Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding jungle retreat with amazing view !

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Best of our hotel experience on Costa Rica! Staff make you fell like in 5star hotel even it is not. Our room 108 had Exellent view over the ocean and the jungle . The owner gave showed us the President suit - luxurious stylish and good for private parties like weddings . Breakfast was modest ,but enough for not super pretensious people ;). Great spa experience . And we are traveling regularly to places like Thiland and Bali so kind of having comparing point .The room was clean ,big ,high ceilings ,good aircon,monkeys and Tocan birds around to be seen !!We will return !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Conroe, Texas

Intimate hotel for those who crave privacy!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food, the atmosphere and location.
Cons: Make the road leading to the beach not so steep? (This is said in jest).
Location: Issimo is very close to a beautiful beach, and close to town and the National Park.
We stayed at Issimo Suites Hotel from July 9 - 13, Weds - Sun. We found it to be a most charming place with an excellent, friendly staff, and some of the best food we have ever eaten! Our waiters, Dixon, Jacqueline, and Hayner, went over and above to make sure that we had the best of service. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful, as well, making sure we knew what to expect on our outings, calling cabs for us and providing information as requested. The small, beautiful beach near the hotel is within walking distance, and is very enjoyable, as the waves are not rough, but rolling, and there was not a crowd when we were there. From the balconies near the pool and restaurant, we were able to enjoy a troop of monkeys, and see iguanas, tucans, and even a sloth! I have to mention that Maria, who kept our room tidy, also made sure we were made to feel special with her many little extra touches. We also enjoyed great massages at the spa, which is built to make you feel as if you are in cave. I highly recommend the sea bass filets which are made with a special sauce topping (some sort of fruit and jalopenas). It is one of the best things I have ever had to eat! (Ask Dixon). No need to go out to find a restaurant when you are staying at Issimo! The hotel is small, quaint and comfortable, and I can't wait to go back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks better than it is

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: The view from the room. Our waiter was amazing.
Cons: Staff, breakfast, location
Location: not a convenient location. To far from everything, no store nearby.
Not worth the money, even with a room upgrade and discounted meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LB from Houston,Tx

Wonderful Stay at Issimo!!

Posted Apr 25, 2014
We stayed 5 nights at Issimo and have nothing but wonderful things to say! The staff is so accommodating, friendly and resourceful. Everyone from the staff at front desk, wait staff, and the housekeeping staff, were so kind and provided wonderful service. We stayed in a penthouse suite with a balcony and the room was perfect, and the view stunning.We were able to sit on the balcony in the mornings and watch as the monkeys played on the roof and among the trees....so cool! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom nice and clean and a large walk in closet to store our bags, was a nice added bonus! The included breakfast buffet was decent, not much of a variety, but what was offered was tasty! Lunch menu was good as well. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant, as we wanted to venture out to the town each night and try other restaurants! Service at the restaurant was great! The pool area is small and quaint, but very quiet and the time we did spend there, it seemed as if we had the hotel to ourselves. With a great view, and a drink in hand, it was a very peaceful setting. We would highly recommend Issimo for your trip to Manuel Antonio!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, but small.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: I like the view and the confortable rooms.
Is a nice hotel, with very nice rooms. Is small and you cannot imagine to spend a whole day in it. IS just to have a romantic and nice night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim R from Minnesota

Nice quiet cozy place.

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service and food were exceptional. Dickson and crew made this stay perfect. We ate here every night and the food and drinks were great and priced right. The monkeys stopped by on occasion and we had a blast. Thank You Dickson, Alex and the rest of the staff for a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traci from Oregon

Beautiful hotel with great views and atmosphere.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: -The staff -The balcony and views -The jacuzzi tub
Cons: -A clock in the room would be nice (especially for the mornings you've singed up for a tour that leaves early.
Location: I enjoyed the beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, mangrove kayaking, horseback riding, canopy zip-lining & the vanilla and spice farm nearby/
This is a beautiful little hotel in a great location if you're interested in access to beach and rain forests. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They greeted me with a refreshing drink and were happy to help arrange the excursions I was interested in. It really felt like everyone was happy to help. I found the suites very relaxing and loved watching the sunsets from my balcony (even had a monkey pay me a visit). As far as things guest may have an issue with, I loved the jacuzzi tub, but some people find the bathroom area too open to the rest of the suite. It didn't bother me it may not be to everyone's taste. Also, since this hotel is surrounded by forests even though they clean constantly you will we some bugs, it's just part of the experience if you want the location. I didn't feel the few I saw were a problem, but I know some people can't handle that. I loved the location, because a great little beach was just a short walk away and there was plenty of wildlife to see. Right around the hotel I enjoyed watching monkeys, sloths, and a very large iguana. If you're in reasonable shape you can stay at this hotel without a car and walk to nearby restaurants. However it is an uphill walk along the side of the road, so you may prefer a car. Taxis are easy to get and if you're walking will stop and ask if you want a ride. Overall I loved my stay at this hotel and in the region. I hope to come back soon.
3 out of 5
by Laurie from Columbus, Ohio

A nice hotel, but not worth the price

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: We liked the service in the restaurant and the pool was nice.
Cons: We were in room 111 and there was little to no hot water for our showers. The room was a bit cramped as there were two extra beds in it.
Location: It is located off the busy street and there is a private beach within ten minutes walking distance.
This was a nice hotel, but I don't think it was worth the price we paid. We were greeted with wonderful fruit drinks by Dickson and check-in was an easy process. The room is nice, but a bit small. The bed was comfortable, but we did not have consistent hot water for our shower the entire three days we were there. This is a deal breaker for us. The pool is nice and the walk to the private beach is short. While we did not see monkeys at the hotel, we did see them on the path to the beach. The breakfast was good (omelet's made to order) and the service was great. We did not eat there for lunch or dinner so I can't speak to the menus. Overall a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nick from New York, NY

The best hotel we saw when walking around the area

Posted Mar 25, 2014
This was the best hotel we saw when walking/driving around Manuel Antonio. Most people staying there were couples between the ages of 27-50. Short walk to semi-private beach, incredible views, monkeys on the balcony, great breakfast. I don't often feel this way but I would 100% stay there again and will reccommend it to all my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com