Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alfonso from toronto canada

nice service

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: nice people
Cons: make easy accesse to the rooms
Location: close to every wear
frendli staff good food love the location close to town of quepos and beaches
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Fresno, CA

Unique property

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: Enjoyed strolling around the property. The staff was very friendly and quite helpful.
Location: Located on top of a hill it's within walking to an art gallery, shopping, & Serpentarium. Short drive to Manuel Antonio Park (long walk on twisty rd.)
This hilltop property has a stream and lush gardens. Great for children seeking up close viewing of reptiles, amphibians, and mammals. Serpentarium next door offers guided day & night tours to view butterflies, reptiles, frogs. Some rooms offered ocean views with gated parking for safe keeping. Hotel not far from entrance to Manuel Antonio Park. Casino on property if you like slots, pool, and cards. Noise not an issue even on a Sat. night. Staff very friendly that spoke excellent english. They were helpful in providing directions and giving advice on places to travel for our family. Restaurant food was good and pool was cool and clean. There are elevation changes on this property. I would discourage people who have difficulty using stairs. Otherwise, enjoy your stay! Pura vida!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: The sports bar and pool tables were nice.
Cons: Breakfast was not that impressive.
Location: Manuel Antonio is closed on Mondays :(
The private Bungalow was nice. Everything was clean and satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sean from USA

Close to Arenal park, zip lines and spa

Posted Apr 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location! Located right in town and could walk to dinner. Short drive to all sites. Staff very helpful in arranging day trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob from Massachusetts

Great hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the place, and great location- near Manuel Antonio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sarah

Great bar

Posted Mar 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here the first night of our trip (friends wedding) The room was comfortable and the food at the restaurant was great. We had to wait before we could check into our next hotel and the staff at the Byblos were great and watched our bags for us. The wedding was at a hotel up the street and we went to Byblos bar after and everyone had a great time! (Ladies night drinks were horrible though)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by m

Really nice place but was mislead

Posted Mar 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a really nice hotel about a 25 minute hike to the beach. We had the bungalow which had a patio that looked into the rainforesty type environment where we happened to see lots of monkeys, and other critters in the afternoon. A/C was awesome, breakfast was decent, and location was short walking distance to some great restaurants like cafe aqua azul and cafe milagro (which we ate at 3 times). Btw, best ceviche ever! All in all, everything great except one big thing! I was mislead to believe that the bungalows had one king bed AND one queen bed.....all the bungalow pictures on this site has two beds on it AND even the hotels.com description of the bungalow said one king bed and one queen bed. The pictures also showed rooms that at least looked twice as big as what we got too. So, naturally, after seeing the room at check-in, I was more than disappointed. Thankfully, everything else was satisfactory to bring this up to a solid 4.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Boston, MA, USA

great hotel for quiet gettaway

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Monkeys playing in the trees 30 feet away Soroundings magnificent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Australia

Amazing resort and very friendly staff

Posted Dec 2, 2012
From the moment I arrived I loved this place! I was greeted by Melissa who explained everything to me and also assisted in organising tours / transportation etc. The setting is fantastic and whilst the rooms are a little dated I think this actually adds to the charm of the place. The location is fantastic just a short bus ride down into Manuel Antonio or you can take a beautiful walk down to the beach and then into Manuel Antonio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Great Stay! A very comfortable hotel!

Posted Nov 30, 2012
Pros: Restaurant (margarita fresa, copp salad, soups, pizza), ocean view, convenient location, many animals
Cons: A bit dated
Location: The hotel is located in the touristy area. It's about 20-25 minute walk to the beach or 5-10 min bus ride. Very close to the best restaurants.
We are a couple and stayed for 3 nights. The overall experience was very good. This hotel has some really good things and only a few handicaps. I usually start rating the hotel with 5 stars and then subtract a star or a half for negatives that I noticed. The service was pretty good. The staff in the lobby wasn't too helpful when asked about certain activities and didn't offer much advice on what to do. Some introductory advice about the area would be appreciated (- half star). However, otherwise the service was great. The restaurant by the pool side was really good. The service was surprisingly very good and attentive and the food and drinks were delicious. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but is on par with good places in the area. The hotel is a bit outdated (- half star). That's not an issue from the outside as it's located among tons of trees, which makes its older look acceptable. However, inside it's a bit annoying. The location is very good. We had an ocean view room with pretty nice view (even though the hotel is on the far side of the road). Rooms are typical, nice, and have all the needed accessories. Bathroom was a bit dated. The pool is pretty good. The hotel has parking, sports bar, and casino, so can fit many interests. During our stay we saw many animals almost as many as in Manual Antonio Park. There is something about this place that attracts a ton of animals. We had a great stay! 4 stars.