Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

An amazing hotel with beautiful view

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Location: Close to the park and beaches in Manuel Antionio.
This was our favorite hotel in Costa Rica. It was a bit more than we planned on spending, but completely worth it. The hotel is on the top of one of the highest points in Manuel Antonio with stunning views from the pool, restaurant and rooms which had large patios overlooking the spectacular landscape. The infinity pool was one of the highlights for relaxing and taking in the incredible views surrounding this property. The food was absolutely fabulous -we had both breakfast and dinner. Well worth the price. The food was much better than most hotels we stayed in. I recommend this for families and couples!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

La Mariposa Delivers

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: ALL the hotel staff - guys behind the front desk, gardener, wait staff, security guard, everyone - were great!
Cons: Was surprised that what Expedia listed as a Ocean View Room, was really a "partial" Ocean View, but we had been upgraded to "full" view....so no foul.
Location: I recommend beyond the Mariposa, Emillios for food and Holis spa - both 2 min walk from Mariposa. Victorias & L'Angelos (Quepos) are both good.
I'm from MA/USA, and I've done some travelling in CR - Tamarindo, Nuevo Arenal, Jaco, etc. La Mariposa was the first place we stayed that really took our breath away. The views are spectacular (dizzying even....) Hotel, pool, grounds, all are great. The full breakfast - delicious. And they have piping hot coffee out at 5 AM for us earlybirds who can't get off East Coast time. We stayed off season (July) so the hotel was not crowded (which I liked). Minutes drive to Manuel Antonio or the Public Beach. We appreciated a complimentary room upgrade (because they had availability....always nice).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cartago, CR

Magnificent hotel with incredible panoramic

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The panoramic view from the restaurant, pool and any of the rooms.
Cons: Satellite location maps be corrected
Location: suitable for any of the many activities in the area.
The images are obtained from anywhere in the hotel are inigualables.Es a highly recommended experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel with amazing views

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We upgraded to an ocean view room recommended by another reviewer and it was well worth it. Room was beautiful, bed and pillows comfortable. Older charming hotel at the top of the hill. Restaurant is also excellent. Could walk to the beach (although the way back is a 30 min hike uphill but we like that) and restaurants from this location. Great for couples and families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Gorgeous hotel with panoramic views.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Hotel was amazing. Perched on top of the hill with 180 degree views. We'll be back again. Only thing was the "premium bedding" described on the listing doesn't exist. We asked for better pillows and they replaced them with feather pillows but no down comforters. Staff was awesome. Location amazing. Room was beautiful....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Loved every minute of my stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Loved every minute of my stay there, will go back again. Every thing was as expected and better. Swimming pool and watching the sun set was the best part of the day,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice resort but something can be improved

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Ocean view and the pool. Breakfast included and very good!
Cons: More cups/mugs/glasses in the rooms; the building is kind of old.
Location: Manuel Antonio National Park and the public beach; many small restaurant down the street.
Nice ocean view from the room and the pool/bar/restaurant. Hotel like a big garden. Stayed in a premium suite, but the facilities/amenities were not good enough in the room: no coffee maker, not many cups/glasses, no tea/coffee; doors little shady.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parodies

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The view is fantastic.... The staff.... Excellent Great place to go and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birds eye view

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: We had a top floor room which enabled an expansive view of the ocean as well as birds and monkeys in the surrounding foliage.
Cons: Coffee makers in each room.
Location: Easy to arrange excursion pick ups at the hotel, walk or ride to the beach, close to restaurants. Be aware of the uphill walk.
Beautiful view from this well managed property. Helpful staff, easy access to area attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Denver, CO

Beautiful!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were great and very friendly! The breakfasts are delicious. And our view from our room was to die for!
Cons: N/A
Location: Manuel Antonio National Park, the beach (beautiful!), there are restaurants and a convenience store right up the road. Hiking, monkey viewing, etc..
This hotel has the best view in all of Manuel Antonio! We usually stay in hostel, but decided to "splurge" on this trip and it was well worth it! The breakfast buffet is delicious! Our room view was to die for!! We had a "partial ocean view" room, so we could see jungle and ocean from our deck. The monkeys were on our deck twice during our trip, which was pretty cool to watch.