Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John

Hotel on crater rim

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: The views were lovely
Great views and interesting location on the rim of a extinct volcanic crater
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Missed the views, still got the great service

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Cons: Signs for where to go to check in. It was very unclear where to go, but also it was very dark!
Location: Location is an hour+ away from the airport depending upon traffic. It was $50 for a taxi to the airport. Mitad del Mundo was on the way too.
I arrived at night and left before the sun came up, so I missed the lovely views advertised. But the staff was excellent in that they brought us a portable breakfast before our early departure to the airport and were overall very accommodating. The room was the most upscale I stayed in during my trip to Ecuador, so it was nice to have reliable hot water, a heater, and even a hair drier and cable TV. Overall a nice stay & good night of sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Allie from Toronto

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
What a unique place to stay! We were in awe of the views as we drive up to the hotel and we were immediately greeted & taken to our spectacular room. The service was outstanding: from the owner stepping away from the dinner table with his family (?) to say hello, to the staff opening the restaurant for us for dinner. If you have the opportunity, this is an experience not to be missed. I'll never forget my time 'in the clouds'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Far from downtown Quito but fantastic setting

Posted Jan 13, 2013
The location is fantastic - nestled in the mountains outside of Quito. If you won't be going to the deep Andes this is a great way to experience the next best thing! Views of the crater from one side of windows and the valley from the other side of the room. Everything associated with the hotel exceeded expectations. It's really far away from central Quito and the airport (30-45 min), that is the downside. But it is near the Mitad del Mundo and the adjacent museum, so if you are planning to visit these attractions you will have a long taxi ride from central Quito anyway. We stayed here two nights and spent one full day in central Quito (enough to see the sights). Also, don't miss the folkloric museum next to Mitad del Mundo, right on the equator, it is one-of-a-kind, lots of fun, be sure to take the tour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete and Robert from Seattle, Washington, USA

El Crater

Posted Nov 24, 2012
We have stayed in hundreds of places around the world and this ranks right up at the top. The location is absolutely gorgeous, grounds are well maintained and the staff is very helpful. Each morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast delivered to our room. We arrived late and were treated to a lightning storm that we enjoyed from out living room. Our room was clean and comfortable and the view was priceless. It is bit of a trip back into Quito but if you want to get away from the hustle of the city and relax this is the place to go. We would definitley return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Away from the rush & noise of Quito

Posted Nov 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
A wonderful relaxing hotel up on the tip of a crater.Quiet with wonderful people serving their guests.the restaurant 's food was great especially with the addition of the new chef Daniella. A great place to spend a day or two before taking on the noise of Quito.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sela from Houston, TX, USA

Great hotel with a view

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Pros: great restaurant, fantastic views, awesome staff
Cons: none
Location: just a few minutes outside of Quito provides serenity and beautiful sights.
Best view in Quito overlooking the mountains and plenty of stars at night. Convenient to hiking and horse back riding. Fantastic staff that caters to your every need. Woke up at 6 a.m. to serve us breakfast and even earlier for our flight. Arranged transportation for us without hesitation to any location needed. Warm hospitality!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Momalisa from Louisville, KY

Absolutely spectacular hotel, stunning views!

Posted Jun 13, 2012
Pros: The view, the food and the surroundings.
Cons: No outdoor seating. But really, there's nothing too bad about this place!
Location: Breathtakingly beautiful.
We just spent 5 nights at El Crater, one of the most amazing hotels we have visited. We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport; the hotel is very secluded and about 40 minutes away from Quito airport. I can barely describe the magnificent peace we felt and the awe of nature we experienced while at El Crater. It's definitely a romantic place where folks who yearn for the easy life and enjoy being immersed in nature can truly rest and recuperate from busy lives. One evening, we witnessed a lightning storm in the distance - none like we've ever seen in our lives. The sky was filled with stars and just below the starry sky, lightning flashed every few minutes. Simply magical. The food was wonderful! The El Crater breakfast, which is included in the stay, is the best we've experienced in our traveling the world! Fresh juice, fruit plate, eggs and bread every morning. We had good coffee and wonderful hot chocolate. The view from the restaurant is spectacular as well and we watched hummingbirds feeding on the flowering bushes nearly every morning. The chef is wonderful, every meal we had was special, quickly prepared and served...just delicious. We loved the corn tortillas, the locro (potato soup - YUM!) and every other dish we tried. My fiance is a vegetarian and one evening they made him a special pasta dish with mushrooms that was really appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Rhonda

Stunning Views worth the short drive out of Quito!

Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Waking up to the breathtaking views from any direction was fabulous after arriving at Quito after midnight the night before. The room was very nice & I had a wonderful breakfast and plenty of help with taxi, sightseeing, etc. I will definitely stay at Hotel El Crater on my next trip as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM USA

Peaceful Oasis--Just 30 minutes from the airport

Posted Feb 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was great to be greeted at the airport and whisked away El Crater, high above Quito, in just 30 minutes. Incredible views, peace and quiet and excellent service make this a great destination after exhausting trip to Galapagos or a long flight into Quito.