Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing! Everyone was so friendly!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Everyone at the hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful. It was extremely private and the rooms were beautiful and clean. I would definitely recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique facility in stunning location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The rooms could use a little TLC, some things could have worked a little better, but don't forget you're in a rugged environment . . . all and all great rooms in an absolutely beautiful location with a staff who seem to care. With the view I had a sleeping bag would have sufficed. The beach is a plus though definitely a healthy and occasionally precarious hike down and up. Critters abound. The pool is perfect. The restaurant is the outdoor pool area, and while the menu is limited, the food is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous room and view

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The suites had such an amazing view of the ocean to wake up to. I thought the rooms were also very well maintained. The location was nice and secluded and close enough to very nice dining options. The staff were extremely friendly and the infinity pool had an amazing view at night. My only qualms were the menu seemed quite limited and a bit expensive for the area. Drinks also were overprice for the area, but I can say the service was extremely good and was never really wanting for anything from the hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Melbourne, Australia

Monkeys outside our room

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Views from our balcony
Location: Close to National Park, beaches,restaurants and shopping
Stayed 2 nights. Room was beautiful, view was outstanding, location was convenient, pool was refreshing, food was delicious and staff were exceptional. We were visited on both days by monkeys who came by our balcony and curiously observed us. The pool area was lovely with staff providing great poolside service. We thought we would have used the kitchen facilities to cook a few meals, but we ended up having both dinners from the restaurant and they were superb. Breakfast options were excellent and beautifully presented to our room each morning to enjoy in the comforts of our own space and privacy. There is a private beach but we did not feel energetic enough to have to walk back up the steep hill, so we didnt go there. Staff were extremely helpful. They organised a parasailing trip for us which was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from WI

Relaxing & peaceful stay

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Wonderful, spacious rooms, very clean, excellent location. Secluded away from busy tourist areas. Staff pamper you at every opportunity.
Cons: Nothing in my opinion
Location: Beautiful areas near by. The national park was a big disappointment. Too crowded in and near the park. Hotel Makanda was our refuge.
Beautiful setting, excellent views of the ocean, nestled in a jungle setting. Saw more animals than at Manuel Antonio park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kim from Hilton Head Island, SC

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hotel Makanda was absolutely beautiful! We loved our villa and the spectacular view. It was very peaceful and serene. Loved the fact that it had its own private, secluded beach. Each day we were able to see the white-faced monkeys playing and entertaining us! An added bonus was having our breakfast delivered to our room each morning; very tasty! We would highly recommend this hotel to Honeymooners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Views; Responsive Staff

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pros: Our room was private with a small porch giving a wonderful view of the ocean and sunsets. Staff was very attentive to all requests. Con: the private beach was not especially accessible (300+ steps, I believe). I would strongly advise having a car at the site, particularly if staying multiple days, as the hotel is some distance from the town and steep hills make walking a less attractive option than you might think—taxis are readily available, however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan from Mullin, Tx

Makanda By The Sea Visit

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Everything was above our expectations.
Cons: We did not understand the location of the private beach and a map of hotel grounds in the room would be helpful.
Location: Many activities with transportation included can be scheduled by the hotel.
Makanda By The Sea is more than a hotel, these are private Villa's nestled in lush beautiful trees and flowers. Every Villa has a wonderful view of the ocean and the location gives you a morning view of many fishing boats going out. Your complimentary delicious breakfast is delivered each morning to your villa at your requested time. Meals prepared by their restaurant are equal to any five-star and can be delivered to your room or at the poolside/oceanview location. There are daily viewing of monkeys in the trees and an occasional sloth. There is also a panoramic view of the ocean from the pool. All staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Because of the privacy of the villa's, some do require several steps down the hillside. As the villa's are located high enough for ocean viewing, it is a hike to the beach. This is a very quiet, relaxing, great food, and wonderful service hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ahmed from Orlando, FL

Very Unique Hotel with Amazing views!

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: The staff, location and facility was all top notch
Location: Manueal Antonio national park, beaches. Plenty of good food!
We had a wonderful time at Makinda. The staff, location and facility was all top notch. Please note that this is not a 5 star resort of your typical fancy hotel. These are small villas each set up with their own breathtaking views and all the amenities you will need and more!