks Rodbin and Aresal for their service, personalized attention and humor… these guys rock! This place is truly the crown jewel of Central America.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by walter from bogota

Paradise

Posted Oct 15, 2013
One of my best vacation experiences. Nature outside your window, beautiful beaches, kind people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Randy from atlanta, ga

Couldn't ask for more

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Awesome ocean views
Cons: Nothing
Location: Manuel Antonio national park..I recommend going on a four wheeling tour takes you to the jungle.
Hotel staff super friendly and caters to your needs. Room have spectacular view of ocean and wildlife. Recommend it for anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful place to vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Happy from Los Angeles, CA

Extremely Satisfied

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The service is perfect. Everyone is extremely nice and are always trying to make sure you are enjoying your vacation. If not, they will make every effort to make it better. It is a little pricey but not over the top. It is well worth it. This hotel was developed without impacting the natural environment and so everywhere you go, there is beauty. We saw tons of wildlife! I would definitely recommend this place for couples or families. The lower pool was perfect because you could watch and hear the waves crashing with a full service bar right next to it!