Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Beautiful Hotel Overlooking the Ocean

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: It really is a nice, clean hotel. The breakfast selection is great and the waiters are nice and polite.
Cons: More information should be provided "in detail" on how lunch and dinner is served and where, as well as restaurants available along the main beach.
Location: The location is perched along the top of the hill. There is a path that leads to a small beach at the bay. Need a taxi to go anywhere farther.
My 14 year old son and I had been touring Costa Rica for 2 weeks and Manuel Antonio was the last leg of our tour. We stayed at La Mansion Inn for 3 nights. We were looking forward to staying here because I promised my son that I saved the best accommodation for last. Our room # is 8 with a great view of the ocean. We were content with our room - big king size bed, air conditioning and ceiling fan, strong wifi, big balcony window, nice furnitures, and robes. The hotel is clean and the maid would knock at my door later in the day to give me extra towels. I would take it graciously although I didn't need it. The pool and the hot tub is clean and we could have spent more time in there had we not always been out exploring. The hotel provides iced water in the lobby (with a plate of choc candy treats) which is really awesome. On our 1st evening there, I handed over a small bag of laundry to the reception. Within a couple of hours, the hotel staff knocked at my door with my clothes cleaned and folded in a plastic bag. TIP: Check whether you agree with how much the hotel charges first. Breakfast is included and you eat it outside overlooking the ocean. There is a menu with a good selection of breakfast meals. The staff are nice and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Boutique hotel near national park and the beaches.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
This is a very nice and friendly boutique hotel 7-10 min ride away from the public beach and 10-12 min ride from the Manuel Antonio park. A taxi ride to the beach is about $10. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the beach area and back, leaving 4-5 times a day, though we never used it. The staff is very friendly and polite, and do everything possible to make your stay pleasant. Manuel Antonio is a small resort town by the ocean, right next to Quepo, it has the Italian Amalfi coast feel to it. So does the hotel, which is located right up the mountain. As is the case in such surroundings, if you are not confident in your driving skills, you may have a problem getting in and out of the hotel: the incline is steep, the passage into the parking lot is curved and the parking space is limited. The staff, however, would gladly help you in and out of the parking or park your car for you. Overall, it was a great place to enjoy those days we stayed in the area. Recommended nearby restaurants: Gaia, Victoria's. Beaches: right down the hill (free) or in the park ($10 pp entry fee); if you're a beach lover and have time to take a 1-hour ride, go to Playa Uvita ($6 pp entry fee), you will definitely enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island, WA

Loved this hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
My 15 year old daughter and I spent 8 nights here and loved every minute! The room was spacious, the views were incredible, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Some might prefer to be on the main road, but we really liked this location. It was very quiet and a 10 minute walk to a nice beach. (One of our favorite events was renting kayaks on this beach. $15 for 90 minutes.) The hotel shuttle went to the park four times a day, and the driver was very accommodating when we wanted to go other places. We also walked several times between the hotel and main road with no problem. It took about 15 minutes. The road doesn't have much in the way of shoulders, but also has very little traffic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PJ

First Time

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The room was nice with a good view of the Pacific.
Cons: The formal dining room certainly was not 5 star quality. We could not understand why there was a tv in the corner of the dining room.
Location: It is located a good distance from access to the beach but they do run a shuttle, but not often enough.
While they advertise as a 5 star hotel, I rate them 3, maybe 4.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with excelent views

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Views, food, service.
Cons: Facilities are not confortable for the phisically challenged, although staff did an extraordinary effort to make things easier.
We had a very nice stay at this hotel. Service and food were very satisfactory. Views are spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sherry from North Carolina

Great views!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The location, views and food
Cons: Nothing really
Location: The Manuel Antonio park is close by, which is highly recommended. There are beautiful beaches, parasailing, and sport fishing!
The pool overlooks water on both sides with a covered sitting area where you can watch monkeys and toucans in the trees. There is a lovely beach within walking distance of this hotel and the restaurant is superb! The breakfast which is included in your room rate is varied with great selections! Went fishing one day for sailfish which the area is known for. Had a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kat from mpls

Lovely hotel with a great view & great service

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Service. views & pool area.
Cons: Rooms are ok but need updating.. Especially bathrooms.
Location: Great location in a Manuel Antonio. Lots of tours, attractions. & restaurants nearby. Go to Ronny's or Barba Rojas for sunset & drinks.
Husband and I stayed for a week this March & really enjoyed ourselves. Smaller boutique hotel with great pool & good restaurant. Service was great & property manager is very attentive to their guests. Ask for a room not facing the front of the hotel parking area.
3 out of 5
by Jeff from CT

Great staff and views, but not the best location..

Posted Mar 10, 2014
The staff really tries hard here and they were appreciated. I wasn't really in love with the location...you'll need an $8 ride to get anywhere from the local taxi cartel. The hotel design and decor was a bit odd. The lobby is nice and definitely a highlight. Rooms are kind of odd. Our bathroom design was a bit dated and not really what I expected. Well-run facility, but there are better choices in Manuel Antonio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nature lovers

A room with a view

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: The view, most of the staff, and room excellent. Also pool, hot tub, and lovely restaurant, with great tasting and generously portioned breakfast.
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom (remedied after complaint), a bit pricy. Air conditioning difficult to control.
Location: Two great beaches, a small, somewhat secluded one a short walk away, and Manuel Antonio beach to which the hotel offers transport. Great birds!
Overall we loved our stay at La Mansion. The room was well-appointed with a gorgeous bed, chandelier and nice furnishings. The view of the ocean from our balcony was breathtaking. Breakfasts were really good, and the serving staff accomodating (Chris especially so). We enjoyed the pool and the bartender their provided for us very nicely. Monkeys stealing fruit were a pleasant surprise. The welcome and hotel tour are a nice touch. Interesting bat cave bar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cameron from Des Moines, IA

Amazing views and great staff

Posted Jan 5, 2014
My wife and I stayed at La Mansion for a week on our honeymoon. I have nothing but great things to say about the staff, room, food and amenities. The staff definitely went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. To split hairs and find some negative, the food and drinks are a bit pricey, so if you are traveling on a tight budget I would recommend eating/drinking elsewhere. But with a great breakfast included every day, you can certainly be budget conscious and still stay at this amazing inn.