Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We arrive early on Friday (8am) and asked for our room (normal check in is 3pm); our room was ready at 9am and we had a free upgrade to ocean view. Breakfast is good. People are nice. Pools are also nice. A bit far from the beaches but have a shuttle four times a day that take you there and bring you back. Food is delicious, I can't complain. My only bad comment would be the breakfast we had the day we arrive (not included in hotel fare obviously); it was really expensive compare to other places or to what I pay for dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cait from philadelphia

Amazing hotel!!

Posted Apr 4, 2014
I don't know where to start with this review because I have so many great things to say about this hotel. I almost chose not to write a review because we want to have it all to ourselves when we go back! The staff was amazing! Very helpful and kind. The entire hotel has so much character and was beautiful! We had a breathtaking sunset view every night as well as sunrise view in the morning (yes, it's so exciting there that you do wake up for sunset!) the pools were perfection and the pool bar was super convenient. If you are looking for a hotel, I can't recommend it enough. It's reasonably priced for the experience that you will have!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location. Amazing view.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The location and the general vibe. Felt relaxing and luxurious without being ostentatious or grossly indulgent.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Manuel Antonio is a great park but very crowded. Advice. We rented a car--bad idea. Expensive and frightening driving. Take the bus. $8 to SJ.
A really wonderful place to relax. A terrific view over the Pacific with a pool that looked right out over the edge of the hillside. Really stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Massachusetts

Spectacular Views and Great Service

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly service, poolside bar and free breakfast.
Location: Manuel Antonio Park, beaches, boat trips, restaurants
25th anniversary trip and we sprung for nice room with a Pacific view. Absolutely worth every penny. Room and view were spectacular with sliding glass doors and balcony. Infinity pool with almost 180 degree view and killer sunsets every night. Very helpful staff setting up guided tour of Manuel Antonio park and sunset catamaran trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, stunning views, it needs a renovation

Posted Feb 15, 2014
All in all its a nice hotel, great pool , very good food, and has an amazing view and the best spot for sunsets, but needs some renovations, basicly towels and pool lounges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heather&Hector from Texas

LOVED La Mariposa Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: The view and sounds of nature were breathtaking.
Cons: Air conditioning in the bathroom..it's open air...screened in window up high. Kind of neat like camping...but warm.
Location: Excellent. Emilio's (and other places) is a one minute walk away and is soooo good and also has an amazing view.
The view is out of this world! The staff and service were excellent. The room was clean and had what we needed. The food was also very good. We really appreciated having a restaurant menu and a bar menu. Allowed us to be casual and eat at the pool which we really prefer. The breakfast was also very good and very convenient. Highly recommend staying at the hotel. The access to town was also perfect. We couldn't have been happier. We are a family of 4....kids are 7 and 10. They were a little out of place since it's a more mature atmosphere but at their age could mostly behave as expected!! If you have loud, rowdy kids, I don't recommend this hotel. Great place for a honeymoon trip. Super peaceful and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from New York, NY

Best view in town

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Enjoyed the breakfast every morning. exceeded my expectation of a free breakfast. The entire staff was really friendly and always able to make great recommendations on where to eat and what to do. Their shuttle to and from the beach was also really convenient. Would definitely recommend because it was great value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Louisiana

Amazing view of sunset

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: View overlooking the ocen from every balcony, pool, restaurant.
Cons: One of our rooms had A/C problems that were eventually repaired.
Location: Easy access from the main road. Once on the property, it felt secluded. Wonderful.
Although not handicap assesible, the view is worth staying in this nice hotel. It was built in the side of the hill, so had numberous steps leading up to the office and restaurant. The food was good and the pool was excellent, including a large hot tub. From the pool, we enjoyed watching monkeys and multiple birds, including a family of Toucans. The rooms were air conditioned and beds were comfortable , but the walls were bare and furniture moderately worn. The staff was nice and each room had a balcony with chairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Erik from New Jersey

Amazing Views!

Posted Jan 17, 2014
I just returned from a three day stay at the La Mariposa Hotel. We rented a room with a partial view. We ended up getting a room that had an amazing view and was just a great overall experience. Would recommend.