Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver CO

nice hotel close to the beach and national park.

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Two weeks post-stay, I can't think of much that wasn't great or at least pleasant. Tropical drinks at rooftop bar a bit skimpy and pricey, breakfast not that great. We had one dinner at the hotel that was wonderful (me - almost raw tuna), the hotel arranged for us to be picked up at San Jose airport and dropped off three days later at a San Jose hotel and it worked beautifully and we loved our driver. The hotel is right next to the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and arranged a guide for us, which really is necessary unless you're a trained naturalist. The public beach is close by, the rooms and beds were good. I wouldn't hesitate to send anyone there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Good location, great roof deck

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: not much
Location: GREAT location next to Manuel Antonio
Overall, this place was a great choice. It is literally at the entrance of Manuel Antonio Park. The closest you could be. The hotel was decent but the "adults only" roof deck was amazing. Theres a pool and a bar and we enjoyed the sunsets each night. I just wish they would enforce the no kids rule as many snuck up. The breakfast was buffet and was great for being free! The dinner was really really good. We only ate there one night and wished we had ate there more! No view of the ocean but you are a very short walk to the beautiful beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore

Hotel San Bada at Manuel Antonio

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The staff is exceptional. The rooms are big--only those on top floors have views. Pool area is nice. Restaurant serves good but basic food.
Cons: More accurate description of public beach access from hotel would be appreciated. Other than that, I can't think of anything which needs improvement.
Location: Closest hotel to the park--right next to the only gate. Walk to inexpensive restaurants, drive to others with character and different food.
We booked this hotel to be near the beach. When we arrived we discovered the public beach was a good ten minute walk from the hotel. The path went through a rubble dump. Ugh! Not exactly what we imagined from the hotel's description. We planned to stay 3 nights but after seeing the beach, we decided to leave after 1 night. However... the next day we went to the beach at the national park, Manuel Antonio. There are several beaches and one has to walk about 20 minutes to get to any of them. It's worth the walk. After that, we decided to stay for the original 3 nights, visiting the park two more times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

Staff were so friendly especially Maykel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Close to national park and beach
Location: Beach and Manuel Antonio National Park
Easy 5 minute walk to the beach. It is right at the entrance to the National Park. Iguanas everywhere by the pool. I really enjoyed them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by IRMA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Beautiful hotel close to park entrance

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The colors and design was beautiful and the location could not be beat!
Cons: Less expensive options for dinner at the restaurant.
Location: Parque Manuel Antonio, river rafting, swimming, etc.
Staying at the Hotel San Bada was a great experience. It is a beautiful hotel right next to the Parque Manuel Antonio. We arrived late in the afternoon and were able to easily get to the park and the beautiful beach. It was good to have a guide with a scope to see lots of animals. It was also close to the public beach and restaurants. The rooms were very nice and the staff very friendly. They helped us make arrangements for travel and things to do. Breakfast was good. The dinner menu was a little expensive. The hotel was on the more expensive side for Costa Rica, but well worth it!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
I enjoyed the stay, very close to the park. Excellent rooms, good food and the staff is very nice to the costumers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ramfrom Toronto, ON

Right Next To The Park

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
San Bada was a great find for us at the end of our month long Costa Rican honeymoon. It was comfortable, the buffet breakfast had tasty options, and we loved being RIGHT NEXT to Manuel Antonio Park. We would recommend staying there. The only downside and it wasn't the hotels fault, is that the public beach is the worst we have seen in Costa Rica. The one inside the park is much better, but you have to pay to get in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff, great location, tasty good

Posted Aug 27, 2014
We are definitely going back. In addition to having nice facilities and friendly employees, Hotel San Bada is in a great location adjacent to the national park and a short walk to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Memphis

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Overall great experience, but the location just can't be beat.
Cons: We had some trouble with our balcony screen coming off the tracks. Minor annoyance. It was fixed without us even reporting it to the front desk.
Location: Fantastic area for families. Beautiful beaches. SO many family activities in the area. Way too many to list. Front desk will hook you up.
The very best thing about this hotel is its location, a short walk from the national park and the beach. Our room's balcony provided a great spot to watch wildlife and listen to the nighttime symphony of forest sounds. Absolutely amazing! The staff was professional, friendly, accommodating and tolerated our bad Spanish with grace, though all were fluent in English. Our daughter loved the towel sculptures left on the bed each day, and the staff even put her stuffed animal in the center of a towel flower, much to her delight. We ran into one of the cleaning ladies one day and she showed us how to fold some of the sculptures. So sweet! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning, especially the fresh, delicious local fruits.